Lizzysdad
Member Since 2012
Thanks to all of you who post here. It is extremely helpful!
Lizzy was diagnosed two weeks ago at a BG of 325. Our vet prescribed Lantus 1u twice daily. We have an AlphaTrak meter and I did the first home tests last night and this AM. Lizzy tested at 73 last night +2 hr. This AM when I went to test before breakfast I had trouble and couldn't draw blood so I fed her. 15 minutes after eating I decided to try again and she tested at 147. My vet said no shot if she is below 150, so no shot this AM.
Our vet put her on Hills m/d and I feed 1/2 can twice a day. (I am not a fan of Hills, hence my questions.)
My food questions are:
1. Do you feed the exact same food every day or do you rotate flavors?
2. If you change, how often do you feed one type before changing?
3. Do you change brands once-in-a-while?
I would prefer to feed the foods Dr. Lisa recommends ohe's one of e foods on the Binky chart.
Thank you!
Lizzy was diagnosed two weeks ago at a BG of 325. Our vet prescribed Lantus 1u twice daily. We have an AlphaTrak meter and I did the first home tests last night and this AM. Lizzy tested at 73 last night +2 hr. This AM when I went to test before breakfast I had trouble and couldn't draw blood so I fed her. 15 minutes after eating I decided to try again and she tested at 147. My vet said no shot if she is below 150, so no shot this AM.
Our vet put her on Hills m/d and I feed 1/2 can twice a day. (I am not a fan of Hills, hence my questions.)
My food questions are:
1. Do you feed the exact same food every day or do you rotate flavors?
2. If you change, how often do you feed one type before changing?
3. Do you change brands once-in-a-while?
I would prefer to feed the foods Dr. Lisa recommends ohe's one of e foods on the Binky chart.
Thank you!