? Newbie 5/16/23: Urgent!: AMPS going down from 186, must leave for work! DOSE or SKIP?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angie & Celia (Cruz)

Member Since 2023
AMPS 186, 20min. later: 177, 20m later: 172. Stall again? If it doesn't rise, can I SKIP? 153 about an hour later: SKIPPING. Her ears are in pain & I must leave. Now I know for future ref.

Must leave for work soon! Pls Help!
 
Last edited:
hi, sorry you didn't get a response sooner.

Your signature says you are following SLGS. The SLGS guidance for a lower-than-normal Pre-shot number, when you don't have a lot of data in your spreadsheet yet, is as follows:

Until you collect enough data to know how your cat will react, we suggest following the guidelines in the FDMB's FAQ Q4.4:
Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.
  • Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
  • Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options:
    • a.) give nothing
    • b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose)
    • c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value
  • Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
  • In all cases, if you are reducing or eliminating insulin, it's wise to check for ketones in the urine.
  • Above the normal pre-shot value, give the usual dose, but if the pre-shot value is consistently elevated, it's a good idea to schedule a full glucose curve to see whether a change in dose or insulin is appropriate. In most cases, the target "peak" value should not be below 100 mg/dl (5.6 mmol/L), and for some cats it might be higher.
Keep in mind these are general guidelines, and they should be personalized to your own cat's response to insulin. If your experience is that your cat does not became hypoglycemic with a dose which is close to her usual, then personal experience should be your guide.






After a while when you feel like you know how the insulin is working on kitty better, SLGS says you can do this:








With experience, you may find that lowering these thresholds may work well for your cat. When you have reached that stage, the following guidelines are suggested for Lantus, Levemir, and Biosimilars users following the Start Low Go Slow approach:

If the preshot number is far below usual preshot numbers:
  • Do you need to stay on schedule? Then skip the shot.
  • Do you have some flexibility with your schedule? Then stalling to wait for the number to rise might be a good option. Don't feed, retest after 30-60 minutes, and decide if the number is shootable.
  • Repeat until the cat either reaches a number at which you are comfortable shooting, or enough time has passed that skipping the shot is necessary.
If the preshot number is near kitty's usual preshot numbers:

Look at your data to see what numbers you have shot in the past and decide what would be a safe, shootable number for your cat. Don't feed. Stall until kitty reaches the preshot number you've decided on and then shoot.
We usually don't suggest or recommend shooting a preshot number less than 90 mg/dL when following the SLGS Method. Remember that with SLGS, generally speaking, your goal is to achieve flat numbers that are greater than 90 mg/dL. However, let experience, data collected, knowledge of your cat, and availability to monitor help in making the best decisions for your cat.
 
based on the guidelines I posted above, skipping the dose is certainly an option did you skip?
Thank you so much. Didn't get to read it all, but skimmed over as fast as I could before having to head out the door so yes, I skipped the shot. Otherwise, I wouldn't have known what to do. For all I know they could die if they miss a shot, I had no idea. I am a die hard better safe than sorry person and I still haven't had a chance to read over the plethora of info on this site so thank you for sending me that relevant info. My ride was waiting on me as well since my clutch died the other day so I couldn't delay. I'm still in shock, never saw her keep going down in numbers before right before her shot, WTH?? Has anyone ever heard of this or know what it could mean? The last time I know she ate was around 9pm last night and don't know if she grazed anyone else's possibly left over wet food last night, but by the time I started testing her this morning around 6:30am til around 8:30am when I finally gave up after around 4 tests, I believe, bc I had to go to work and she'd been letting me know she was starving the whole time: her #s declined! Just yesterday before her PM shot, she was 353 so this was shocking. At any rate, will read your post in entirety today for reference. Thank you so much again.
@Hendrick Cuddleclaw
Hi Kyle @Anjee must have left for work, I know she has to be by work by 7:30
She works 7:30 - 4 every day.no testing until she gets home
Thanks. No, you might have had me mistaken with another member. I don't work that early and not every day. Nevertheless. I was already gone around that time so thought I'd check back from work.
 
Last edited:
I'm still in shock, never saw her keep going down in numbers before right before her shot, WTH?? Has anyone ever heard of this or know what it could mean? The last time I know she ate was around 9pm last night and don't know if she grazed anyone else's possibly left over wet food last night, but by the time I started testing her this morning around 6:30am til around 8:30am when I finally gave up after around 4 tests, I believe, bc I had to go to work and she'd been letting me know she was starving the whole time: her #s declined! Just yesterday before her PM shot, she was 353 so this was shocking. At any rate, will read your post in entirety today for reference. Thank you so much again.

it does seem somewhat surprising to see a much lower pre-shot today after only a week on insulin and a dose of only half a unit. To answer your question, YES this is something that has been seen before. But I would like to know what one of the true experts think (don't mistake me for one of those gurus...I am merely a guy who followed their guidance and it helped my boy so much I will never be able to re-pay them....but I try to pay it forward by helping others)

@Suzanne & Darcy @tiffmaxee @Bandit's Mom @Wendy&Neko what do you think? 1 week on .5U and suddenly a mid-blue AMPS. What is the guidance?
 
I’ve answered on the LLB forum. A bg in the 100’s is not uncommon with a newly diagnosed cat. Max dropped to 60 his second week. I was not testing at home so this was at my vet’s office mid cycle. I would suggest setting an alarm to see what is happening at night. If the bg continues to be too low to shoot and leave you might need to drop the dose to .25 so you can shoot every cycle.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top