Carsonsmom
Member Since 2011
My 15 year-old cat, Carson, was first diagnosed with diabetes in 2006. He's been on again/off again with the most recent honeymoon lasting for 2 years. At the time of the DX, his BG was around the 28 - 30mmol/L mark. He is on Lantus again (b.i.d.) as that worked really well (and quickly) in regulating him 2 years ago. He has lost a lot of weight (is around 8.8lbs) so the vet decided to SLGS. In a week, we upped him to 2u. His BG average on 2u was still around 21mmol/L so we very recently (Wednesday) upped the dosage to 2.5u. He eats Purina DM canned
He is reacting VERY well to the 2.5u (see the last 48 hours below) and this morning his AMPS was 4.4mmol/L. I was too nervous to give him a dosage as I was going to work, but tested him at +1 4.7mmol/L and +2 4.8mmol/L. I was playing all the scenarios in my head and why I should give him the full 2.5u, but caved and decided to leave him until I get back home.
Carson's BG -
11/30 - AMPS - 22.4 (2u)
11/30 - PMPS - 21.8 (2.5u)
11/30 +2 - 18.3
12/01 - AMPS - 15.7 (2.5u)
12/01 - +1.5 - 10.7
12/01 - PMPS - 18.9 (2.5u)
12/01 - +3.5 - 9.9
12/02 - AMPS - 4.2 (no shot)
12/02 - +1 - 4.7
12/02 - +2 - 4.8
Note: Carson is always fed 3.0oz of canned Purina DM, pre-shot.
So, my question is - should I have given him the full 2.5u of the Lantus, leaving HC food down, knowing that he was on the rise (albeit slowly) or was I right to keep him off the dose? Time will really tell this evening when I get home, but I thought it was better to be safe than sorry.
Any advice would be much appreciated!
He is reacting VERY well to the 2.5u (see the last 48 hours below) and this morning his AMPS was 4.4mmol/L. I was too nervous to give him a dosage as I was going to work, but tested him at +1 4.7mmol/L and +2 4.8mmol/L. I was playing all the scenarios in my head and why I should give him the full 2.5u, but caved and decided to leave him until I get back home.
Carson's BG -
11/30 - AMPS - 22.4 (2u)
11/30 - PMPS - 21.8 (2.5u)
11/30 +2 - 18.3
12/01 - AMPS - 15.7 (2.5u)
12/01 - +1.5 - 10.7
12/01 - PMPS - 18.9 (2.5u)
12/01 - +3.5 - 9.9
12/02 - AMPS - 4.2 (no shot)
12/02 - +1 - 4.7
12/02 - +2 - 4.8
Note: Carson is always fed 3.0oz of canned Purina DM, pre-shot.
So, my question is - should I have given him the full 2.5u of the Lantus, leaving HC food down, knowing that he was on the rise (albeit slowly) or was I right to keep him off the dose? Time will really tell this evening when I get home, but I thought it was better to be safe than sorry.
Any advice would be much appreciated!