New to this, need some help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gilbert

Member Since 2011
My cat was recently diagnosed with diabetes. BG was near 400. He's on 2 units of ProZinc 2x/day. Just got my glucose monitor today and am confused as to when I should test his BG. Before he eats? After he eats? then at what intervals to get the curve? I know to always test before I give him his insulin, and I give him his insulin after he eats, so am I assuming correctly that I test AFTER he eats.

Please, someone explain! I'm so confused. Just tested him and he's at 312, and he's due for dinner in about an hour.
 
Most people test, feed, shoot.

So you're in good shape here. You've tested. He's high enough for insulin. Now you can feed
and give the insulin.
 
Fantastic that you are hometesting! You test before feeding so that the food doesn't raise the number. We gave Oliver the shot as he was eating. With his nose in his food, he didn't notice the shot.

PZI is a nice mild insulin. We recommend starting at a low dose, testing and raising the dose as needed. We suggest one unit twice daily. You need to also test mid cycle, somewhere around 4-6 hours after the shot. You want to know how low the insulin takes him, so you know how it is working.
 
Hi and Welcome,
May I ask what your kitty's name is and yours too?
Also what are you currently feeding him?
And lastly...what #'s are you getting now that you are testing.

Can you show us like this:

amps (morning pre shot #)
+4 (4 hours after shot, the bg #)
+7 (same deal at 7 hours after shot)
pmps (evening pre shot #)

it will look like this

amps 390 2 units
+4 280
+7 260
pmps 350 2 units

this way we understand exactly where you are at in the cycle.
 
Thanks for all the input. can't figure out how to reply each of you individually, so thought I would go this route.

My cat' name is Gilbert, my name is Nicole. Our problems are further complicated by the fact that he is also asthmatic. I do, however, have him on inhaled steroids. But I think the initial prednilosone he was on for quite awhile is what brought this diabetes on. He's been on the inhaled steroids for almost a year now.

I've been doing research like mad, and switched Gilbert to a high protein, low carb diet. Unfortunately, my other cat (who has cancer) does not like wet food, so I have resorted to leaving kibble out during the day for him-Wellness Core. From what I can tell on the Binky's dry food chart it's a good choice. Gilbert, tho, still gets wet food in the a.m. and p.m. prior to his shot.

I will do the am, +4, +7 and pm layout as one of you suggested.

Can someone tell me where I can get a chart, I see several of you have them but I can't seem to find it amongst all the info on this site.

Thanks again,
Nicole and Gilbert
 
Wow, Nicole, you are getting right to it! Hometesting, diet change, willing to do a spreadsheet. Gilbert is one lucky cat!

How long has Gilbert been on insulin? Did he start off at 2 U BID (twice a day)?

We're gonna drive you crazy with questions at first. If we overload you, just call a timeout on us and we'll back off - a little! :lol:

So glad you are here.

Best,
Rebecca
Founder and webmaster
 
Thanks for all of your help. Hope I'm replying to all of your posts correctly. I haven't had a chance to set up a spreadsheet yet, but just printed up the directions.

Gilbert started on his ProZinc on February 5th, but I didn't get my hands on a glucometer until Thursday. Based on what I read on this sight, I chose to go with the Relion (WalMart) Brand. I have a free Freestyle Light on the way, but once I saw the price of the strips, I almost choked. Some of these readings may be incorrect/elevated as Gilbert and I get used to the ear pricking. They're also erratic b/c I've had a hectic schedule the last few days. He goes in tomorrow 2/15 for his glucose curve at the vet, but he gets stressed there, so we'll see what those results look like. I'll provide the info I've collected so far to the vet when I drop him off in the a.m.

So far I have the following readings:

Thursday, Feb. 10th
AMPS BG =393 @ 6:30 a.m.
Fed Breakfast and administered 2 Units @ 6:47 a.m.
+2 BG=372
+8 BG=327
No more data for this date and it was my first day with the meter, so we can probably ignore it.

Friday, Feb. 11th
AMPS BG=405 @ 6:30 a.m.
Since it was so high I administered 2 units, then fed him his breakfast
+3 BG=282
+6 BG=195
+10 BG=84 (thought this was wrong, so retested 6 minutes later and got BG=362
PMPS BG=395 @ 6:30 pm
Fed dinner and then administered 2 units

Saturday, Feb. 12th
AMPS BG=382 @ 6:05 am
Fed breakfast and administered 2 units
+4 BG=232
+9.5 BG=344
+12.25 PMPS BG=308
Fed dinner, then administered 2 units @ 7:30 PM
@930pm +2 BG=247
@11:30pm +4 BG=202

Sunday, Feb. 13th
Note: this is the first day I feel I'm getting the hang of this and Gilbert is getting used to it as well. So far today, this is what we've got...

AMPS @7:00am BG=395
Fed breakfast and administered 2 units
+2=289
+5=99
 
that's kind of a steep drop...safe number but steep.
remind me which insulin you are using...and it might be good to get a +6 to see if he's still moving down quickly.
 
I see that his number has risen dramatically.
i see you are using pzi...
when the number goes up that quickly...that might indicate a need to reduce your dose.
2 units is kind of a high starting point.
how about starting again with 1 unit.
I have to see how much of your story I may have missed.
 
I think you are getting nice numbers. I agree with Lori that today's low looks like a reduction in dose may be in order. One thing you might consider is to get U100 syringes so you can dose in smaller increments. For example, you could reduce your 2 units to 1.75.

Since PZI is a U40 insulin, you have to use a conversion chart to get those kinds of doses measured accurately: http://www.felinediabetes.com/insulin-conversions.htm

Have you seen this PZI user guide: viewtopic.php?f=24&t=32799

The other thing that can be an issue is the dry food. Even a few pieces a day can keep a cat in higher numbers. Have you seen Dr. Lisa Pierson's website: http://www.catinfo.org She has great ideas for transitioning difficult cats from dry to wet.

I hate to see you go to the vet for a curve. You have numbers that are much more accurate than the vet will get. Stress raises bg levels and most cats are very stressed at the vet. Please don't let your vet raise the dose based on the number at their office. I hope they will look at your numbers and consider them carefully.

If you have trouble with the spreadsheet, send me a pm. I have helped lots of people set theirs up.
 
I took up the dry food completely. I'm confused though-LOWER his dose, given his numbers, overall, are still so high? What am I looking for here? Also, have little confidence in my vet-he gave me the wrong directions, according to the ProZinc site, on how to prep the insulin (told me to shake it versus roll it), where to administer (told me scruff of the neck is just fine) and when (before or after meals s OK, not "critical" the dose be every 12 hours). He said people make this too complicated. I feel as tho it should be closely regulated, monitored, etc. and he isn't being thorough enuf!

He wants Gilbert's BG to be between 80-150. Now, given that he is nowhere near that, I'm confused why we would lower the dose...
 
I don't see it posted but this kitty went from 90 to 230 something in 2 hours.
Gilbert, too much insulin causes your kitty's body to protect itself and the liver produces sugars for the bloodstream so your kitty won't go too low.
Confusing at first but it will become part of your common understanding in no time.
 
Part of the problem is that he DOES NOT like to get his ear pricked most of the time. I'm concerned how high this throws off his numbers. So, as a recap, today was like this:

AMPS 395 2 units
+2=289
+5=99
+7=223
+9=287 (he was not a happy camper when I took this sample)
 
well it looks as if this dose could be reduced. the good news is on a reduced dose for now you can give your kitty a few days rest on the testing and just test amps and pmps.
then in 3 or 4 days get another curve. you can get away with amps +3 +6 +9 pmps. unless you see something warrenting more tests...like a low number.
 
the late nader yesterday and the zoom up would be an indication of too much insulin.
you can always start at 1u and go up.
with this dose you will need to keep testing cause you may get a VERY low number for which you will have to treat.
that is like testing every 20-30 minutes depending on the number and what part of the cycle you see it in.
This was a high starting dose Gilbert.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top