Newbie: 7/10 Snoball AMPS 359; PMPS=130

Status
Not open for further replies.

RobinCot

Member Since 2013
Hi, I am Snoball's foster mommy and have been gradually upping his dose. Last night he was in the blues so I only shot 1u and got some +tests
Of course now he's bouncing. It's up and down for him but he is doing great. He has gained weight, his back legs are stronger, he gets all his hydration from food so he doesn't use the water bowl, and he is peeing and pooping regularly. He is a sweet kitty and he seems tired today but it may be because of the heat. My civvies are listless as well. I am not able to get +tests during the weekday and only two in evenings so basically I test when I can and not on any regular schedule.
 
Re: Newbie: 7/10 Snoball AMPS 359

Welcome to Lantus Land!

In actuality, getting tests at various times helps to fill in the blanks on a spreadsheet. It's helpful if you can get additional tests on weekends, holidays, days off, etc. just in case there's something noteworthy going on. I would encourage you to routinely get at least a before bed test every night.

If you've not already done so, I'd encourage you to look at the starred, sticky notes at the top of the Board. They will provide an overwhelming amount of information about Lantus and how to use it to best manage Snoball's diabetes.

Do you happen to have any information about Snoball's medical background?

Please let us know how we can help. The people here are incredibly generous with their time and information. We'll do our best to lend a hand.
 
Re: Newbie: 7/10 Snoball AMPS 359

Just wanted to stop in and say hello and welcome! Nikki and I have only been posting here on TR for about 2 weeks, so we're pretty new too! :-D

I know how hard it is to not be able to test a lot. My job keeps me out of the house all day, so I do the best I can. Hopefully Snoball will be headed in the right direction soon. :-D

Hope you have a great day!
 
Re: Newbie: 7/10 Snoball AMPS 359

I just got clearance from Rescue Team to make a vet appointment for Snoball. I am hoping to get him in within the next two weeks. I will have his medical information after that. There is no medical history - he was dumped at a shelter then fostered for three weeks prior to coming to me in early May. I have been on the forum for a couple of months but it was suggested that I post here with experts in order to try to get him regulated.

Thank you for the warm welcome!
 
Re: Newbie: 7/10 Snoball AMPS 359

Robin has one of those long work day, work schedules and she takes care of a lot of other animals, cats, dogs, horses avery day and she makes her own raw food for her gang of cats.

She tests when she can as she said. It's been really tough, from her work not allowing her any access to google and being unable to maintain the SS because of those restrictions. Wendy & Tiggy set up a SS for Robin. Robin has figured out a way to keep the SS updated.

She has been able to get a few more of those PM tests now that she understands that food influence is ok and expected on any tests after the pre-shot tests.

She has been doing a good job and took on a diabetic foster kitty with no prior experience with a diabetic cat. My hat is off to Robin for her efforts.

We will miss her over in Feline Health but thought she could use some more help from the Lantus TR group.

Her schedule and ability to test is more of a SLGS style, so any drops below 90, should probably earn Snoball a dose reduction.

Robin, I would suggest that you edit your signature, adding SLGS to it right after the type of insulin you are using. That way, people will see it by a quick glance at your signature and will make suggestions according to that protocol.
 
Re: Newbie: 7/10 Snoball AMPS 359

Thanks Deb and Wendy for all your care, hand-holding, suggestions and patience. You have been good to me and my sugarfoster. I have edited my signature accordingly.
 
Gonna take another test and shoot 1u. Gotta shoot soon or else his AM shot will be an overlap
 
If that next test is lower, you may want to either

1. Reduce the dose
2. Skip the shot.

let us know so we can give your our suggestions.

How late can you stay up?
Can you set your alarm to wake you up at intervals?
Do you have plenty of test strips?
HC, MC, LC food and karo/honey if needed.

You can add some drops of the karo to the raw food you feed to increase the carb content if you need to.
 
He is at 138 now. Should I give him a reduced dose like last night when he was at 115 (1u as opposed to 1.5u)? I can do a couple of test like a +2 and +4. Not sure I can do a +6
 
A reduction to the 1U instead of the full dose is a good idea.

Can you set the alarm to wake you for the +4 and +6 and nap in between?
 
I can get a +4

We are having a very stressfull evening. I threw one of my civvies out of the house and told him to go find another home. He has Feline Hyperesthesia and he attacks his playmate civvie in play. Tonight he tore the skin off his back and there is blood and a very nervous, hurt and scared boy needing a lot of comfort. Bing is outside the front door in the rain. I won't miss him.
 
So sorry to hear one of your civies has been hurt. Is there anywhere to confine Bing, the perpetrator, for the night? Basement, small bath, laundry room?

Is Bing on medications for the feline hyperesthesia?

Never punish or scare your cat, however. Cats that suffer from feline hyperesthesia cannot control their actions. In severe cases, anti-anxiety medications are usually necessary as well.
per this article.http://www.petmd.com/blogs/fullyvetted/2011/dec/treating_feline_hyperesthesia#.Ud36-pPD_IU
 
Welcome to Lantus Land!

Not too bad a number this morning given you shot a reduced dose last night!! He does like to be lower at night though eh? good thing you dont like your sleep ;)

Deb - your avatar image isnt working ?
 
I can't afford drugs and they say to reduce the stress in his environment but he is the cause of all the stress. The vet here told me he had dry skin. I paid $12 to get a proper diagnosis with an online vet. Bing will have to go. It's raining so Bing would not leave the front door so I have him in the bathroom indefinately. I can't even look at him right now. My BF is going to take him to the shelter this weekend.

Sorry, I am just at the end of my rope with this cat right now.

But now I need to focus on Snoball. He is eating and seems very happy and active. I like the lower PM numbers. Now if he can stop the bouncing and give me lower AM numbers....
 
Maybe a single cat household that has time to exercise him? Let the wet boy in and keep him in a separate room (with lots of toys etc) until you can find a new home?

Bing is a great name for a cat by the way!!

edited to add - can you update Snoballs SS?

Wendy
 
Robin:

If you're finding that you need to keep shooting reduced doses at every other shot time, it may make sense to reduce the dose so you can shoot the same dose at each shot time. You tend to get a better response with Lantus if you are shooting the same dose twice a day.
 
His +4 is 118 If I wake up during the night I will take another but he got really upset with this poke - running out of new spots on ear

This is a new dose for Snoball because he wasnt testing out of the 300s
 
If you are able to set your alarm for that +6 and Snoball cooperates, then get it if you can.

If you do not think you can get it, I would leave a little bit of food out for Snoball to eat, somewhere the other furry family members can not get to it.

He only dropped 12 points between PMPS and +4. He will probably drop a bit more by +6, but we don't know how much.

We only suggest that you do the best that you can. And Snoball may say "NO WAY!"
 
I wanted to get up to do another test but I had finally gotten everybody calm and settled - puncture wounds treated. Snoball is usually isolated in his room for the night and he gets a full can of food to nibble on overnight but last night I let him sleep on the bed with me and my hurt civvie while my mentally disturbed civvie was locked in the bathroom. I didn't want to disturb the vibe and he was getting really irratated with the extra pokes last night.

His AMPS was 239 so I like these lower numbers even if I have to worry about hypo. This weekend I will get some +6 and +8 numbers for each cycle so I can figure out where his nadir is. I am a little concerned because I am coming up on vacation and the caretaker will give insulin but will not test so I need to think about that since I only have this week and next week to get him on a safe dose.
 
It's ok that you did not get that +6 last night. I said ONLY if you could AND Snoball would let you. You had to take care of your hurt civie and your other hyperesthesia kitty was on your sh*t list. We understand.

Hope everyone is ok this morning. You need to take care of yourself too, along with all of your furry family. It's tough, being a single caregiver.

I expected Snoball to bounce a bit higher this morning.

It's always an option, while you are away on vacation, to drop the dose down for a bit.

"Better too high for a day, than too low for a minute."

In your condo for today, put that question mark on your post and ask about suggestions for a vacation dose.
 
Thanks Deb - you are a Godsend!

Bing has a lot of making up to do if he wants to stick around.
His hurt buddy Brio wanted Bing out of the bathroom though, so hopefully that was a good decision for today.
 

Attachments

  • BingBrio.JPG
    BingBrio.JPG
    76 KB · Views: 327
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top