Newbie, Cat Diagnosed Diabetic

Status
Not open for further replies.
Catee did not eat much again this morning/afternoon.

Checked litter box and he has started urinating alot again. He drunk alot of water last night. He isn't going to the litter box as much. Maybe once a day. Though it appears when he goes he urinates alot, like this morning.

I can't understand what is happening. His blood sugar is low... since he is not eating much. Why has he started the urinating/drinking alot again? Could it be the UTI did not go away and is making him sick?

I did not see on the invoice where the vet charged for giving him any antibiotics.
 
I would love to see him running from the food.. lol!

how is his BG today? you want to test twice a day for now, if he can sustain 50-130 for 14 days then we consider him in remission..

Check for the lip licking but it sounds like fussy eater to me. I am not surprised he doesn't like the purina DM, my cats got sick of that fast.

What weight is he? He is eating 2-4oz of dry a day?
Wendy
 
Ok I looked up young again zero carb and its 4070cals per kg. which is 4cals per gram. Which is 112calories per ounce.. 340 calories for 3oz. That's a lot of calories.. Maybe he just isn't hungry...
 
Posting late because I was unable to get his blood sugar this morning. He is gaining his strength back I believe because I can no longer hold him myself to take the BG.

BG at 7pm was 69. Which seems low to me and the lowest it has ever been at home.

No shots.

He ate 2 ozs Young Again yesterday.

So far ate 2 ozs Young Again today.

He weighed 14 pounds at the Vet but I believe he has lost some because he does not feel as heavy.

I guess he is eating enough. Young Again says for a cat 10- 15 lbs feed 1/4 - 1/3 cup.
He still acts like he feels bad but is starting to walk around more. Plus he actually jumped up on his greeting stool today :)

Is that BG reading too low??
 
That BG of 69 is certainly too low to give any insulin.

Was that test right around normal shot time?

40-120 normal non-diabetic BG range
low to mid 200's at pre-shot is considered regulated, with a dip down into the double digits but not below 50 at mid-day.
> 230-280 over the renal threshold and damaging the organs
 
Oh no, not going to give any insulin. It is the regular time I've been taking the BG and was giving shots. Maybe an hour later today.

Just making sure that number is okay. Seems so low compared to what I have been getting.
Not shots since last Sunday.

Thanks Wendy.
Thanks Deb.

Is that good... that it is at 69? I am a worrier :)
 
geekgirldany said:
Is that good... that it is at 69? I am a worrier :)

Yes, that is very good. Those are normal non-diabetic numbers. Numbers of a food regulated kitty. Numbers that Wendy would die for to see with her cats Tiggy and Bailey.

Without more insulin, your cat can not go too low and hypo.

Keep those nice numbers up, twice a day, for 14 days and your cat would be considered to be in remission.
 
Hi. Thank you for checking in.

Unfortunately, he is not doing very good. At least to me.

He did not eat very much at all yesterday. Maybe an ounce of dry food. He licked on wet food but would not eat it completely.
Yesterday I went to the grocery store and bought some of the junk cat food. He would not even eat it.

His BG is staying down. From 65 to 115. He has started urinating alot again. Not as much as before but it is not normal.

He ate a little this morning but not much. I am extremely worried about fatty liver.
My friends & relatives keep telling me that he is going to be okay. That I am worrying to much about him.

Just do not know what to do. If he would just eat.
 
Its good that his BG is normal, thats something. But you are right to be concerned - has he ever done this before? A furball maybe? I think as long as he eats a little then fatty liver isnt so much of a concern right now but I think I would call the vet for his opinion. And if he stops eating for more than 12 hours, or isnt eating more by end tomorrow, take him in to the vet. There may be an underlying condition that exacerbated the initial diabetes.


Here are some things you can do do entice your cat to eat:

-sometimes in order to get a cat to eat you even have to resort to dry it is more important that they eat. there are a couple low carb / grain free brands -- EVO and wellness core.

-making a buffet to give him choices
- heating food

sprinkle food with :
FortiFlora -- a probiotic you can get at vets or online. is very smelly and cats love the taste of it.
parmesean cheese
smashed crumbles of dry food
bonito/tuna flakes (Can be found at Asian markets or sometimes in the Asian food section of a large grocery store.)
halo chicken treats (freeze dried chicken) -- crumble into dust over food -- my Wolfie loves this stuff.
pour a little water from tuna in water over food (I use low sodium/no sodium added as other kinds in water has veg. broth in it and I assume that means onions, which are toxic to cats and it shouldn't contain soy -- check labels)
powdered oregano. yep sounds weird . but some cats like it and it will entice them to eat.

other ideas of foods to offer your kitty to stim appy:
trader joe tuna for cats
baby food -- beechnut or Gerber Stage 2 -- you want a baby food that is only a protein + broth (although the Gerber contains cornstarch). It should have no onions or other additives. some babyfoods have onions . please read labels if you can't find beechnut.
kentucky fried chicken - with and without skin
deli turkey /chicken
plain cooked ( boiled or baked ) chicken breast
canned chicken for people (watch the label that their are no onions)
chicken broth -- low sodium

Also I have tried these crumbled on top of food - olives, cheesy puff chips, shortbread, milk, cream, white cake, ham, olive oil, dried chicken treats, all sorts of cheese, any meat I can find cooked or raw. Basically anything you know he likes. I put small bits of everything on a plate and try them one at a time. and if he eats it I put it on top of wet food next.

Wendy
 
He stopped eating about 2 years ago in 2011. He was eating Science Diet Hairball dry food and I believe it caused him to get sick. Basically he started vomiting and then stopped eating. He was at the vet then for 8 days before they got him to eat on his own. Then he got a URI (from the vet office I believe) and stopped eating again. For two weeks I would sit and feed him dry food by hand. Vet never said he had fatty liver but I believe he was at it.

I haven't got EVO yet but he will not touch Wellness Core. He goes to the bowel like he wants it and then turns around.

I will try what you suggested on the post. Is there an alternative to the Fortiflora? Petco or Petsmart does not have it.

On his BG, this may sound like a dumb question, but could it still be high even when he is not eating? Or is it low because he is not eating much?
 
Try eBay for fortiflora.

I thought you said his BG was 65-115. That's normal cat.. Not low and not high. And he has only been not eating a couple of days right? Have you tested him the last two days?

Does he lick his lips first then turn away? Lip smacking sound?

Wendy
 
Yes I have been taking his blood sugar twice a day. I was just wondering about BG being high when not eating much. I saw another post where someone's cat was not eating and it's BG was high.

Right yesterday and today has not ate much.

The only time he does the lip licking is when he wakes up from sleeping. Which I think he has always done it.That is when he gets up and goes to eat. He doesn't do it when at the bowel.
 
Ok then maybe he isn't nauseaus and it sounds like his BG isn't high if you tested and its under 130. So try a variety of foods like I suggested and see if he will take any.

Does he like to chase things?
 
Well, if I tie a piece of paper to a string he will chase that :) Never would play with any cat toys I got him though.

Since he was diagnosed, he really hasn't wanted to play much.

I've been thinking, the Vet said the UTI would clear up when the diabetes got under control. Since his urinating is still alot compared to what it should be...I wonder if he still has a UTI and that is causing him not to eat.
 
Honestly I am more thinking a kidney problem.

But as regards play I was wondering if you threw his kibble, would he chase it? My boys do and when they "catch it" they eat it.. basic instinct I think. I have to wind them up first by wiggling the treat in my hand and throwing it a few times for them to know what my plans are.. then I scoot the piece of kibble ( or other hard treat) along the floor surface.
 
Well I have a little better news. Catee ate about 4 ozs Cat Chow Indoor and 1 Ounce of Young Again yesterday. I know Cat Chow is not good but I am just trying to get him to eat anything.

So I just took his BG. About an hour early than normal and it was 50. I've never seen it that low since he got diabetes. 50 and he is eating Cat Chow.

I don't understand and worried about it being that low.
 
No insulin correct?

Normal non-diabetic BG numbers 40-130 on human glucometer. 80-160 on pet specific monitor like alphatrak.

You only need to worry about a number that low if your cat is getting insulin.
 
I hate to keep on posting.

Catee was laying in his bed sleeping and all of sudden his stomach started jumping. Like when he is going to throw up but this time is was extremely bad.
It kept doing for a few seconds and he finally woke up and gag like he was going to vomit but nothing come out.

He then could not stand up. Was falling around and could not walk right.
The whole thing was probably 2-3 minutes.

He then just laid down and went back sleep.

I've never seen him do this way.
 
He had just ate about 15 minutes before. He swallowed his food whole and did not chew it up.

I was wondering if it was seizure.

I'll keep watch on him.
 
Hi. Catee is doing well. Been testing him twice a day. BG ranges from high 60s to low 100s. One day I did get a 136 and that is the highest so far. Today he had a low reading of 48 and that is the lowest so far.

He is eating well. Still eating Cat Chow and Young Again. I am trying my best to transition him over to Young Again but he really does not eat enough of it so I put out the Cat Chow.
4 ozs of Cat Chow and 1-2 ozs of Young Again.

Drinks a good bit of water still and urinates a big clump. Not like before he was diagnosed but still larger than I think it should be.

He is getting back to his old self. I can definately tell he feels much better. Still does not act exactly the same as before Vet trip.
Today was not a good day, not eating much.

Debating on weather I should take him to another Vet for a checkup or just keep a watch on him.
 
His BG levels are within normal cat range so he is officially in remission now. But he still sounds like there is a problem. I would take him to the vet and discuss kidney issues to start with.

Wendy
 
Would those issues had shown in the original bloodwork? I need to call and get a copy of it.

I am so happy his BG is down. This morning I took it and it was 39 on Relion meter. I borrowed my mother's accu check aviva meter and it was 61 on it. I took it a few minutes after the Relion test.

How reliable is Relion meter? Concerned with such a big difference in numbers.
 
geekgirldany said:
Would those issues had shown in the original bloodwork? I need to call and get a copy of it. The thyroid panel is usually an add on.

I am so happy his BG is down. This morning I took it and it was 39 on Relion meter. I borrowed my mother's accu check aviva meter and it was 61 on it. I took it a few minutes after the Relion test. 39 is pretty low. but nothing to worry about since he is off insulin now. normal non-diabetic range is 40-130

How reliable is Relion meter? Concerned with such a big difference in numbers. All meters are allowed to vary by +/-20 percent. Those two numbers are close. As long as the numbers are below 130, your fine.
 
Thanks so much. Just took it on the Accu Chek Aviva and it was 89 did not try on Relion. He is getting a little tired of being a pin cushion to check meters :)

Well I know when I first took him the Vet said it could be his kidneys, thyroid, or diabetes. So I assume he did a thyroid panel. I'll have to get the blood test.

I firmly believe that the Friskies Rise and Shine dry food accelerated his diabetes. Since he has not been eating it and has only been eating a combo of Cat Chow Indoor and Young Again his BG levels have stayed low.
 
I thought I would just keep my questions in my thread instead of making a new post.

I really want to get Catee switched over to Young Again. He is eating about 2ozs Cat Chow Indoor and 2ozs Young Again. He was eating 4ozs Cat Chow but has cut down to the 2 ozs the past 3-4 days.
I keep the foods in separate bowels and he eats out of them when he wants.

I've looked on Google and having a hard time finding a transition chart. I know this is dry food but does anyone has suggestions on getting him over to Young Again?
I put 8 ozs of Cat Chow in the bowel. I know it is wasteful but he wants to see a full bowel even though he does not eat it.
Should I put 2 ozs Young Again to 6 ozs Cat Chow and leave the bowel of Young again out also?

Would appreciate any help :)
 
Just mix them in 1 bowl and each day, switch out some.

Ex
Day 1 - take out 25% old; add 25% tablesppon new
Day 2 - take out 5o% old; add 50% tablesppon new
Day 3 - take out 75% old; add 75% tablesppon new
Day 4 - 100% new food.

Observe litterbox for signs of GI upset
If any seen, back up a step and hold a day or so before changing some more.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top