Newbie and struggling

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Zener GA

Member Since 2011
Hello,

I am new to the list so hope I am doing this right. My 11 year old cat Zener, who has cerebellar hypoplasia, was diagnosed with diabetes three months ago. We spent the first two months with Humulin N without good results and our vet switched us to Lantus almost 4 weeks ago. We are really struggling to get him regulated. He was on dry food and now is completely on wet food - Blue Buffalo and Fancy Feast. At present he is on 2.5 U in the morning and 1.5 at night but his lowest BG is often +12 to +14 and is in the 80s to 90s. I am fearful to give the injection when his values are so low. If we skip a shot, his BG often is in the high 300s at the time of the next injection. I've been reading on the forum for a few weeks and would like some help. Thanks, Anne & Zener
 
Anne:
Id you post in the Lantus forum? Cedric was on Lantus, but it only took me a month or so to get him into remission. His numbers were basically in the 200 range, then when I took his dry food away, they dropped to the 100 range. two days later they were normal and he hasn't had insulin. The highest I have recorded for him was 90. Not only did I switch him to Evo & Wellness (he's had Blue Buffalo's Wilderness also, but since that doesn't appear to come in 5.5oz cans, I don't feed him 2 of those a day too much $$$) but I also feed him 4x per day. I recently bought a Cat Mate C20 auto feeder.
http://www.petmountain.com/product/sale ... eeder.html
that has worked out great, since I work every day and am gone at about 9 hours each day. I put the ice pack in each morning, put in 1/4 can that has been refridgerated and 1/4 can that was put in the freezer the night before. I time the refridgerated portion to pop up about 4-5 hours after his 1st meal of the day; frozen portion to pop up about 8-9 hours after his first meal (now that I look at that, I think it should be more, I better check those!). I usually feed him at night between 8 and 9 pm too.

I don't feel that I can help you much, since Cedric wasn't on the insulin long. The gang over in the Lantus forum can help, tho! Good luck!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top