Newbie BG 42 at 10+

Status
Not open for further replies.
He's been eating really well all day but now doesn't want anything. I've tried food, treats, ice cream, he won't eat anything. Right now he seems exhausted but I don't know if it's from all the excitement these last few days or his BG being low. I'm almost scared to let him sleep but he's been going for several hours now & his body prolly needs the rest. I'm just not sure if I keep giving him the karo or just take him in to the vet school? I already have about $350 wrapped up in the last few days & I really can't afford much more being right after christmas but I'll do what it takes! It's $99 at the door to take him in this late. Just wonder when it will start going back up considering it's been over 12hrs since he had the insulin. Is it possible he isn't really diabetic & there was something else causing his BG to be so high or is 426 pretty guarenteed that's what it is? I am so stressed out right now! :cry:
 
His blood glucose is low becuase of the insulin.
If you go in they will give him a glucose drip.
The glucose rub on his gums is absorbed.
And...the insulin should'nt really last too much longer.
Lori
 
How's he doing now?

The dry food is likely to kick in a bit later, as it takes longer to digest it and get the calories in the blood.

Hangin' in OK? You may be feeling very tense during all this - slowly exhale completely, then slowly take in a comfortably full breath. It helps reduce the physical tension you may be experiencing. (exhaling first makes it possible to take a deep, full breath)
 
Ok it's now back up to 153 from 85 an hour ago. Whew nailbite_smile! Ok so I can relax a lil I think. How much more should I keep testing him tonight? I'll get his BG 1st thing in the morning & see what you all think for dosage. He's exhausted & so am I!
 
My friend is going thru the same thing right now. Her kitty was getting 4 units and when we tested him for the first time this morning at 10 am(+3.5) he was 36!!! At +15 he was only just barely in the 50's but keeps dropping back down.

It is very stressful to deal with a hypo but you are doing a great job and you are at the best place for advice and help!!
 
I was hoping someone with more experience would still be here. What time was the last shot? It sounds like you are ok to go to bed but can you leave some food out? If you're feeding can add some water to it & just leave it.
 
I think you're safe, but we usually want to see 3 rising numbers. How about 1 more test 30 minutes from the last one, and if he's still rising then leave some food out, and get some rest.
 
i don't have dosing advice - i am still a newbie, too. but i can say you have found a great group of people. also, my jose', was at 10 units twice a day of prozinc (with no additional conditions) & survived - she had evolved from 3 units once a day to that crazy dosage in four months. i am sure what saved her was the terrible diet she was eating: all dry and as many temptations treats she wanted, with some sandwich meat thrown in. after switching her to an all fancy feast classic diet, i started dropping her dosage just based on her behavior. my point is that your diet changes may cause some obvious & immediate drops. stick with this group & they will take care of you.
 
I seriously can't thank you all enough for getting me through this!! This has definately been the most stressful New Year's I've ever had but I didn't lose him so it's not as bad as it could've been! His numbers doubled 2x so I think I'll give us both a rest for the night. I will leave the can food out tonight since I usually do & see where we go in the morning for dosing. THANK YOU all again so much & will check back in the morning!! Happy New Year to everyone!
 
You'll sleep well tonight. I'm so glad you found FDMB, bought a meter, tested and you can now celebrate a whole new year ahead with your kitty. Happy New Year to you too!
 
Happy Happy New Year to you and your saved baby!!!
What a wonderful way to start a new year....he is here, you know how to home test and how important it really is, you found this forum and will never be alone with any issues your furry baby Itty Bitty might have again or any of your civvie babies!
So sorry yall had to go thru this last nite, but HE MADE IT!!!
My Sugar Bean was dx at 1 unit, after her curve 1 wk later, vet increased to 2 units and not to home test!
WOW, I found this site, told him about it, and his response was to not search the internet and not believe everything you read??????
Again, WOW!
I did not double the dose but did increase a bit. I did start home testing which was not successful at first. The first test I was able to get, my Bean was only 27 - 2 hours after the shot!!!!! :o
This forum and folks stayed with me for 4+ hours, posting and visiting on the phone: doing the same thing with me that you went thru last nite......
MY BEAN IS STILL WITH ME AS WELL... :smile:
I just know if it had not been for this place, my girl would be gone!
GOOD JOB GOOD JOB GOOD JOB TO YOU!
Please let us know what is going on with Mr. Itty Bity as I am lurking the first thing out of bed to see how he is nailbite_smile
 
Thanks! I didn't sleep very well at all last night but just took his BG at 8:45 & it's 579 so way high. Now the question is do I give him 1U or a different amount? Also do I give him the shot first, then feed or the other way around? Then I'm guessing after the shot we do 6+ to test unless he's acting weird? Thanks again!
 
I would go with 1 unit.
After all the sugar and carbs.
And sensitivity to insulin right now.
1 unit
Lori
 
It's my understanding we should always let the cat eat before giving a shot (because if they don't eat the insulin has nothing to work with when it hits and hypo is possible again. Don't want that! LOL).

It's also my understanding cats are more sensitive to insulin after a hypo episode. I was reading last night's posts from those more experienced and they recommended going light on the insulin, .5 to 1 unit for this morning. If it were Poopy, I wouldn't be giving him more than 1 unit.

Considering his exciting night, I'd be tempted to test every two-three hours to keep a close eye on him. But, I'm also pretty new and would totally be freaking out over the hypo (still). LOL Yea, I'm a worry wart. :smile:
 
Because he used to be a dry food cat, I would start lower at .50. Some kitties, once you get them off dry food completely and on a low carb wet food diet don't need insulin.

Test, feed, shoot, is what Klinger and I do.
You did an awesome job last night!
 
I gave him 1U since I don't really have the right syringes to measure .5. However he's not really eating this morning either :sad: I did give him a few small pieces of turkey after his BG test & we wiped some can food on his paw which he licked off eventually but wasn't happy about. I hope he doesn't get all finicky with food again today & no more than what he ate is enough!
 
If you left a can of food out overnight, he may have eaten it just prior to you getting up. Just a thought. :smile:

If it were Poopy, I'd keep a close eye on his BGs to be sure of no hypo. :smile: Again, I'm a worry wart though.
 
I have been watching for your post. You two had quite an intro to feline diabetes!

What was the number this morning? It is very important that he eat. Try putting some tuna juice or Parmesan cheese on top of the food (or something else that he really likes). You can also warm it in the oven till nice and stinky.

Why don't you start a new thread and give us your number and others will have ideas for getting him to eat.
 
Great job, MommaBean!

You'd be surprised how much their BGs can drop with just changing from hi-carb and/or dry food to canned low-carb food....I've read of cats dropping 100 points from diet change alone. When I first started with Turtle, I cut her dose in half from 2u to 1u and her numbers *still* dropped dramatically because I changed her to low-carb food at the same time.

Itty Bitty is lucky to have such a dedicated Mommy! Knowledge is power!

Happy New Year~
Avery & Turtle :thumbup
 
Wow you had an exciting new years eve...
I would try to make him eat soon, very important, but I am sure he is not feeling all that well after last night
If you can I would keep a close eye on him today to make sure the numbers dont go to low..
hang in there and you did an awesome job last night!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top