Newbie. AMPS 180. Now what?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Natalia & Enana

Member Since 2011
Hello!

My vet said not to give insulin (Lantus100) if the value was under 200. What should I do next? When should I test again?

Thanks

N
 
Your vet is correct under 200 for a newbie like yourself is a no shoot number, don't feed just yet if you haven't already wait about 15 to 30 minutes and test again. then post that number and we will go from there.

I'm just getting up and feeding my gang but I'll keep checking in on you.

Mel, Max & The Fur Gang
 
That's okay it happens. Just test her again in a little bit and see if she is going up or down numbers wise. That actually was a really good number for so early in the morning. She may continue to rise since she was fed, or she may drop. Dropping is a good thing after eating because it means that her pancreas might be trying to work again. Testing is the only way to know for sure. Also what she just ate won't be in her blood stream for about an hour, so if she is going to spike on food you still have a window in which to test again.

If it helps the normal range for a non-diabetic kitty is between 40-120, so that 180 this morning is fairly close to normal. My Max is diet controlled and he usually runs in the mid 50s to mid 60s.

Mel, Max & The Fur Gang
 
Not sure on the ketones no experience there, but with that bg level and the fact that you are on such a tiny dose if she was my Max I would go ahead and give her the .5 then test her again in a couple of hours to see how she is doing on it.

Mel, Max & The Fur Gang
 
Mel,

Natalia is also posting over on Lantus and getting different advice there this am. I suggested she go with their advice and continue post there.

Natalia, be sure you tell them you are using the PrecisionXtra meter and your ketone number is okay this am, according to the meter directions.
 
I gave her .5.

Im sorry I was asking questions in different boards :?

Thanks for your help.
 
Not a problem, just glad you are getting help. For now I would stay with the Lantus folks.

Just didn't know you were asking them as well, and saw when I came on that you didn't have a reply, so thought I would help if I could.

Mel, Max & The Fur Gang
 
No worries. This place is confusing at first. We just don't want you to get two sets of advice and not know what to do. Dosing questions should probably be asked on the Lantus forum. Any health questions can be posted here.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top