NEWBIE - 7/25 Onyx, AMPS 438, +3 484, +6 381

Status
Not open for further replies.

Onyx & Klepto

Member Since 2013
Hi Everyone!

After months of WAY too much urination, 3 vet visits, wierd behavior and lethary, Onyx was finally diagnosed on 7/15/2013. She was prescribed 2U of Lantus, twice a day, and received it for 4 days before I found this group (she had stopped eating/drinking completely by day 4). The first 2 days were great, but went down hill quickly. My vet didn't want me doing home testing, but once I learned from this community of its importance, I got set-up right away. The group here quickly agreed that 2U was too high, so they backed her down to 1U. Her numbers looked decent throughout the day, but she was in the low to mid 100's at her PMPS, so they thought she should go down to .5U. She's now been getting that for 3 days.

It's been a bumpy week and Onyx has been all over the place, but for the most part she's been in good spirits and active with all 5P's.

Her +3 reading was higher today than any BG test (home or vet) so far, so I spent my afternoon freaking out a bit. Espcially once the Nova Max keytone said .6, when all urine keytone tests have been negative. But she's drinking a lot, so I've calmed down.

My vet and a few other folks at FDMB think it might be time to bump her up a bit, so hopefully after the data I collect today, we can figure out the best course of action tomorrow.

I'm tyring to learn as much as I can--while doing what's best for my little girl--but it's quite overwhelming. Deep down I'm afraid that since she started out with too high a dose right out of the gate, that it might perhaps make it harder for her to potentially go into remission. After reading the Tight Regulation protocol, and knowing that's NOT how she started out, I'm worried. But I'm learning everyday and I'm more than willing to do what it takes to get her healthy.

Thank you in advance for putting up with my questions--and the occassional freak-outs.
:smile:
Brandi
 
Welcome to Lantus Land!!

Please put your worry aside. Frankly, starting on too high of a dose is not going to put Onyx on the wrong track. When the TR protocol was first developed, the initial dosing was higher. The reason that the starting dose formula was changed was because Rand and her colleagues felt that it would be too risky for caregivers, even those who were diligent about home testing, to start at the higher dose at home.

With TR, it's important to get at least one test per cycle in addition to your pre-shot tests. Will it be possible for you to get at least one test during the PM cycle? You want to be sure that numbers aren't dropping at night and, if you don't test at night, you're missing half of your data.

I agree with the thinking that Onxy needs a bit more insulin. However, I'd also like to see some data from the evening cycle. From your reading of the TR protocol, I'm sure you're aware that a dose needs to be held for 6 consecutive cycles. The fur shot the other evening started the count over. For both reasons, unless something unusual happens, I'd suggest holding your current dose until tomorrow's PM cycle.

It also looks like you're still in the process of transition to canned food. The dry food, even though you're feeding a "better" dry food, may still be influencing Onyx's numbers.
 
Hi Sienne.

Thanks for the welcome--and for the TR update. That makes me feel a lot better that nothing that's happened could potentially hinder her progress and potential for remission. *Deep breath, with a heavy sigh of relief*

Yes, the night tests have been a bit trickier. Onyx always starts out in bed with me, but once I fall a sleep, she has a tendency of going under the bed until the sun comes up, and she won't come out if I call her. She's super stubborn when she's tired. But I'm going to try a few tricks tonight that might help. My goal tonight is to get a +2 or +3...and a +7 or +8.

The food change has probably been the only thing I haven't gotten her cooperation on. When she see's me with the meter bag, she sits down beside me and starts sucking her paw while she waits for me to get it ready. But if I open a can of stinky food, she runs and hides. Go figure! Yesterday I learned that she shouldn't be eating for 2 hours before her AMPS and PMPS. When I hid her food this morning, she was starved when I brought it out at shot time. So tomorrow I'll try the wet food first, just to see if she might be hungry enough. My other cat, Klepto (civie), LOVES it. So maybe she'll catch on from him that it's yummy...lol.

And I will definitely keep her on the .5U for 3 more cycles then (stupid fur shot!).

Thanks so much!
:smile:
 
Hi Brandi, Welcome to Lantus Land.

I sent you a message (just in case you are not sure how to check them - if you look near the top of the page you will see "User Control Panel (0 new messages) • View your posts " and you can just click on the message link there)

It was not an important message though - was just pointing out that I live pretty closeby to you! Thought that was neat is all :-D

Transitioning Jupiter's food was a little hard at first, but now he likes it. I wish you lots of good luck transitioning Onyx. Sometimes things will seem a little overwhelming, but they do get easier! And we are all here to help and support you.

Jamie
 
Hello again Brandi - welcome to the Tight Regulation board! I know you'll get lots of help here to find the right dose for Onyx. If I ever call Onyx a he instead of a she, pardon me, I used to have a male cat named Onyx!

I totally understand the "cat under the bed" issue - I had a lot of that happening when I first started testing & shooting. Solved it the extreme way - now my bed is on the floor! Papaya was very confused at first that she couldn't find the way to get under it when I first took it off the frame :lol:

I hope Onyx discovers quickly how wonderful the wet food is! Maybe a certain flavour will turn out to be her "gateway"? That part was easy with Papaya, she was getting some of each and she must have realized the dry food made her feel worse because she stopped eating it even before the diabetes was diagnosed. It has made an amazing change in her fur, aside from the whole carb content issue - she's so soft and shiny now that I can tell it's really been good for her to switch.

Best of luck on those late-night tests ;-)
 
Amy - OMG, if I removed the frame from bed, she would HATE me for sure. That's her safe haven where she can get away from the overly-playful, damaged-equillibrium, thievin' Klepto! Well, I'll keep the option open in the back of my mind, but I'll cross my fingers it doesn't come to that...lol.

Thanks for the welcome, neighbor (Jamie)!
She's never liked fish, so I'm keeping those pate's out of the mix. But there's gotta be one of the other ones that will tickle her fancy. I'll try'em all if I have to.

Thanks, ladies.

:smile:
 
Deep down I'm afraid that since she started out with too high a dose right out of the gate, that it might perhaps make it harder for her to potentially go into remission. After reading the Tight Regulation protocol, and knowing that's NOT how she started out, I'm worried. But I'm learning everyday and I'm more than willing to do what it takes to get her healthy.
No as Sienne already said, you have not messed up Onyx's chances of remission. Put those worries out of your mind.

Didn't realize you had moved over here before I answered you post over in Health.

Since you did a fur shot the other night, the cycle counting starts over with the next cycle. That happens whenever you skip of do a fur shot.

Welcome to Lantus Land! Lots of great folks over here.
 
What would happen if your brought your testing supplies into the bedroom at night. That way, if you get sleepy, you will have everything right there and can test Onyx before you turn in for the night.
 
Thanks, Deb. I didn't realize it would do that today. She was up to 497 and hour and 1/2 ago, her highest yet.

Do you still think I should move to .75, or wait until she finishes the full 6 cycles tomorrow night?
 
Consider it done. I will finish out the .5 through tomorrow night.

Could the Wellness Core original be affecting her numbers at all? I started mixing it in the bowl lastngiht, but she seems to be favoring it, so I'd say she's mostly had that since yesterday. I wasn't sure if a food change (even if it's a healthier one) would cause numbers to spike.

Thanks, Deb.
 
I know you are having a hard time transitioning Onyx to this food.

Fancy feast classic pates are also low carb. There are many flavors to choose from. Jupiter doesnt like the expensive foods like the wellness and other ones like that - but he does like Fancy Feast.

I would suggest maybe trying different brands and flavors to see which ones Onyx likes...
 
Yeah, I've been trying. When I opened Friskies and Fancy Feast, she ran under the bed!! lol I've got an arsenol of varieties in the pantry, so I'll try a new one each day. Now that I'm not feeding her for 2 hours prior to AMPS, I'm hoping the hunger will make her to taste it. Actually, I might try one before her PMPS at 11 tonight. Fingers, toes, legs, and paws crossed...lol.
 
Hi Brandi. Welcome to you and Onyx. Please don't worry about the initial higher dose. We too were told to dose 2U BID and after a couple weeks (with no testing) we had transitioned him to Nature's Variety Chicken Raw and found this board. Check out Fur Ball's SS. And we were still able to get him OTJ. Just wanted to encourage you. You are at the right place and have the best advice, support and encouragement you will ever find. :-D

Have a great night.
Karen
 
Thanks, Karen. I REALLY appreciate that. I've been feeling like a neurotic crazy person and this group has certainly been keeping me sane this week.

You have a great night too.

:smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top