New & Unique Situation for Smudge

Status
Not open for further replies.
Did you print out the spreadsheet template from here to show them? I also noticed in your video you gave Hendrick some treats, what ones were they? (again sorry for all the questions! I hope to be as successful as you and Hendrick!)

Sorry totally missed this yesterday. No, I did not print it out I shared a link to Hendrick's spreadsheet, hosted on google docs.

So, regarding treats like many many people we used to give out temptations and greenies. But after Hendrick's Dx, we eliminated all dry food from the entire multi-cat household and all temptations and greenies. They used to go nuts for the treats so we began a search for new treats and as it turns out, there are several freeze-dried treats out there which are very low carb, even zero carb, that the cats love even more than they ever loved temptations or greenies!

After trying a bunch of low carb types, we landed on Whole Life chicken or turkey as their absolute favorite.

Purebites are also good: https://www.chewy.com/purebites-chicken-breast-freeze-dried/dp/612286

Or Stella and Chewy's freeze-dried dinner morsels, broken up into smaller bits. They go nuts for those too.

These treats are NOT mid-cycle snacks to be clear. A mid-cycle snack is just a low-carb canned/wet/raw meal, but a small one. Usually a couple tablespoons for my clan. For example I might take a full-sized can of food, around 180 calories, and split it up among 5-6 cats.
 
Last edited:
Some members use ketone meters
I know the test strips are kind of expensive
Here is one I see that some members use
https://www.adwdiabetes.com/product...MIxPXp7uGAgQMV7vbjBx2QRguXEAQYAiABEgLKJPD_BwE

Here is one that doesn't come with the glucose test strips like the one above
https://www.adwdiabetes.com/product/3400/nova-max-plus-glucose-ketone-meter-kit

Test strips
https://www.adwdiabetes.com/product/3398/nova-max-plus-ketone-test-strips
Diabetes Storewide Promotions
ADW5OFF
adw-coupon-adw5off.jpg

Take an additional $5.00 off all orders of $50.00 or more!

DIA10
adw-coupon-dia10.jpg

10% off your next order!

ADWKETONE5



Here is another one , have to buy the test strips separate
https://www.amazon.com/DSS-Precision-Glucose-Results-Included/dp/B00JIK6CIW/ref=sr_1_2?hvadid=177788502361&hvdev=t&hvlocphy=9003521&hvnetw=g&hvqmt=b&hvrand=4219662392123758501&hvtargid=kwd-477427537592&hydadcr=21691_9710897&keywords=blood ketone meter precision xtra&qid=1693276389&sr=8-2

Test strips I see they offer you different amounts to buy
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00XIBK8HS/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

Thank you so much for this. I bought the ones on Amazon since they have free returns and I just won't open them unless I have to. I just want to be fully prepared for him. <3
 
Yes, TR dosing is 12 hours apart dosing. TR just means you can increase the dose more quickly than with SLGS, which is important with DKA. And the reduction BG is lower with TR (50) for a human meter and 68 for a pet meter, where SLGS reduction BG is 90 for both the human and pet meters. We will help you with it.
You can read about TR and SLGS HERE

I've opened all your links and will be reading throughout my work day down time. Thank you (and @JL and Chip) specifically for this reminder about the human meter values, I needed it. I will definitely need everyone's help with TR dosing/timing, etc. and I want to thank everyone in advance for helping me through it. The units/ml/mmol per kg is still making my head spin a bit, but I will get it. I think I'm mostly thinking too much as I usually do.

I printed out the TR process and a copy of my spreadsheet to show my vet when I go to get him (I should know later this morning if he can come home today and I know *my* vet is there this afternoon so I can get discharged through him). I think he may be skeptical at first, but on board. I will leave the printed process with him so he can review it at his leisure over time. I will also be requesting a breakdown of the last 5 days tests and units given so I can add to my spreadsheet for everyone to review.
 
Sorry totally missed this yesterday. No, I did not print it out I shared a link to Hendrick's spreadsheet, hosted on google docs.

So, regarding treats like many many people we used to give out temptations and greenies. But after Hendrick's Dx, we eliminated all dry food from the entire multi-cat household and all temptations and greenies. They used to go nuts for the treats so we began a search for new treats and as it turns out, there are several freeze-dried treats out there which are very low carb, even zero carb, that the cats love even more than they ever loved temptations or greenies!

After trying a bunch of low carb types, we landed on Whole Life chicken or turkey as their absolute favorite.

Purebites are also good: https://www.chewy.com/purebites-chicken-breast-freeze-dried/dp/612286

Or Stella and Chewy's freeze-dried dinner morsels, broken up into smaller bits. They go nuts for those too.

These treats are NOT mid-cycle snacks to be clear. A mid-cycle snack is just a low-carb canned/wet/raw meal, but a small one. Usually a couple tablespoons for my clan. For example I might take a full-sized can of food, around 180 calories, and split it up among 5-6 cats.

No apologies necessary! I am thankful you even keep coming back here to answer me. :) I will order some of those freeze dried treats from Chewy - I actually got an apology 10% coupon from them today because they keep going out of stock on my CKD cat's rx wet food, so great timing. Any other recommendations from Chewy (not just food/treats, can be anything helpful for him to hit their $49 free shipping :))?
 
not that I can think of. I ordered my syringes from awdiabetes and other supplies like cotton rounds, lancets, and a headlamp with lenses from Amazon. In my video I am using my camping headlamp and a pair of readers, later we switched to an all-in-one device.

just a forum housekeeping note -- this thread has now reached over 50 replies so it is a good idea for you to start a new one soon and just link to this one in the first post.

The admins and mods prefer to keep threads around 50 replies at max.
 
not that I can think of. I ordered my syringes from awdiabetes and other supplies like cotton rounds, lancets, and a headlamp with lenses from Amazon. In my video I am using my camping headlamp and a pair of readers, later we switched to an all-in-one device.

just a forum housekeeping note -- this thread has now reached over 50 replies so it is a good idea for you to start a new one soon and just link to this one in the first post.

The admins and mods prefer to keep threads around 50 replies at max.
Will do. Should I move to the Lantus forum, since that is what he is coming home on? (Just got off the phone, definitely coming home this afternoon!!!)
 
depends on what you post. Lantus forum is for daily threads tracking Smudge's BGs and posting there is expected to be in a specific format (those daily threads are called condos btw...because that is where your cat lives) :smuggrin:

you might still post here if you have general questions about things.
 
depends on what you post. Lantus forum is for daily threads tracking Smudge's BGs and posting there is expected to be in a specific format (those daily threads are called condos btw...because that is where your cat lives) :smuggrin:

you might still post here if you have general questions about things.
Thanks! I will create a new thread here once I have him home with all of his info and I'll edit this post to link the two together as well. See you guys this afternoon!


New thread: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/smudge-is-home-how-to-start-tr.280987/
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top