MOXYCAT! said:
Hi everyone...so Moxy does in fact have diabetes. Her count this afternoon was 24. Im all set up to give her injections. The vet prescribed ..Caninsulin. The only thing i dont have is a meter. I will grab one in the morning along with the strips. I gave Mox an injection with just water and took a sample of blood from her ear with the vet. It was rather simple. The spot he showed me where to give the injection was what he called ...'the tent'. Is this where the majority of you give the injections? My other question...should i give Mox an injection tonite without being able to test her blood before hand to find out what 2 unit of insulin do given the fact her count earlier was 24 or should i wait till i can test first? Again..thanks for your replies...Cory n MOXYCAT!
Hi Cory and Moxycat
I should warn you by saying it may seem like a ton of stuff to learn right upfront, but don't worry about that because there are a ton of people with experience here who can help you every step of the way.
I am also Canadian, living in Toronto with 2 diabetic cats but I grew up in Winnipeg. if you have any questions, just ask.
The insulin your vet is recommending is not the greatest but it's what the vets have in their offices for animals; I think it's not bad for dogs but not great for cats. We are lucky being in Canada and we don't need a prescription for insulin so you could just go to your local pharmacy and purchase an insulin such as Lantus or Levemir. My vet had me give my Shadoe Caninsulin when she was first diagnosed but she did quite poorly on it. I switched her to Lantus and she did better but later I switched her to Levemir and she is doing very well now. I think of Caninsulin as not quite lasting long enough ...
You will give shots every 12 hours but Caninsulin does not last that long, and so the last few hours before the next shot, Moxycat's numbers will be high again. You can try the Caninsulin as some cats are OK with it, but please get a meter and test strips first so that you can see how well the insulin is working or maybe not working. Also, most people start giving insulin at a lower starting dose, maybe 1u, and then if more is needed, you can increase the dose. Remember: You can always give more insulin, but you can't take back insulin if you give too much... better safe than sorry.
One thing that many people try first, before even starting insulin, is to change the cat's diet to low carb wet food and no dry foods. Alot of times the diet changes are all that's needed for the cat to be a diet-controlled diabetic.
there are plenty of good food choices so just refer to Binky's list and see what's available at your local stores, stick to 10% carbs or lower.
Binky’s Food Lists
Feeding Your Cat: Know The Basics of Feline Nutrition
You mentioned a test number of 24mmol/L which converts to 432mg/dL.. The meter you get at your drugstore will show your test results in mmol/L values but the people on this board post and understand the mg/dL values... that's why someone asked if you meant 240 instead of the 24. A common meter that many use is the OneTouch or Accu-Check or even Bayer Contour.... just look at what's available at your drug store and maybe even check with the pharmacist about availability of test strips.
there is a conversion chart on the old board or you can just multiply the number you get on your meter by 18. I am lazy so I made myself a chart that I'll give you.
BG Conversion Calculator
There are many additional contributing reasons for high BG numbers like that 24, not just diabetes, but also poor diet, illness, dental problems, and also stress. It is tough to go by the number at the vet .... my Shadoe tests higher at the vet office, and my Oliver tests lower at the vet office... they both stress differently.
You and Moxycat are going to be just fine. Pick up a meter at the drugstore, some low carb cans of food and start some home testing to see what Moxycat's numbers are while relaxed at home. Don't worry about the testing hurting .... my 2 cats sleep through the pokes on the ear. Start with a low dose of 1u, and see how it goes from there. No question should be unasked. To know the road ahead, ask the man coming back.