New Vet update...Woot!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Teresa and Poopy

Very Active Member
Going to stick with the 1.4u and taking Poopy to his new vet today! Woot!

Did the vet interview questions and was pleased with the answers:

(Short version)
How many diabetic cat patients: 8
Insulins recommended? PZI and Lantus
Home testing view?: A few clients do it and send or bring them in for consult

Was going to revisit the long time vet to share my file of research and Poopy's SS, but my friends and honey have all said, "Why spend your money where they tear your head off if you don't automatically obey them?" Valid point. Although I'd still like to share the info with them and hopefully further their education for future kitties with diabetes. Maybe a letter with the info and why I switched vets?
 
Re: 1/14 AMPS 236...not bad! And new vet! Woot!

First and foremost, YAY on the AMPS. Not bad at all!

It's funny you posted your vet interview questions as I am interested in the long version! LOL IT could be very helpful to many of us.
I am also in the process of switching vets and faxed to my new prospect Jax's SS along with a few nuggets of info in what I'm seeking.

1. Supportive of home testing.​
2. Willingness to supply me with U100's (very important to me!).​
3. A willingness to step outside the box and not give me a blanket dx of "shoot 3U 2x per day" while pushing me out the door.​

Will see if this new vet bites or decides to pass. I read DH my letter and he just shook his head and I think may have mumbled something along the lines of ...crazy. :lol:

Maybe so, but I know a vet that fits my needs is out there. I just have to find him or her.
 
Re: 1/14 AMPS 236...not bad! And new vet! Woot!

LOL! Longer version:

When I called, I said I was looking for a vet in such and such an area (as if I was new to the area) and was hearing good things about them. (I was pleased she answered the phone with also giving her name - something my old vet office did NOT do and had half a dozen folks answering the phones.) She thanked me for sharing the good reviews. I shared I had a diabetic cat, which needed more care than the usual annual visits. She agreed. I asked if they had other diabetic kitty patients and she said yes. I asked how many. She didn't know off the top of her head and said she'd need to ask the doc. I said that was fine and I also needed to know what insulins they recommended. I could hear a male voice in the background as if walking up to her and she had to put me on hold.

When she came back a moment later, I could hear the male voice receding. (I assume it was the vet due to her following info.) She told me they have 8 diabetic cats in their care and they use PZI and Lantus (good news so far!). I told her I had one more question, which seems to get a response in one extreme or the other. She and I both laughed, and I asked where they stood on home testing for blood glucose levels. Her immediate response was something like, "Oh! We have a few clients who send or bring in their sheets for consult all the time!" as if that was no big deal (not a huge no-no as the long time vet ripped off my head about).

So, it's possible they just tolerate the home testing but that's a huge step in the right direction for me. I am NOT fond of paying hard earned money I don't have to spare to begin with to someone who wants to treat me like an idiot and read me the riot act.

The really good news...this vet office is as close as the old one...just in the opposite direction. :-D

8 diabetic cats doesn't sound like a lot but considering where I live that could be considered a huge amount! I live in a distressed area (very low income per capita, and a high non-English speaking population) so the cost of caring for a diabetic cat would lead me to believe most opt not to do it (due to not being able to afford it). We shall see in a couple of hours. :smile:

Wish us luck! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/14 AMPS 236...not bad! And new vet! Woot!

Wishing you and Poopy good luck at the new vet...hope you will be pleased with their view on treating FD.
 
Re: 1/14 AMPS 236...not bad! And new vet! Woot!

Hope is goes well at the new vet. I'm going this week to a new one too. Looking forward to hearing what happened at yours

Lori
 
Re: 1/14 AMPS 236...not bad! And new vet! Woot!

Hopefully your new vet experience will be a great one. We went thru a switch about a year ago. My old vet would reprimand me until I cried. I put up with it 3 times, then had enough and went to my Mom’s cat’s vet. It’s 45 mins away but he is kind and works with us. I can email him with questions, he’s really wonderful.
So it will work out for you one way or another. There are good and kind vets out there. You are the consumer. You must be happy.
 
Unbelievable! What a difference! OMG! :mrgreen:

This is going to be jumbled, I am so excited!

He LOVED the spreadsheet, and he went over it with a fine toothed comb, too! Said I had GREAT data (his emphasis). Told me not to change a thing, other than to....get this....Breathe! LOL

He said I could go easy on the testing, keeping it to three times a day (pre and a nadir). Said I did great getting Poopy on a good level and he wouldn't change a thing.

Poopy gained 7 oz. since his last visit on the 26th (but I swear he's filled out quite a bit. His halter is almost snug again...(maybe muscle rebuilding?)..so I thought he'd weigh more.

Vet was glad I tested Poopy before coming in as Vet visits tend to skyrocket BG readings for cats. Hehehehe

Vet has a child with diabetes, so we talked about being a new "parent" to diabetes and how we can be a touch over vigilant (with another reminder to breathe and what a great job I've been doing with Poopy).

Just a GREAT visit!

dancing_cat :thumbup party_cat

On another note, Poopy was his normal, grumpy, "Get away from me NOW!" self at the vet's. Didn't phase the vet a bit! He examined Poopy without sedation! Double Woot! Even thoroughly feeling Poopy's tummy (which Poopy hates with a passion!)!

I'm so excited...I just can't hide it.....
 
Oh! We also talked about when Poopy's pre falls below 200 and I adjust his dose down to 1.2u. Vet said to keep it up. :-D He also said not to pay too much attention to the occasional 300s as Poopy is a cat and it will happen. He said if it becomes a trend...three or more times in a row, to call him about changing dose.

Vet also said to come back in a month or two for a fruc. test (I'll do a curve at home, thank you very much) just to be sure how Poopy is doing.

Also talked about maybe going to Lantus after a while, since cats seem to have a better chance at remission (he was up on the latest stuff there, too!).

WOOHOO!
 
You hit the JACKPOT!!!

So glad your visit went so well. Maybe, just maybe, there is hope for many of us out there. Imagine that. :razz:
 
Of course there's hope!

I can't tell you how many vet's offices I spoke with, getting the same pat answers of the same old protocol (start on a dose, come back in two weeks to test and adjust dose, come back two weeks later to test and adjust dose, no home testing, etc.). I was truly getting discouraged.

BUT...there are so friggin many vet's in this area (the Greater Kansas City area is huge and has many "smaller" cities within), I could have called one every day of the year and probably wouldn't have called them all.
 
I'm really happy for you both. It's just amazing what a partnership can do in treating this disease!

We're celebrating right along with you :-D :-D
40285bd6-455c-4111-9eb4-2e7ff2c254da.jpg
 
Wonderful Teresa!!
so happy for the both of you
It makes a world of difference when you have a vet you can trust!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top