New to this, question about glucose numbers!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sara-Jane

Member Since 2024
Hello! Can someone please tell me as my cats BG drops during her curve.. what is considered a healthy BG number to get to? And at what point is it getting too low/scary (possible hypo). I should mention I am in Canada so I need mmol numbers please !!!
 
Do you have a spreadsheet set up for your cat? If not, the instructions are here: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/

Can you set up your signature with info about your cat so that members can see a quick snapshot of what insulin you are using, dose, and other pertinent info? https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/

Can you just type out the numbers from the most recent curve for now?

Insulin works by lowering blood glucose levels so dropping levels is expected :) A hypo (low blood glucose level) is when bgs drop too low too fast, generally under 60 mg/dl (3 mmol). A hypo cat may or may not have symptoms. Please print these out and keep it handy: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-treat-hypos-they-can-kill-print-this-out.15887/ and https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/jojo-and-bunnys-hypo-tool-box.2354/

A nice curve should have a gentle drop in numbers like in this image:

2Pacs-Blood-Sugar-Curve.jpg



In the graph above, if the number dropped from 25 mmol to, say, 4 mmol in just 2 hours, that would be considered hypo and sugar, honey, high carb food etc should be given to the cat to raise levels up quickly to a more normal level while testing every 15 minutes.

Normal healthy blood glucose levels are roughly 60 to 150 md / dl (3 to 8 mmol). Diabetic cats should aim to be in this range with insulin and / or diet.
 
Waving at you from the west coast of BC. :)

Normal BG (blood glucose) numbers for a kitty are in the 2.8-5.5 range (50-100), though depending on situation. I've tested a non diabetic cat at 2.7, and if stressed they can go higher and still be normal. The ranges above are also assuming you are using a human meter, not a pet specific one for testing. Numbers are higher on pet meters. Also, what we consider safe depends on a cat's diet and the dosing method you are using and how much you can monitor. We don't want cats on insulin to go as low, cause we want some margin for error. We don't want cats eating dry food or higher carb food to go as low.

What type of insulin are you using? What type of food is your kitty getting?
 
Waving at you from the west coast of BC. :)

Normal BG (blood glucose) numbers for a kitty are in the 2.8-5.5 range (50-100), though depending on situation. I've tested a non diabetic cat at 2.7, and if stressed they can go higher and still be normal. The ranges above are also assuming you are using a human meter, not a pet specific one for testing. Numbers are higher on pet meters. Also, what we consider safe depends on a cat's diet and the dosing method you are using and how much you can monitor. We don't want cats on insulin to go as low, cause we want some margin for error. We don't want cats eating dry food or higher carb food to go as low.

What type of insulin are you using? What type of food is your kitty getting?
 
Hi and thank you! She is on Prozinc and she is eating FF pates as well as tiki cat after dark wet canned foods (shreds).
 
Do you have a spreadsheet set up for your cat? If not, the instructions are here: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/

Can you set up your signature with info about your cat so that members can see a quick snapshot of what insulin you are using, dose, and other pertinent info? https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/

Can you just type out the numbers from the most recent curve for now?

Insulin works by lowering blood glucose levels so dropping levels is expected :) A hypo (low blood glucose level) is when bgs drop too low too fast, generally under 60 mg/dl (3 mmol). A hypo cat may or may not have symptoms. Please print these out and keep it handy: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-treat-hypos-they-can-kill-print-this-out.15887/ and https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/jojo-and-bunnys-hypo-tool-box.2354/

A nice curve should have a gentle drop in numbers like in this image:

2Pacs-Blood-Sugar-Curve.jpg



In the graph above, if the number dropped from 25 mmol to, say, 4 mmol in just 2 hours, that would be considered hypo and sugar, honey, high carb food etc should be given to the cat to raise levels up quickly to a more normal level while testing every 15 minutes.

Normal healthy blood glucose levels are roughly 60 to 150 md / dl (3 to 8 mmol). Diabetic cats should aim to be in this range with insulin and / or diet.
 
The spreadsheet is working!

I'd like to suggest that you take a look at the sticky notes at the top of the Prozinc board. In particular, I think you'll find the information on dosing methods helpful. I think you'll notice that based on how we approach dosing, you've been holding the dose longer than what's necessary. Ideally, you want to get your cat into a normal blood glucose range and if possible, into remission.
 
The spreadsheet is working!

I'd like to suggest that you take a look at the sticky notes at the top of the Prozinc board. In particular, I think you'll find the information on dosing methods helpful. I think you'll notice that based on how we approach dosing, you've been holding the dose longer than what's necessary. Ideally, you want to get your cat into a normal blood glucose range and if possible, into remission.
Thank you! I just checked her curve last night and the dose of 0.5 did take her down to 8.8 at nadir which for me is perfect.. I did look at the Prozinc sticky note! I will continue checking her mid cycle numbers I find this cat reacts either great or hardly at all to her insulin (super frustrating). I know adjustments need to be made regularly yes. I also have had some very scary low numbers with her just on a dose of 0.75 units. And with me being gone all day.. I am always afraid to increase her dose !
 
Thank you! I just checked her curve last night and the dose of 0.5 did take her down to 8.8 at nadir which for me is perfect.. I did look at the Prozinc sticky note! I will continue checking her mid cycle numbers I find this cat reacts either great or hardly at all to her insulin (super frustrating). I know adjustments need to be made regularly yes. I also have had some very scary low numbers with her just on a dose of 0.75 units. And with me being gone all day.. I am always afraid to increase her dose !
I really appreciate you taking the time to look at her numbers I feel so alone when making dose adjustments so an extra set of eyes helps me greatly!!!
 
@Sara-Jane
Welcome
Can you please add to your signature
  • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
  • Name of your meter
  • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
  • Just tap on your name up top, tap on signature add these and then tap save
 
There's a trade off involved with keeping your kitty in good, but higher numbers. The dilemma is a response that's called "glucose toxicity." It's a terrible name! What it means is that your cat's body becomes accustomed to the higher numbers and treats being in that range as the new normal. As a result, it makes it harder to get numbers into what is the actual normal range. For some cats, it also makes it harder to get their numbers to stop bouncing.I think you're interpreting what I'm seeing as a bounce as your cat "not responding" to insulin. If numbers drop into a range that's lower than what Evie is used to, her liver and pancreas dump a stored form of glucose along with counterregulatory hormones into her system and the numbers bounce upward. Glucose toxicity can also make regulation or remission a bit harder to achieve.

It can take a while for caregivers to get used to dealing with lower numbers. If you're out of the house during the day, a timed feeder can help since it's a way to make sure food is available.
 
If you look at our dosing methods for Prozinc, you will see that the ideal range for nadirs. or the low points, is 90-149, which 5.0 to 8.3 for us. Those are still safe numbers.

I'm glad Sienne mentioned timed feeders. The 5 compartment Petsafe or Catmate are popular models here.
 
There's a trade off involved with keeping your kitty in good, but higher numbers. The dilemma is a response that's called "glucose toxicity." It's a terrible name! What it means is that your cat's body becomes accustomed to the higher numbers and treats being in that range as the new normal. As a result, it makes it harder to get numbers into what is the actual normal range. For some cats, it also makes it harder to get their numbers to stop bouncing.I think you're interpreting what I'm seeing as a bounce as your cat "not responding" to insulin. If numbers drop into a range that's lower than what Evie is used to, her liver and pancreas dump a stored form of glucose along with counterregulatory hormones into her system and the numbers bounce upward. Glucose toxicity can also make regulation or remission a bit harder to achieve.

It can take a while for caregivers to get used to dealing with lower numbers. If you're out of the house during the day, a timed feeder can help since it's a way to make sure food is available.
Thx! Yes I have timed feeders that open while I’m away at work. She is a bit picky and doesn’t always like them bc it’s not ‘fresh’ but still makes me feel better. Yes I agree I’m having trouble getting her nadir numbers lowers without the risk of them being too low… I’m working on it. And yes I agree when they finally do go low she commonly bounces back up again. From what I’ve read this gets easier the longer we keep going? She is still not 3.5 months since diagnosis so I am trying to be hopeful I will be doing a dose increase but only on the weekend while I’m home and can monitor..
 
If you look at our dosing methods for Prozinc, you will see that the ideal range for nadirs. or the low points, is 90-149, which 5.0 to 8.3 for us. Those are still safe numbers.

I'm glad Sienne mentioned timed feeders. The 5 compartment Petsafe or Catmate are popular models here.
Hi yes! I did read that. I’m trying to achieve lower nadirs . With just a .25 increase previously it did take her quite low down to 3.8. So I’m just a bit nervous is all. But I realize a dose increase is going to be needed agajn. I will do it when I am gone from work on a weekend and can monitor her!
 
I realize that 3.8 seems "low." While it's in the lower range, it's still safe. When all of this is less overwhelming, look at TR. Dose reductions are given when numbers drop below 50 (2.8) for a cat that's within a. year of diagnosis. Low is a relative term and based on the dosing method. you're using.
 
I realize that 3.8 seems "low." While it's in the lower range, it's still safe. When all of this is less overwhelming, look at TR. Dose reductions are given when numbers drop below 50 (2.8) for a cat that's within a. year of diagnosis. Low is a relative term and based on the dosing method. you're using.
Oh wow! Ok based on the SLGS dosing I read that if nadir is less than 5 mmol/L then to decrease by 0.25. ???
 
That's correct. SLGS differs from Tight Regulation on the point where a dose reduction occurs. My reason for mentioning it is that TR does have a lower point and that point is still safe. I used TR with Gabby. She was also prone to fast, low drops in numbers. I developed nerves of steel!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top