MustachedMalarkey
New Member
As mentioned in the title, on December 23rd, we received the amazing news that, after just six weeks on insulin, my cat has gone into remission. He had been receiving 2 units of ProZinc twice daily.
(When diagnosed his BG was 28mmol (504 mg/dL) and his fructosamine was 517. No sign of DKA at that time)
I'd been checking his glucose at different times. Every time, his levels had been stable. Overall, things appeared to be going well...until this weekend.
In the last couple days his appetite has fluctuated, he's not waking me up demanding breakfast, and finishes a small portion of his usual meal. So that's different, along with his energy levels, they've been up and down too. He's started hiding on and off, and being less social and cuddly. His glucose levels are still in the 5.5mmol (99mg/dL) range. He's urinating pretty normally, 2-3 times a day, and still plays a little bit when offered.. he just seems off.
It leads me to wonder if stopping the insulin so abrubtly was maybe not a good idea? Is this normal for a cat in remission to have a suddenly varying appetite and energy and act lethargic at times? I literally just commented to my partner last week that he was looking the healthiest he's looked in years, acting as though he was 5 years younger, and then bam, he throws me a curveball.
Trying not to panic as I realize I'm still very new to this (1st diagnosis was in November) and I can't assume a couple of sleepy days mean he's sick again. I'm a bit worried he has a secondary illness of maybe pancreatitis or DKA or something?
I plan to contact his vet today but I thought I'd pick some experienced brains here on this excellent forum, and at least ease my panic.
(When diagnosed his BG was 28mmol (504 mg/dL) and his fructosamine was 517. No sign of DKA at that time)
In the week leading up to his remission, we noticed a series of dangerously low blood glucose readings (hypo episodes) during a 2-day home curve, prompting us to reduce his insulin dosage to 1 unit instead of 2. Despite this, he continued to experience hypoglycemia even at the lower dose.
After consulting with the vet the following day, we were advised to pause his insulin and monitor him closely. His recent fructosamine had dropped to 307, so, combined with the low BG curve and that result, she felt he was in remission.
We were instructed to resume half a unit only if his blood glucose exceeded 9.0mmol (162mg/dL) and to contact the vet if that happened.
During the past 2 weeks off insulin, his glucose levels remained steady between 5.3mmol and 6.4mmol (95.4mg/dL to 115/2mg/dL) His energy has been high, occasionally even seeming almost hyperactive. He's been chatty, social, cuddly, active and vibrant. His diet consists of a mix of low-moderate-carb (<6%) and zero-carb canned food (no dry food) with added warm water, and he doesn't seem to be drinking from his bowls anymore and prefers his "soup". And his appetite was good, he would wake me up demanding his breakfast and finish it all at once, no problem.After consulting with the vet the following day, we were advised to pause his insulin and monitor him closely. His recent fructosamine had dropped to 307, so, combined with the low BG curve and that result, she felt he was in remission.
We were instructed to resume half a unit only if his blood glucose exceeded 9.0mmol (162mg/dL) and to contact the vet if that happened.
I'd been checking his glucose at different times. Every time, his levels had been stable. Overall, things appeared to be going well...until this weekend.
In the last couple days his appetite has fluctuated, he's not waking me up demanding breakfast, and finishes a small portion of his usual meal. So that's different, along with his energy levels, they've been up and down too. He's started hiding on and off, and being less social and cuddly. His glucose levels are still in the 5.5mmol (99mg/dL) range. He's urinating pretty normally, 2-3 times a day, and still plays a little bit when offered.. he just seems off.
It leads me to wonder if stopping the insulin so abrubtly was maybe not a good idea? Is this normal for a cat in remission to have a suddenly varying appetite and energy and act lethargic at times? I literally just commented to my partner last week that he was looking the healthiest he's looked in years, acting as though he was 5 years younger, and then bam, he throws me a curveball.
Trying not to panic as I realize I'm still very new to this (1st diagnosis was in November) and I can't assume a couple of sleepy days mean he's sick again. I'm a bit worried he has a secondary illness of maybe pancreatitis or DKA or something?
I plan to contact his vet today but I thought I'd pick some experienced brains here on this excellent forum, and at least ease my panic.
Last edited: