New to this group - how do I avoid bruising her ear and how do I know if it's bruised

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by ctmorris, Aug 25, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ctmorris

ctmorris Member

Hi - my name is Celia and my diabetic kitty's name is Lucky. I recently moved and had a new vet take a look at Lucky. I have just started trying to monitor her sugars. I've been giving Insulin (Lantus) for about 5 years now but the BG testing is new for me and due to her having a hypoglycemic episode earlier this week. This testing thing is tough but I know that I need to learn to do this.

Here looking for support and tips - I've read a lot of posts in the past few days and have managed to test her BG once on my own. I do want to know how you can tell if they have a bruised ear and how to avoid bruising the ear. I have gone to manual lancing as the Lancet device is hard to "aim" in the right spot.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

2. Shiloh & Rhonda (GA)

Shiloh & Rhonda (GA) Well-Known Member

If you apply gentle but firm pressure for between 15 - 30 seconds after the poke, it should prevent bruising. If you look at Shiloh's spreadsheet attached to my signature, you will see how much I tested, and never had an issue with bruising.

Critter Mom likes this.
  3. ctmorris

ctmorris Member

Got it - Thank you!!

4. BJM

BJM Well-Known Member

Welcome to FDMB, the best place you never wanted to be.

There are 4 things you'll need to manage your kitty's diabetes:
    - You - without your commitment, the following won't work.
    - Home blood glucose monitoring with an inexpensive human glucometer such as the WalMart Relion Confirm or Target Up and Up (the pet ones will break your budget!). This saves you the cost of going to the vet for curves and done regularly, removes the need for a fructosamine test.