New Urinary Concern

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mary O

Member Since 2016
So this morning first thing Toes tested 197. I did not give her insulin, which means yesterday she only had .25 after her p.m. meal and did not need more this morning. Another worry I now have is this morning when she went to the litter box after I cleaned it she only went a very tiny amount. I saw her do this yesterday after I cleaned the litter box as well. There is not as much urine in the litter box and I thought that was a good sign. However, now I am worrying that I have seen her only pass a small amount two days in a row. I have another cat, so I am not sure if what the larger amounts I am seeing in the litter box are his and Toes isn't passing any urine.
 
Does she go to the box repeatedly trying to pee? Is she eating and drinking good? How does she seem to feel?
 
No, I have not seen her going to the box repeatedly. She is eating and drinking very well. She seems to be feeling great. Very friendly and wanting to be on my lap and wanting to be petted.
 
Glad she's feeling good! I have a kitty that pees small amounts, but that is normal for her. Having said that I'd keep an eye on her since diabetics can have a higher risk of UTI's. If you're concerned, see the vet, also if she needs an antibiotic, make sure there's no sugar in it(I learned that the hard way...). I give Colin D mannose, a supplement to help prevent and clear UTI's caused from E. coli.
 
Okay, I will keep a close eye on her. If it happens again today, I will probably take her into the vet. I just don't like to take her because it really stresses her out.
 
I think watching her is a good idea, especially for any straining or pain. It could be that the smaller amounts are a change because of her lower numbers and the wet diet (both can reduce the volume of urine). But catching a UTI early is wise.

I think skipping this am was fine. For future reference, you might stall next time, if you get a number close to 200. Wait 20 minutes without feeding and retest. You'd want to be sure the number is rising, not still falling, and that it is above 200. Then shoot a smidge less - maybe a couple drops less since she is getting tiny doses. Not for this morning, but might be something to have in your tool box going forward.

You are doing great. Are you feeling a little more comfortable with this sugar dance?
 
Wow! Toes is doing great considering how little insulin she gets. That's amazing. :)

Hmmm, I'd agree. Keep an eye on Toes for now..watch for any straining or frequent trips to the box. If you happen to catch her in the box, check when she's done to see what was produced. It could be that she is urinating less because she is feeling better.
 
I think watching her is a good idea, especially for any straining or pain. It could be that the smaller amounts are a change because of her lower numbers and the wet diet (both can reduce the volume of urine). But catching a UTI early is wise.

I think skipping this am was fine. For future reference, you might stall next time, if you get a number close to 200. Wait 20 minutes without feeding and retest. You'd want to be sure the number is rising, not still falling, and that it is above 200. Then shoot a smidge less - maybe a couple drops less since she is getting tiny doses. Not for this morning, but might be something to have in your tool box going forward.

You are doing great. Are you feeling a little more comfortable with this sugar dance?

I just tested +5 and she was at 233. I am a little unsure what you mean by stall next time if I get a number close to 200 and retest without feeding. First of all, I thought I was supposed to shoot if I was anything above 200, so if I tested 20 minutes later and it increased to over 200 would I want to shoot? Second question, I only gave her one drop last night, if she was above 200 after 20 minutes how could I give a smidge less? Also, if she rises above 200 like she has now 5 hours post morning reading and meal, do I give her insulin or wait until this evening?

I am getting used to testing and drawing blood, but I still am confused as to what the numbers mean and when I should give insulin??
 
Sorry, Mary. I didn't mean to confuse you. Sometimes, if you get a preshot near 200, instead of skipping which can mean a high number 12 hours later, you can stall. This wasn't an option this morning but could be in the future. Yes, we don't want you shooting below 200. But if the number is 197, that is only 3 points away from 200. If you didn't want to skip, you stall. Wait 20 minutes without feeding and retest. If it is 200+, then you could give a smaller dose than the cycle before. Does that make sense?

We would like, ultimately, for you to be able to give 2 shots 12 hours apart, so she is in nice ranges for 24 hours. That could mean giving a lower dose than 0.25 so you'd have two shootable numbers twice daily.

233 is a good number for +5, coming up very slowly with no shot this morning.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top