Hi Rascal's Person (Be nice to know your name, too, if you care to share.

)
You're going great guns with your home testing! Well done catching that low preshot number of 110 - and that you held back on the insulin because of the lower reading.
From what I've read here, I think that in the US glucometers are legally required to be accurate to within +/- 20% of actual. (
@BJM - is this correct?)
From your earlier posts:
Two weeks now on Vetsulin 2 times per day. Started on 2 units and now on 4 which seems effective
I am about out of his prescription k/d wet food so I asked the vet about transitioning to a commercial high quality low carb wet food and he said go for it. So I am going from wet food to wet food ...
Vetsulin can drop the blood glucose level quite hard and fast and, though not huge, 2 units is a significant insulin dose. If Rascal were mine (and assuming that he has no history of throwing ketones) I would skip the dose tonight for safety reasons (and doubly so because you don't yet have a body of data to know exactly how Rascal is responding to his insulin). Other members may have different views.
Per your earlier comment about almost being out of k/d food, has the proportion of low carb wet food in Rascal's diet increased now? If yes, the reduction in dietary carbs could be influencing tonight's low preshot result. I would suggest that you get another test in later this evening to see where Rascal's blood glucose is heading. All data is valuable.
I am concerned that Rascal may need to have his dose adjusted downwards, especially if most (if not all) of his food is now lower carb. To that end, I strongly recommend that you post a new thread on the main Feline Health board asking for Vetsulin dosing advice BEFORE Rascal's next dose is due. More people are likely to see your thread there. I suggest giving the new thread a title along the lines of "Vetsulin Dosing Advice Needed". Include any test data that you have in the thread, together with the insulin type and dose, your meter type (human and vet meters use different reference ranges), and Rascal's food info. These details will help members reading your thread to offer you better help. (We can help you set up one of our spreadsheets for storing Rascal's data, too.)
Mogs
.