That's really not too bad considering 24 hours without insulin. Are you sticking to the 1u plan? It may or may not have the effect we're looking for but we won't know until you try it. Let's hope so!Pmps is 16.0
Yeeeesssssssss!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Great news....Negative ketone result


Oh well at least you got some sleep!I didnt get +6 as i must have turned my alarm off in my sleep which was annoying.
Shes a bit better this morning. I woke with her on my pillow with me, purring.
I think you've answered your own question - there isn't exactly an ideal amps. If anything, you could say it's a number that's familiar to you and which your data shows responds satisfactorily to a certain dose. So you might get a 13 at amps, shoot 1u because that seems as good a dose as any going on recent data, cycle pans out nicely on that dose... so that would therefore be an ideal amps *at that time*. On another occasion, you might get an amps of 20 and shoot 2u because your data tells you that 2u is a good dose at that number *at that time*.She was 13 this morning so i gave her 1u.
Whats an ideal amps for a diabetic cat (if there is 1)?
No i think that answers it so thank youI think you've answered your own question - there isn't exactly an ideal amps. If anything, you could say it's a number that's familiar to you and which your data shows responds satisfactorily to a certain dose. So you might get a 13 at amps, shoot 1u because that seems as good a dose as any going on recent data, cycle pans out nicely on that dose... so that would therefore be an ideal amps *at that time*. On another occasion, you might get an amps of 20 and shoot 2u because your data tells you that 2u is a good dose at that number *at that time".
I don't think I'm explaining this very well but maybe I've misread your question... maybe you mean what's an ideal ambg for a diabetic cat not consistently on insulin, ie regulated? That would be a number within normal range which is approx 4.5 - 6.5...
I'm really not sure if I'm making sense. More coffee needed! Can anyone give a clearer answer please @Monica Lewis @Elizabeth and Bertie ?????
YES! Every Cat Is Different (ECID) is a phrase you'll hear a lot on this board. And really, not so unusual because every human and probably every other living thing is different too... we all respond differently to various treatments because we are not robots!No i think that answers it so thank youi guess its every cat is different.
That number is fine, but her BG is dropping a little fast at this point.I got 8.5 at +2 of the shot. Im a bit concerned its going to drop a lot as we are not at nadir yet.
Its human. Accu chek performa nano.Fiona @Fiona1 , which blood glucose monitor are you using? Is it a pet monitor or a human one?
I know!That number is fine, but her BG is dropping a little fast at this point.
It may be OK, but if you are concerned you could try a very small snack of low carb food just to slow that drop down.
Are you able to test again in half an hour so we can see what the trajectory is?
Edited to add: What a wonderful response to this insulin dose! It's really nice to see those blood glucose levels coming down....
.
Okey dokey.Its human. Accu chek performa nano.
Tried some wet food but she already had some this morning.
That's looking nice. And she's only dropped about 1.6mmol in the past hour.+3 is 6.9
Theres a big change in her today. Shes sunning herself, purring, walking around.![]()





There are syringes available with half units, but not with quarter units as far as I know. (If they are available that would be great!)I did phone 1 emergency vets but they only have half units. I have a few in the area though, who might do quarters too.
Did it @Monica Lewis ? I'm not normally a funny person.... ;-) !!At work since 7am so just caught up but I like what I’m seeing so far, sounds like a jolly good morning all round..
@Diana&Tom your reply made me smile..![]()
Very very true. Whatever was the vet thinking of. When you report back, @Fiona1 it will be interesting to see what he has to say for himself!Also may I just add that I’m so pleased Tinkerbell is responding so beautifully to the 1u dose, it’s mortifying to think back that she was getting 6u at the vets with odd readings all over the place..
This shows that increasing the dose is not always the answer..
My cat isn't eating much today either... this warm weather affects their appetite I'm sure. As for Tinkerbell rising now... no, it doesn't look particularly fast, given that it's now past nadir so she may not have a lot of insulin left. She may be up in the teens at pmps but we can only take it one step at a time really. Hopefully by then it will be cooler and she'll be more interested in food.Thanks will have a look into those syringes.
She hasnt really eaten since this morning and even this morning, it was equivalent to about a quarter of a pouch.
Ive taken some more readings. Do you think she is rising too fast?
Fiona, do you know why she's not eating..?Shes not eating and we are now 20 mins before the shot. Reading of 15.3. Should i still give the shot?
OK, Fiona. She'll probably be just fine.I gave 1u as she ended up having some food but will keep an eye on her.
Spot on, Fiona... and that's a lovely ambg number even though it leaves you in a quandrary about shooting. I think you're going to work today, right (?) - the thing here will probably be to dose very conservatively (unless she has shot up). She is giving you some very nice numbers now on a small dose and we want to make sure she's safe while you're out of the house.Ambg is 11.4 so fed her and going to do another test in 20 mins.
Oh, that 11.4 is lovely to see....Ambg is 11.4
And try to ensure she has some food?Just done another and its 13.4. Going by yesterdays curve, think i might eyeball 0.5.
Think that's what I'd have done too... a "just under" dose is what we call a "skinny" dose (and a "just over" dose would be a "fat" one!). What time are you leaving? Can you do another test before then?Gave her just under 0.5.
Will try to give her some more food.
OK no worries... she should be fine. You've dosed conservatively based on yesterday's curve data, knowing she needed at least some insulin... you've done the very best you can. Tinkerbell will probably have a nice quiet day in a cool room somewhere, like most of our kitties atm.No im unable to test her as ive already left
She did eat some more food though.
Oh my goodness, you are SO dedicated!Just got a cab home in my lunch break quickly. She was asleep. Tested and she was8.8.
