Re: Newbie - 7/3 Charms AMPS 460, +2 413 , +4 383 +6 423, +8
Welcome, welcome, welcome. My Dusty was recently switched to Lantus. He has been on it for just over 1 month now.
He was up to 10u of Prozinc twice a day and he didn't register on my meter except for it to say HI (which means his BG was over 600).
One of his vets (he has 2), vet H. had me start Dusty off on the Lantus at 1u. It didn't touch the HI mark. The dose was raised,
still nothing. I went and had a talk with both vets, Vet H wanted to raise him slowly, Vet C told me to raise him 2 more u.
I discussed all of this with the folks here on FDMB. After raising, raising, raising, he ended up on 7u which was close to the
dose in the Prozinc he had been taken off of. Giving the 7u for several days, Dusty's resistance to the insulin finally broke.
Please don't misinterpret me here. I am not saying to raise Charms to 7u. I do agree with Sienne that you should raised the dose though.
Have you read the "Sticky" regarding the use of Lantus at the top of the Lantus board? I can tell you, Lantus builds up
in the cat's body. Some call it building the shed. Well, Dusty's shed built and he finally came down. The down
picked up speed and I had to watch him carefully. His built by somewhat following the Lantus guidlines.
Humph, if you look at his BG we got a little confused as to when his dose should be upped. I wasn't going fast enough at one point.
When he began to come down, of course the main thing I noticed was that his BG level was actually registering a number on my meter
instead of saying HI but I also noticed things like, he wasn't as hungry or thirsty and he also wasn't visiting
his litter box (LB) as often. See Dusty's SS.
He is now hanging out on 3u twice a day, but it took the guidance of the folks here to get him there.
I was also given the request of purchasing the Ketone strips. I did and I've managed to test Dusty 2 times.
His vet has tested him 2 times (he had a UTI) going on when he was first switched to Lantus.
He remains negative for ketones. Testing is not an easy task. I have to pay very close attention to when Dusty is heading to the LB and grab a
test strip. Once he is in the LB and has started peeing I can usually quietly slip in and stick it under the stream. Dusty is a very
private kittie with the LB though. His LB is in my mud room/laundry room. He's fine about coming in when someone
is already in there, but any other time (when no one is in the mud room/laundry room) you can see him mosey that way looking
around him the entire time (to me he's looking around checking to see if anyone is paying attention to where he's going). Sneaky, Sneaky.
Anyway, he's the only kittie I have and I know how difficult it is for me to test, but perserverence will pay off.
I don't know if you've already purchased ketone test strips or not. I didn't even know where to get them. I thought I was
going to have to ask his vets.
The strips don't cost too much, you can find them at your local drug store (they are human strips) and work well for kitties.
Like I've said, I've only managed to test Dusty 2 times, but it has eased my mind to know he isn't passing ketones.
Good luck, keep asking questions here and have a Happy and safe 4th of July.