New User Needing Help with Dosing

Status
Not open for further replies.

KPassa

Member Since 2012
A new user posted in the wrong spot, so I wanted to make sure they didn't get lost in the shuffle. I've re-directed them to check here for response.

Re: Looking for advice with insulin dosing

tmandl said:
Hi. This is my first time on this site and I'm not sure if I'm asking my question in the right spot. I am pretty happy iIfound this message board and I really hope it helps Poo and I. Have spent thousands on vet bills and medical supplies and they still havent told me what a normal blood glucose is. So maybe someone here can help. My cat has diabetes and I have him on wet diabetic food and he gets 1 unit of lantus in the am and 1 unit in the pm. We have had a rough road with a lot of problems but we had a few days where things seemed stable. Then yesterday morning I gave his 1 unit after he ate and when I fed him 12 hours later(w.ith a little snack at noon) he vomited. I checked hios sugar and he was 2.7 but not really symptomatic. I gave him more food and he ate. But I held; his pm dose. During the night he got me up a few times and nefory I fed him , I checkedhis big and he was 4.1 and seemed to be acting normal just hungry. He ate a fair amount just now but I havent given his lantus yet. From what I read online, I think 4.1 is within a normal range for the am beforehe has eaten. So my question is should I hold his insulin? If he is diabetic and not in remission than he needs the insulin otherwise he will spike up and become symptomatic for hyperglycemia. However, I don't know if there's a number where i should hold it because I don't want to have a hypo episode.Any help you can give us would be great. I just wish there were some guild lines to follow like a sliding scale.
 
Unfortunately, Lantus is not the type of insulin where you can effectively use a sliding scale. Rather, Lantus works best if you give the same dose, twice a day. It's great you're home testing.

Normal blood glucose (BG) is 50 - 120mg/dL (2.8 - 6.7 mmol/L). With your cat's BG dropping to 2.7, you want to reduce the dose to 0.75u.

If your kitty is seeing numbers that are below 200 mg/dL (11.1 mmol/L), I don't know if you have the data to shoot. Most of us have a spreadsheet with our cat's BG test data. This provides us with a sense of the pattern our cat's BG follows as well as a sense of whether it's safe to shoot. We recommend that if ou get a pre-shot test that's under 200/11.1, you post and ask for help.

You might want to look over this set of instructions on Shooting & Handling Low Numbers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top