New user- prozinc

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Andrea8675309, Apr 2, 2022.

1. Andrea8675309

Andrea8675309 New Member

Hi there. My boy is 2 years old and recently diagnosed last week. His vet prescribed him 2 units of Prozinc and switching him to a wet food diet. Switched him to tiki cat because he hated fancy feast unfortunately. Anyways, my glucometer gets here tomorrow.
    Doesn’t 2 units seem a little high for starting out?
    Should I test him everyday consistently before meals? At what point do I not give it to him? Ahhh I feel so overwhelmed and just want to help him get into remission asap.

I wasn’t given any instructions other than how to inject his insulin.
    Thank you❤️

2. Angela & Cleo

Angela & Cleo Well-Known Member

Hi and welcome
    I am pretty new at all this as well but the people helping here are WONDERFUL KNOWLEDGEABLE and involved in helping us help our kitties.
    I suggest you start by reposting your introduction post in the Main forum (a lot more people monitoring there) with all the info and how your kitty was diagnosed. You will then get A TON of information on how to get started. It might be overwhelming at first but take it one step at a time (maybe even a half step at a time). Every thing that they will ask you to do...set up signature, spreadsheet, feeding and schedule, picking a dosing method, are all the stepping stones to help you the best that they can. @Diane Tyler's Mom will give you a wealth of introduction info.
    Good luck! Will see you around the forums.

Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  3. FrostD

FrostD Well-Known Member

I agree, lots of people to help on Main Forum, here is more specific questions once.youre up and running. I don't see a post over there yet but quickly - 2U is much too high, especially when doing a diet change.

Do you know if he had any ketones at diagnosis?

Have you given any shots yet?