New to TR - Jack AMPS 134 Gave only .5u down from 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Thebudster77

Member Since 2014
Hello All,

Shelly referred me to this group as I am in need of some analysis on the dosage that I am giving Jack.

My initial post and what I have been doing the last 30 days is (it is long but covers all details) http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=124878

Subsequent question about getting a curve and numbers being low is http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=124918

Jack's SS link is below and is up to date.

I would appreciate it if someone could please take a look at it and share with me your observations/opinion.

I will provide any additional information, quickly, without hesitation, and fill out any spreadsheet you require. I work from home so I have the ability (Thank God) to monitor things closely and respond to any questions/input fairly quickly.

I am committed to understanding what is going on and how to respond to the numbers that I get. I am getting down in the green and need some extra guidance.

Thank you in advance for any assistance that you can provide.
Kevin
 
Glad to see you made your way over to TR, Kevin! Wow - Jack is really responding well to the insulin, even with the skipped shot and reduction this morning. I'm guessing that you may want to hold the .5 units now....but let's see what the experienced users suggest.

Thanks for putting that AlphaTrak note on your ss. We definitely don't want to forget that you're using an AT.

Shelly
 
Hi Shelly,

Thank you for the encouragement. I am a little surprised at Jack's numbers too. But in a HAPPY way.

I am a little concerned about the 74 and 75. You kinda scared me when you told me that, because most everyone here uses a Human meter, my goal should be higher than most everyone else's. And that is 68 right? Or is that the bottom ?

Tonight I gave a skinny half and will check it at +4 or +5. If it goes to mid 80's I think I would be very happy as it would appear that Jack is responding more directly with the dosage and I want to avoid like the plague any numbers that are going to hurt Jack.

Thank you for all your help and patience.
 
Hi Kevin! welcome to you and Jack!

Jack's doing great - i'm glad you made your way over to TR. Newly diagnosed cats have the best chance for remission if their blood sugar gets into normal numbers, about 68-160 on an AlphaTrak, as soon as possible upon diagnosis. You're well on your way to normal numbers for him.

One thing about how Lantus works - it's a "depot" insulin, meaning that it builds up in the body and slow releases. When you change doses too often, it can rock the boat because the depot has to readjust to "fit" the new dose.

I think you're ok holding the 0.5u dose for now. I'd suggest staying with a straight 0.5u and holding that dose for 6 cycles, unless he goes below 68.

If he goes below 68 - that's your number to take action. You have some room to work, so it's not an emergency, but you do want to give him a little bit of carbs at that point to move his blood sugar back up over 68 and stay there. The Shooting & Handling Low Numbers yellow starred sticky has details on that. It's a great idea to print out the 3rd section "Don't Panic! Or How to Handle Low Numbers" is the one you should have available to you.

Glad to have you here - we'll teach you what you need to know to help Jack. :-D
 
I am a little concerned about the 74 and 75. You kinda scared me when you told me that, because most everyone here uses a Human meter, my goal should be higher than most everyone else's. And that is 68 right? Or is that the bottom ?

Sorry - didn't mean to scare you. As Julie said, you don't want Jack to fall below 68 on the AlphaTrak. If he does, that's when you step in with the high-carb routine and steer the numbers with food. [In comparison, for those of us who are using a human meter, we don't want our kitties to fall below 50. That's when we step in with the high-carb routine.]

I'm so glad Julie popped in to welcome you and offer her advice on the dose. She's one of the many, many, many, many (did I say many?) people here who gets credit for Jersey's remission.
 
Hi Julie,

Thank you for the response. I do appreciate it.

For some reason my skinny 1/2 left Jack looking like I had skipped the shot. I am pretty sure that I got it in but with this whirlwind, I am sure of absolutely nothing!

At +5 last night he was 198 and AMPS 231. I gave the full .5 and will test at +4 or +5 to give me a sense if I got it in and the insulin is working.

I will hold the .5 for at least the next 3 days unless I see something out of the norm.

Initially my Vet said feed ONLY 2x per day just before the shot. I have been reading that multiple meals are ok and are in fact easier on the pancreas. It might be easier on Jack if I do that as he does start to bug me about 2 hours before it is time.

I have another kitty, Samantha who is in the lower 300's and not on insulin yet. I am trying to see if Blood Sugar Gold can help control her numbers. 2 Cats on insulin ?, you might as well call the guys in the white coats to take me away. Not that I was that far away before this all started. @-)


Thank you so much for the input.
 
There may be a bit of bouncing going on. Here's a really good explanation from Julie about bouncing (second post in the thread) - http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=46012

Here are some tips for getting help on the TR board: Each day in TR, you can start a new thread. (We actually ask that each person creates one new thread ("condo" per day.) Just put the date, Jack's name, and your readings in the subject line. (Also link back to your previous condo. That helps people easily click back through the posts to see what's been discussed/happening.) You can update the readings throughout the day in the subject line. So...9/10 Jack AMPS 231. Whenever you have questions, you can also put those in the subject line (e.g., 9/10 Jack AMPS 231 Dosing Question) and click on the little question mark icon. Once you have your question answered, you can remove the question mark icon and change your subject line. If no one has responded to your questions yet, you can always reply to your own thread. That will bump it up to the top of the page and might help people notice it more quickly. It does get really busy here sometimes, and we definitely don't want to miss anyone's questions.

Off to work - have a good day!
Shelly

Oops - almost forgot. To change your subject line, make sure you're changing the subject line in the very first post in your thread. That way people can see the changes on the main TR page. If you change a subject line within the thread, it won't be seen until someone "enters" the thread.
 
hi kevin,

i just saw your response and wanted to mention about Samantha - we know that the sooner a diabetic cat gets on insulin and gets their blood sugar into normal numbers (50-120) the greater the chance that their pancreas can heal and they can become diet-controlled. Take a look at the Tight Regulation Protocol sticky at the top of this forum - look about 5 paragraphs down for the PDF that has to be downloaded. It's called "Management of Diabetic Cats Using Long-Lasting Insulins."

That's the most recent document about treating diabetic cats. It's published by one of the authors that also published the Tight Reg Protocol. The success rate for cats who get their blood sugar under control in the first month and go off of insulin is about 90%. If I were you, I wouldn't wait one day before starting Samantha on insulin. You don't want her body to get used to being in the 300's or to begin to think that's her normal state.
 
Hi Julie and Darin,

Thank you for the information. I appreciate it. The vet did say if the BSG doesn't keep her under 200 at +2-+4 after eating then give insulin.

Now that I have things in better control with Jack, I do understand that I have to tend to Samantha.

There is little incremental cost (not that money was really ever a concern) and now that I have my routine established, I will start and put her on the Vet recommended .5u bid.

Thank you again, it is making me get off the pot.
Kevin
 
:lol:

a lot of people seem to wait and see if making a food switch (are yours both on low carb canned food only now?) will do the trick. I might give that 3 days, but not any longer. it works against remission, which most people would rather have.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top