New

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jeannee and Nuggie

Member Since 2011
Hi, I just found this website. Had diagnosis about 3 weeks ago. Doing good. Had curve done last Monday - had to up dosage and suppose to do another curve in a couple weeks. I think I will do myself. Not sure I understand the process. I understand prick the ear - but I need a monitor and strips? confused_cat
 
Yes, you can use the same meters that human diabetics use, although there is a pet one available at some vets. But most members use over the counter ones you can buy at Wal-Mart, like the Reli-On brand, which has fairly reasonably priced strips. Usually the meters don't come with strips, so make sure you buy them too. And the meters usually come with lancet devices to stick the ear with, but you'll need extra lancets. If you can't get comfortable using the lancet device, you can use some lancets like the BD brand freehand.

Other meter brands that people have good luck with are the One Touch Ultras and AccuCheck Aviva. Look for one that takes a very small amount of blood - usually they list that on the box. I think the Reli-On and Aviva take a very small amount of blood. I have been using an Aviva for a couple years now and I really like it. It does not need near as much blood as other meters and I feel it is very accurate.

If cost is a factor for you, the Reli-On has been proven very reliable for the price. Hence the name I guess! Always compare prices of strips between meter brands, as they vary quite a bit.

Hope that gets you going. When you're ready, we can give you tips like how to warm the ear to get blood easier.
 
We do have 'newbie kits' for people who need to get it all at once and have financial needs. you only pay for shipping and if you can a donation.
check out the sight to order at the bottom of my post. there is a link to 'newbie kits'
you will have everything you need to test and a vial of strips to boot! also a rice sock to help warm the ear and get it to bleed easier.
can you tell us the insulin you are using
the type of food you are feeding
the dose you are giving
and if you know it the numbers on your curve

and welcome to the club...the club of sugar kitties and their beans.
 
Hi Rocel135, and, of course, your extra-sweet cat (name would be good...),

It's okay to be confused. Actually, I think confused is encouraging. I was a complete train wreck when Giz was diagnosed extra-sweet way back when! Not so much with Nikki, since she adopted me; because we basically both knew we were going to be sugar dancing in advance...

Vicky and Lori have given you the supply scoop. I'll just add Vaseline -- a little smear on that wafer-thin furry ear helps bead that tiny bit of blood for your meter test strip to sip... Okay, I'll add treats too -- both for you and your sweet furry (name...)...

I think it's great you're going to be doing this yourself! Great! Why? Because a lot of cats experience vet stress, so those BG (blood glucose) numbers may be higher at the vet's office than they would be at home in his/her normal comfy environment. Think of a furry version of white coat syndrome that many people experience going to their doctor, and you pretty much get the picture...

Then, think about upping the insulin dosage as a result of the possibly inflated BG readings due to vet stress at the vet's office. Hmmm...

This is why it is so great you're going to be doing this yourself. A truly lovely knowledgeable individual here used to always say, "Knowledge is power." It is...

Welcome to the place you never wanted to be; but, will be blessed for having found.

Encouraging hugs for you Rocel135 and your sweet furry (name?),
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz, forever dancing in my heart...

PS: Things to be answering when asked (and, you will be asked...): What insulin and what dose? What are you feeding? Age, any other medical issues...

PPS: You could also post your general location (no specifics necessary) because one of us may live near you and be able to show you how to home test. I'm in Northern NJ if that helps. Just did this recently and must say, it was an experience getting blood from a very spirited cat's ear! But, the moment that melted my heart, dear Rocel135? It was watching his mom get blood on her first try; and, then, she just looked me straight in the eyes and smiled...
 
Thank you everyone. I really appreciate the info. I want to do the testing this weekend. Because of my work schedule, I don't have a lot of days I can spend doing this. And he has been on his "upped" dosage for 2 weeks and is due. His name is "Snuggles" like the fabric softener bear because when I first met him and picked him up, he started snuggling - but through baby talk, his name morphed into "Nuggie-Nu". I adopted him when he was about 3 months old and he just turned 9 on March 30. He has always been a big boy, but now weighs 20 lbs. He has 2 siblings - one a year older and a baby who will turn 2 soon. He has been interacting with them more lately. He has been eating Fancy Feast marinated morsels and whatever dry food I had a coupon for, but now he is eating the dietetic dry food (which the baby tries to cover with a rug). And I also have dietetic can food which I will try in the next few days. He gets 4 units of insulin every 12 hrs. I haven't told/asked the vet about me doing this myself yet. I'll prob call before I do it. I hope all 3 of you who responded to me can see this. Not use to this site yet.
 
Good Morning and Welcome to the FDMB Family,

I know you said a human insulin, but there are at least 3 of those that I know of that are prescribed for kitties...Humulin N, Lantus and Levermir, if you could look at Mr. Snuggles' bottle and tell us which one that will help us a lot help you to help Mr. Snuggles. The two L's are the perferred insulin here for cats, while some have done well on the Humulin N it is normally not a good insulin for felines, they metabolize it too quickly and it hits hard when first given which means it drops them fast but it peters out too quickly so the cat spends a lot of time on a rollercoaster ride.

Because frankly my first reaction was YIKES! You did say 4units twice a day so thats 8units in total per day right? Just want to make sure we are on the same page where dosing is concerned. If that is the case that is an awful lot of insulin for a newly dxed kitty. Most cats here do very well on no more that 2-4 units for the whole day. No while there are cats that require large doses of insulin but they have other health concerns going on.

If Snuggles doesn't have any other health problems then there is a good chance that he is getting too much insulin and the dry food is the only thing keeping him from going hypo right now. But you aren't going to want to change his diet until you have a meter and can home test. Now you see I mentioned yet another diet change and here is why. Dry food, any and all dry food is bad for a diabetic cat. Way to high in carbs. We promote feeding them an all canned wet food diet, and you don't need the fancy and expensive prescription vet food either. My own sugar cat Maxwell was at 485 when he was diagnosed with diabetes, within 2 weeks of a diet change to the low carb/ high protein diet and a short course of a low dose of insulin Maxwell has been diet controlled now for going on 7 months. (no insulin).

I'm sure there are other things that I meant to post here, but as I've not had my coffee yet, my brain is still asleep but I did want to pop in and welcome you and Mr Snuggles to the best place on the web that you never wanted to be. And to make sure that I read that dose right.

Mel, Max & The Fur Gang
 
Cincinnati, OH help for home testing demos!

Dear Rocel135, and, of course, you too, sweet Snuggles! (Nuggie-Nu to your mommy...)

Rocel135 said:
He has been eating Fancy Feast marinated morsels and whatever dry food I had a coupon for, but now he is eating the dietetic dry food (which the baby tries to cover with a rug). And I also have dietetic can food which I will try in the next few days.

Are we talking Purina DM or Hill's W/D? As dearest Mel mentioned, you don't need to feed prescription food. Here's links to Janet and Binky's Famous Food Charts which will give you far less expensive and much better quality food options, for all three of your kidimals!
New:
http://binkyspage.tripod.com/CanFoodNew.html
Old:
http://binkyspage.tripod.com/CanFoodOld.html

And, dear Rocel135, when you wrote "(which the baby tries to cover with a rug)", I just burst out laughing! Although my precious Giz swore by Purina DM, and it was truly the only cat food she'd actually eat (go figure!), most cats here don't want it. As for Hill's W/D? Giz wouldn't even stay in the same room with it!


Rocel135 said:
He gets 4 units of insulin every 12 hrs. I haven't told/asked the vet about me doing this myself yet. I'll prob call before I do it. I hope all 3 of you who responded to me can see this. Not use to this site yet.
Again, to quote Mel, YIKES! indeed! That's a lot of insulin, particularly when you're shooting (giving insulin) blind. And, adding in the food change... Oh dear...

Please trust me, dear Rocel135, you do not need permission or authorization from Snuggles' vet to home test. It's something you, as his loving mommy, chooses to pro-actively do to make sure he's safe. Just like a mom of a child who has just been diagnosed with juvenile diabetes...

A lot of drug stores (CVS, Walgreens, etc.) and mass-merchandisers (Wal-Mart, Target, etc.) have either free meter kits, or free after rebate. The kits generally come with 10 test strips and lancets. If you order a newbie kit from Lori and Tom's sticky up at the top of this page (just costs you postage), having the free/free after rebate kit in advance will buy you time until your newbie kit arrives. Five days/nights of home testing time. Five days/nights of peace of mind... Peace of mind is a most wonderful gift!


Rocel135 said:
Oh, (you can't see the prev posts when you reply). Human insulin and I live in Cincinnati, OH.
Scroll down below the window where you are typing. You can see the previous posts of who has replied and what they have to say. The FDMB was my first message board experience as well... And, I've survived three different generations of it!

What Human insulin? Humulin N, Lantus, or Levemir? Please let us know as soon as you possibly can! One is completely different (N) than the other two (Lantus and Levemir).

Damn, I wish you lived closer to me. I'd not only show you how to home test, I'd hug you! Dearest Rocel135, there may be others near you who can and might be able to do the same. You are not alone. You can do this. Trust me! Better yet, trust your love for Nuggie-Nu...

Love and countless encouraging hugs for you, Snuggles, and his two furry buddies,
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz, forever dancing in my heart...
 
Purina DM. Insulin says "ProZinc (potamine zinc recombinant human insulin)". About the vaseline - I guess vaseline and blood don't mix, so I don't have to worry about the vas contaminating the blood???

I looked at the food chart. I will study it more later. What we want is high protien/low carb, right? What do your cats like?

Getting ready to go get my supplies now.

Yes, it's 4 units twice a day. Maybe because he is so big? I don't think he is getting too much, because the last 24 hours I've noticed him at the water bowl a lot again.

I'll try to put his pic up later.

Thanks again!!!
 
if going to walmart and buying either the micro or confirm Relion meter. the strips are the cheapest for this meter. make sure to get some lancets and check if the lancing device comes in the package you can pick up some special kitty there. it is not the highest grade but finances only permit me to use this. buy the super supper, mixed grill or turkey and giblets. the first 2 come in the larger cans. my walmart no longer carries the last one in the large cans. can also get the fancy feast classics there also. the do carry 9 lives and friskies but not sure which ones are lower carb <10% without checking the charts that were provided above message.
I live in PGH pa and maybe we can meet up if you need hands on help. I have a friend that loves to travel and of course, you are welcome to our annual get together in august at my place. folks come from far and wide
 
As far as flavors of Friskies that the kids here eat, we feed Turkey and Giblets, Poultry platter, country-style dinner, mariner's catch, ocean whitefish & tuna, supreme supper, mixed grill and Sea captain's choice.

9-lives (which is on sale right now) we feed Chicken Dinner, Super Supper, Liver & Bacon, Chicken & Tuna Dinner, Seafood Platter, & Ocean Whitefish Dinner.

Mine would love me to feed them all Fancy Feast Classics as well but with 11 I'm not opening that many 3oz cans..lol But they are also and excellent choice if you aren't feeding a petting zoo.

Mel, Max and the Fur Gang
 
Hello ALL!
WE just found out that BEAN has this too!!! only since Monday, So, I am a newbie too! Glad to hear that you can help Snuggles! And I too went to Lori's site and I am expecting a meter soon. Any help that any of you can give.... THANK YOU FROM SUGAR BEAN AND HER MOM!
 
I had to go to Walgreens today so bought their brand meter. My first attempt didn't go well. First I got no blood, then I did, and got a meter error. I tried it on myself and it worked fine. Also I used the warm washcloth in a baggie to warm the ear and I suspect the noise from that wasn't good. He didn't like it. Then I registered at the gallery and hoped to upload a pic, but I don't see an option to do that. Maybe I am just tired. Will try all again tomorrow.
 
What worked the best for us when it came to home testing is a rice sock which is a thinnish cotton sock (baby sock) filled about 2/3 full of plain white rice (not instant) and then knotted at the top. Then thrown in the microwave for about 20 secs or until it is very warm but not hot. I usually check it on my own neck. Then I use that to warm up Maxwell ear plus it gives me something firm to poke against.

Others have used small medicine vials filled with warm water.

Mel, Max & The Fur Gang
 
Looks like you all were right. Thank goodness I tested today. I checked my meter again and it is working correctly. I got a successful reading 4 hours after the 3pm meal (and 3:30 pm insulin) and it was only 48 mg/dL, 8 hrs after meal it was 57 mg/dL. Then he ate at 3:00am (because of my horrid work schedule) and about 20 min after he was done eating I got another reading - 89 mg/dL. So I am not giving him his insulin shot. I hope I am doing the right thing and that there is not something I'm not understanding.

When he did his curve at the vet's a couple weeks ago his highest reading was around 400. I know stress play a role, but that is quite a difference. Of course, he's been on the 2x4 units for about 2 weeks since then.

Momma of Muse - before I read your message I made a rice sock with instant - that's all I have anyway. It worked. I will get some reg though.

All of you and your babies have a great Easter!!!!
 
Dear Rocel135, and, of course, you too, maybe not so sweet Nuggie,

Rocel135&Nuggie said:
Thank goodness I tested today. I checked my meter again and it is working correctly. I got a successful reading 4 hours after the 3pm meal (and 3:30 pm insulin) and it was only 48 mg/dL, 8 hrs after meal it was 57 mg/dL. Then he ate at 3:00am (because of my horrid work schedule) and about 20 min after he was done eating I got another reading - 89 mg/dL. So I am not giving him his insulin shot. I hope I am doing the right thing and that there is not something I'm not understanding.
Yes! You are doing the right thing! And, yes, thank goodness you tested today! Better too high for a little while than too low for a heartbeat...

An easier way to post Nuggie's readings would be something like this... PM (evening because of your work schedule) PS (pre shot reading). Since you just started testing -- and, bless you Rocel! -- your first readings would look something like:
PM PS -- ???, 4 units PZI, fed whatever
48 -- +3.5 (3-1/2 hours after shot, you just have to put +3.5)
57 -- +7.5 (7-1/2 hours after shot, ditto but +7.5)
AM PS -- 89, no shot, fed whatever

Rocel135&Nuggie said:
When he did his curve at the vet's a couple weeks ago his highest reading was around 400. I know stress play a role, but that is quite a difference. Of course, he's been on the 2x4 units for about 2 weeks since then.
Yes, it is quite a difference. Then factor in his diet change and being tested in his own home... Thank goodness you tested today! Welcome to the Vampire Club! Bet you never thought you'd hear those words...

And, if Nuggie should need insulin in the coming days, please consider two things: 1. Reduce his dose, and, 2. Cross post both here and on the PZI Support Group forum here on the Board. Just look for Insulin Support Groups on the Board index and you'll find the PZI group...



As for instant rice... Recently drove up to Rockland County, NY to help a worried mom learn how to home test. Her dad graciously donated a sock to the cause. She had bought "boil in a bag" rice, which although I like to eat, wasn't sure how it would handle being nuked. It was a thick guy sock and a lesser wattage microwave, so I went for 20 seconds. When that sock came out steaming, I just looked at her and said, we don't use steaming socks on our cat's ears... I waited until it no longer steamed and put it against my cheek. Said, we're good to go now! I was touched when she put the sock against her cheek before it was her turn to test... She got blood on her first try!



Happy Easter to you, Nuggie, and his furry siblings!

Much love and countless encouraging hugs for you both,
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz, forever dancing in my heart...
 
I am so glad to see that you got a meter and thankfully tested before giving him anymore insulin...Yes you did everything right....Welcome to the Vampire Club!!

Now that you have a meter and can test at home, no more having to drag poor Snuggles back and forth to the vet's for those curves, because you can do them at home. It is really very simple when you want to do a curve you simply pick a day that you will be home and awake for a 12 hour cycle, then test every two hours. To date my vet hasn't even seen Maxwell in the fur except when we went in to do a demo on home testing for them...There has been just no reason to go, he was up to date on all his shots when I got him and already neutered and except for having diabetes there has been nothing physically wrong with him. He came with his Lantus so between what I had already learned here with my first sugarcat and the help of the kind folks here, I got all the help I needed to get him into remission.

Now you are going to want to test him before every shot (should he need them). Usually with newbies such as yourself we recommend a no shoot number of 200. If he isn't close to that when you test, if you have the time, wait and retest in about 30 minutes. Once you start getting data we can help you decide when and how much to shoot on those lower numbers. But right now the numbers you have gotten are non-diabetic numbers, so there is a very good chance with the diet change you could end up with a kitty that is diet controlled.

We will be keeping our fingers and paws crossed that Snuggles continues to give you those nice low numbers and not have to be getting shots twice a day. But when in doubt post here and someone will be around to help out. Just start a new thread with a topic heading like AMPS 158 on Lantus- dosing advice needed...that way those of us with the experience in your insulin can jump in quickly to give you the advice you need.

Mel, Max & The Fur Gang.
 
Great job - congratulations on being a proactive mama. Glad you did the testing and hopefully you can try lowering the dose now. If you can let us know your latest numbers (and what dose you gave) that would be great.

Rocel135&Nuggie said:
Looks like you all were right. Thank goodness I tested today. I checked my meter again and it is working correctly. I got a successful reading 4 hours after the 3pm meal (and 3:30 pm insulin) and it was only 48 mg/dL, 8 hrs after meal it was 57 mg/dL. Then he ate at 3:00am (because of my horrid work schedule) and about 20 min after he was done eating I got another reading - 89 mg/dL. So I am not giving him his insulin shot. I hope I am doing the right thing and that there is not something I'm not understanding.

When he did his curve at the vet's a couple weeks ago his highest reading was around 400. I know stress play a role, but that is quite a difference. Of course, he's been on the 2x4 units for about 2 weeks since then.

Momma of Muse - before I read your message I made a rice sock with instant - that's all I have anyway. It worked. I will get some reg though.

All of you and your babies have a great Easter!!!!
 
Thanks so much Deb, MommaofMuse and SaraJaye! I am a worrier by nature anyway and I sure don't want to jeapardize Nuggie's health by doing something stupid! Had company here today and so Nuggie was hiding. Gave him something to eat at 8 pm and at 9pm his reading was 71. I will go over how you told me to record this.
 
Dear Rocel, and, of course, you too, maybe not extra-sweet Nuggie,

Rocel135&Nuggie said:
Gave him something to eat at 8 pm and at 9pm his reading was 71.
Be still my hopeful heart...

Much love and countless hopeful hugs for you both,
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz, forever dancing in my heart...
 
Keeping fingers and paws crossed, but getting the OTJ dancers ready :-D

BTW 2 weeks of those double digit numbers and we can start dancing.

I think being a worrier by nature is called being a momma, doesn't matter if our kids have fur or flesh. Mommas worry! lol

Mel, Max & The Fur Gang
 
Well, even though the numbers are still below 100 (so I have not been giving insulin), he seems to be peeing more again and maybe drinking more(?) I am so paranoid, I jump and look everytime I hear a lapping sound! So vet said bring him and my meter in Monday to compare to the readings on their $80 cat meter. Tomorrow I am going to go buy the Rely-On meter at WMt and try that - then I guess bring both to the vet Monday. I did buy some of the Friskies that had good pro/carb on that list and was pleasantly surprised. They like and I am getting more for my money than the FF. [I wish this was more like FB were you could like always be there.] I still haven't figured how to get his pic up. Mine have too many pixels(?) I wonder if there is a diebetic cat page on FB ... think I will check ... there's everything else!!!

What are the OTJ dancers????
 
Hey, I did find felinediebetes on FB and joined the group. I'll put Nuggie's pic there. On FB I use my real name Jeanne Rose Jones - Rocel is a name I put together a long time ago and use online.
 
What are the OTJ dancers????

Well OTJ dancers are all the other kitties here that are honeymooning at the Falls ( cats that have gone into remission and are diet controlled). They just love to sneak on the computer when we aren't watching then they grab their pom poms :RAHCAT and shake their tails dancing_cat to celebrate another kitty joining them at the Falls.

We have an awful lot of OTJ cats here and they are just such a bunch of party animals that they will even invite their civie (non-diabetic) housemates to help out with th celebrations. SO when another cat goes into remission we see a lot of this from them:
:RAHCAT dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat :RAHCAT dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat lol

Mel, Max & The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top