Anne & Zener GA
Very Active Member
Hello,
I am new to the list so hope I am doing this right. My 11 year old cat Zener, who has cerebellar hypoplasia, was diagnosed with diabetes three months ago. We spent the first two months with Humulin N without good results and our vet switched us to Lantus almost 4 weeks ago. We are really struggling to get him regulated. He was on dry food and now is completely on wet food - Blue Buffalo and Fancy Feast. At present he is on 2.5 U in the morning and 1.5 at night but his lowest BG is often +12 to +14 and is in the 80s to 90s. I am fearful to give the injection when his values are so low. If we skip a shot, his BG often is in the high 300s at the time of the next injection. I've been reading on the forum for a few weeks and would like some help. Thanks, Anne & Zener
I am new to the list so hope I am doing this right. My 11 year old cat Zener, who has cerebellar hypoplasia, was diagnosed with diabetes three months ago. We spent the first two months with Humulin N without good results and our vet switched us to Lantus almost 4 weeks ago. We are really struggling to get him regulated. He was on dry food and now is completely on wet food - Blue Buffalo and Fancy Feast. At present he is on 2.5 U in the morning and 1.5 at night but his lowest BG is often +12 to +14 and is in the 80s to 90s. I am fearful to give the injection when his values are so low. If we skip a shot, his BG often is in the high 300s at the time of the next injection. I've been reading on the forum for a few weeks and would like some help. Thanks, Anne & Zener