Picknickchick
Member Since 2013
Hello, my 14 year old boy River was diagnosed with pancreatitis and diabetes. I have been giving him Lantus, and doing home testing. He eats mostly canned Wellness no-grain chicken or turkey (low carb), low carb homemade raw turkey and rabbit food, and sometimes Orijen kibble. He has a good appetite and weighs 5.5 kilos/12 lbs.
About six weeks ago, he became very sick, and I saw that he had ketones in his urine and rushed him to the hospital. He was diagnosed with pancreatitis, and possibly IBD. I suspect that he became allergic to the food I was giving him, as I had been giving him a raw beef diet for his whole life. I didn't know until then that beef is a common allergen for cats. Now that he's getting a different diet, he is getting better. This week I got a second ultrasound, and his pancreas looks better.
But there is still a problem, and I think that is with his insulin dose. I guess that as his pancreas heals, and he does better on his new diet, he will need less insulin. His numbers are getting so low that he is going into hypo territory, and this worries me. Plus his curves seem really "bouncy" with big highs and lows. Here are his curves, in mmoL/L
Sunday August 11
7 AM preshot19.8
8 AM 2.5 units glargine
11 AM 16.5
2 PM 11.5
5 PM 12.4
8 PM preshot 27.9
8:20 PM 26.2
8:30 2.5 units glargine
9 PM 28.9
4 AM 22.7
8 AM preshot 22.3
8 AM 2.5 units
11 AM 18.7
2 PM 16.6
When we spoke, the vet recommended increasing the dose to 3 units. She said to not be upset about the high 8 PM readings, as I could expect flareups from a cat with pancreatitis.
Sunday August 18
8 AM 3 units
10 AM 8.4
12 PM 4.7 - at this point I gave River 2 pieces of sweet potato with Karo and called the clinic
2 PM 6.6
5 PM 10.2
7 PM 18.9
7:15 PM 2.5 units - clinic said to reduce insulin to 2.5 units
Monday August 19
8 AM 2.5 units
10 AM 22.7
Went for checkup and ultrasound and vet recommended increasing back to 3 units for AM and 2.5 for PM shot. She said he was "well controlled" but I didn't think so.
7 PM 27.3
7:15 3 units - I gave 3 units because he was so high.
I emailed vet and said that ongoing, I am anxious about giving 3 units in the day because he's going into hypo range, and would prefer to do 2.5 units twice a day. Would this be ok? She did not respond.
Tuesday August 20
7 AM 15.6
8 AM 3 units
10 AM 13.1
12 PM 9.7
2 PM 5.4
3 PM 4.8 - Because his numbers continued to go down, I gave him some kibble and two small pieces of sweet potato with honey.
5 PM 7.1
8 PM - Just before his preshot reading, he had what I am guessing is a seizure! He was lying beside where I was writing on the table, and his eyes looked all wrong: tiny pupils and third eyelid partly covering. I called him, and shook him gently, and he was completely limp and didn't seem to be breathing. I started giving him mouth to mouth, and he suddenly came awake, and stood up. I picked him up in my arms and he shook himself so that he almost jumped out of my arms. I put him down on the deck, and he walked a bit. We went inside, and when I touched him he jumped and shook a bit; super-sensitive to touch. I thought he might be hypo so I got the Karo and stuck some in his mouth, and then got some rabbit/turkey raw food, which he was happy to eat. I was freaked out, and called vet to see if I should give him his 8PM shot, and what to do. They said to reduce the shot to 2.5 units.
Wednesday (today)
6:20 preshot 24.4
8 AM 2.5 units
10 AM 20.4
I don't know what to do except to keep him at 2.5 and see how that works, and find a vet who takes hypo a bit more seriously. Is there anything we can do about these big highs and lows? I know part of this is that he is recovering.
About six weeks ago, he became very sick, and I saw that he had ketones in his urine and rushed him to the hospital. He was diagnosed with pancreatitis, and possibly IBD. I suspect that he became allergic to the food I was giving him, as I had been giving him a raw beef diet for his whole life. I didn't know until then that beef is a common allergen for cats. Now that he's getting a different diet, he is getting better. This week I got a second ultrasound, and his pancreas looks better.
But there is still a problem, and I think that is with his insulin dose. I guess that as his pancreas heals, and he does better on his new diet, he will need less insulin. His numbers are getting so low that he is going into hypo territory, and this worries me. Plus his curves seem really "bouncy" with big highs and lows. Here are his curves, in mmoL/L
Sunday August 11
7 AM preshot19.8
8 AM 2.5 units glargine
11 AM 16.5
2 PM 11.5
5 PM 12.4
8 PM preshot 27.9
8:20 PM 26.2
8:30 2.5 units glargine
9 PM 28.9
4 AM 22.7
8 AM preshot 22.3
8 AM 2.5 units
11 AM 18.7
2 PM 16.6
When we spoke, the vet recommended increasing the dose to 3 units. She said to not be upset about the high 8 PM readings, as I could expect flareups from a cat with pancreatitis.
Sunday August 18
8 AM 3 units
10 AM 8.4
12 PM 4.7 - at this point I gave River 2 pieces of sweet potato with Karo and called the clinic
2 PM 6.6
5 PM 10.2
7 PM 18.9
7:15 PM 2.5 units - clinic said to reduce insulin to 2.5 units
Monday August 19
8 AM 2.5 units
10 AM 22.7
Went for checkup and ultrasound and vet recommended increasing back to 3 units for AM and 2.5 for PM shot. She said he was "well controlled" but I didn't think so.
7 PM 27.3
7:15 3 units - I gave 3 units because he was so high.
I emailed vet and said that ongoing, I am anxious about giving 3 units in the day because he's going into hypo range, and would prefer to do 2.5 units twice a day. Would this be ok? She did not respond.
Tuesday August 20
7 AM 15.6
8 AM 3 units
10 AM 13.1
12 PM 9.7
2 PM 5.4
3 PM 4.8 - Because his numbers continued to go down, I gave him some kibble and two small pieces of sweet potato with honey.
5 PM 7.1
8 PM - Just before his preshot reading, he had what I am guessing is a seizure! He was lying beside where I was writing on the table, and his eyes looked all wrong: tiny pupils and third eyelid partly covering. I called him, and shook him gently, and he was completely limp and didn't seem to be breathing. I started giving him mouth to mouth, and he suddenly came awake, and stood up. I picked him up in my arms and he shook himself so that he almost jumped out of my arms. I put him down on the deck, and he walked a bit. We went inside, and when I touched him he jumped and shook a bit; super-sensitive to touch. I thought he might be hypo so I got the Karo and stuck some in his mouth, and then got some rabbit/turkey raw food, which he was happy to eat. I was freaked out, and called vet to see if I should give him his 8PM shot, and what to do. They said to reduce the shot to 2.5 units.
Wednesday (today)
6:20 preshot 24.4
8 AM 2.5 units
10 AM 20.4
I don't know what to do except to keep him at 2.5 and see how that works, and find a vet who takes hypo a bit more seriously. Is there anything we can do about these big highs and lows? I know part of this is that he is recovering.