NEW TO TR & LANTUS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Frosty

Member Since 2012
DC,PurrFace, diagnosed end of August. Vet put him on Humulin N (3U - 2X day) until we convinced him to research Lantus, thanks to FDMB. He did and agreed to go to Lantus. Prescribed 2U - 2X day but again thanks to input from FDMB members to SLGS we are doing only 1U - 2X day. Started Lqntus 9/25/12. I believe the spreadsheet is properly attached to my signature. Any review of the spreadsheet and feedback would be greatly appreciated. THANK YOU TO ALL AT FDMB FOR ALL OF THE HELP & SUPPORT YOU HAVE PROVIDED.
 
Both the spreadsheet and the profile page are working great, good job!

Welcome to LL. I saw the notes on the SS where you weren't able to get blood for the +6 test. That'll happen once in a while, but less so the more times you do it. Make sure and give a treat even when you don't get blood :smile: It will take a few days before you can determine what the dose is doing, so just stick with it and record the data as you can get it. Definitely test before every shot, and then if you can get a number "someplace in the middle" either AM or PM, that will help show you what the dose is doing over the course of 12 hours. It's that middle number that will reveal how effective the dose is.

As you've no doubt noticed, this is the busiest forum on the board, and there's at least 50 new threads a day. If you ever have a question that you need a quick answer to, just note that in your subject line. It gets "eyes" to the right place more quickly.

People who know a lot more about Lantus than I do will be along to say "hi", I just wanted to welcome you and wish you and PurrFace the best!

Carl
 
Thank you Carl. I bought some Freezed Dried Chicken Treats on advise from FDMB. I only give him them at shot time.
 
Welcome, welcome!!
You have found the best help there is for FD. :-D
Sounds like you've already gotten a good start.
We'll be checking in on you later. cat_pet_icon
 
Welcome to Lantus Land!!

My first suggestion is to pull up a chair and start reading the starred sticky notes at the top of the Board. They contain an overwhelming amount of information but they will help to get your oriented both to Lantus and to this Board. In brief, this is what the sticky notes contain:
  • Tight Regulation Protocol: This sticky contains the dosing protocol that we use here. There are also links to the more formal versions -- the Tilly Protocol developed by the counterpart of this group in Germany and the Queensland/Rand protocol developed by Jacqui Rand, DVM and published in one of the top vet journals.
  • New to the Group: Everything you wanted to know about this forum and more. Info on our slang, FAQs, links to sites on feline nutrition and to food charts containing carb counts, how to do a curve and the components to look for, important aspects of diabetes such as ketones, DKA, and neuropathy, and most important, info on hypoglycemia.
  • Handling Lantus: how to get the maximum use from your insulin and what to not do with it!
  • Lantus depot/shed: This is an important concept for understanding how Lantus works.
  • Lantus & Levemir: Shooting & Handling Low Numbers: What data you need in order to be able to work toward remission or tight regulation as well as information if you have a low pre-shot number or a drop into low numbers during the cycle.
Lantus is very different than Humulin N. Unlike N, Lantus dosing is based on the lowest point, the nadir, of the cycle. For this reason, it's important to get at least one test during both the AM and PM cycles in addition to your pre-shot test. You'll note that with TR, we recommend the following:
Tight Regulation sticky said:
  • REQUISITES WHEN FOLLOWING A TIGHT REGULATION PROTOCOL WITH LANTUS OR LEVEMIR:
  • Kitty should be monitored closely the first three days when starting Lantus or Levemir. Blood glucose levels should at least be checked at pre-shot, +3, +6, and +9.More monitoring may be needed.
  • It will be necessary to test kitty's blood glucose levels multiple times per day.
  • Learn the signs of and how to treat HYPOGLYCEMIA and prepare a HYPO TOOLBOX.
  • Test regularly for ketones and know about DIABETIC KETOACIDOSIS (DKA).
  • Use U-100 3/10cc syringes with half units marked on the barrel for fine dosing.
  • Feed a high quality low carb canned or raw food diet.
  • Feed small meals throughout the day. Some kitties adapt well to free feeding.
In addition, you do not need to feed in advance of giving a shot. Lantus onset takes 1 - 2 hours to begin unlike N which has an almost immediate onset. Most of us test, feed, and shoot all within a few minutes of each other.

You will want to hold your current dose for 5 - 7 days. This will allow the insulin depot to form. In response to your question about PurrFace's SS, I woud encourage you to start getting tests during the PM cycle.

Please let us know how we can be of help. The people here are very generous with their time and information. We're happy to lend a hand in whatever way possible.
 
Welcome to LL, Frosty and Purrface! You are doing a great job! FD is pretty overwhelming at first but everyone here is cat-crazy so we do whatever we can for our babies.

One thing I noticed in Purrface's profile is that he is walking on his haunches. Does it look like peripheral neuropathy? Our kitty Zener had that and we started giving him a daily 3 mg pill of methyl B12 called zobaline or xobaline. We break the pill up into 4 pieces and wrap it in a duck and pea pill pocket, dog version is fine. We use 1/8 of one. This flavor doesn't have sugar but does have carbs so we give him as little as possible. It took a few weeks but he doesn't walk on his wrists anymore.

I am Zener's other mom and I sign my posts. Anne doesn't. Please ask all of your questions. We all want the best for your kitty.
Liz
 
Thank you all. Everyone here has been very supportive and helpful. I will do my best to get at least 1 more test after the amps and the PMPS. PurrFace does have neuropathy. We have been giving him 5mg of zobaline each day. We give him a small amount of food with it mixed in (crushed up) and when he eats that we give him the rest of his lunch. He's been taking it for a month and hasn't shown any improvement. I believe it may because he was on Humulin N until this week. When he was on that his #s were all over. Hopefully if we can keep his BG in the mid 200s - low 300s the zobaline will work better. Thank you all again.
 
FWIW, you won't see an immediate response to Zobaline. It can take a month or two to see any improvement. Getting PurrFace's numbers down will help, as well.
 
Welcome Frosty and Purrface.
I've been here about a week and find it to be a great support and resource. Lots of reading and learning but so helpful. It has been really overwhelming since we got our dx but now that I'm getting familiar w/ FDMB its getting easier to navigate.

Karen
 
Welcome to Lantus Land Purrface and Frosty!!

You will find this board to be the best advice, compassion, and support that you could ever imagine! I was new here a couple months ago and the most helpful resources for me have been the stickies at the top of the Lantus Tight Regulation page and reading everyone elses' experiences.

Best of luck to you and Purrface!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top