Hi Michele and Buddy,
Thanks for filling us in! I'm sorry to hear that wet food upsets his tummy, but it is highly advisable to get him fully transitioned to wet food. Cats are obligate carnivores and naturally have a very low thirst drive. In the wild, they only eat animal protein, and get a lot of moisture (80% water) from their food. Dry food has a very low moisture content, and furthermore, is made with grains. Cat's do not need rice, corn, or wheat, and may not even be able to properly digest it. Cats don't produce an enzyme that many other mammals do called amylase which helps to break down complex carbs. Many cats have gone into diabetic remission just by switching to wet food, depending on how carb sensitive they are. Fancy Feast Classic Pates are an excellent choice to feed as they are low in carbs, readily available at most groceries, and are affordable. Not only is Hill's TOTAL CRAP, but it's expensive.
When Kismet was diagnosed, our old (now ex vet) told me to feed him science diet dry and had me shooting a very high dose (3 units). When I finally tested him after finding FDMB, he was in the low 40s :shock: The people and knowledge here helped me save his life! After 2 weeks on insulin, he went into diabetic remission just by changing his diet to wet food! He was OTJ (off the juice) for 6 whole months! Diet is so important, and it is possible to transition them. It is not uncommon for cats to get upsets tummys when you change their food. That doesn't mean the food is bad, it's just that it takes some time to transition. Please think about switching to a completely wet food diet--- both your cats can eat the same thing, and it will be better for them both. Not only it is best for diabetics, but it also promotes renal health, ideal body weight, and has many other nutritional benefits.
This site:
http://www.catinfo.org/ is run by Dr. Lisa Pierson DVM who frequents the board and has extensive knowledge on feline nutrition and diabetes. Look over her site for more on proper feline nutrition.
Some more homework for you. Once you get your home testing supplies and get your first test, you should set up a spread sheet for Buddy. The spread sheet is a universal document that we use to record our cat's blood glucose numbers. If you look in our signatures, you will see links to our SS. This is so that other members can easily access our cat's records to help give advice and recommendations, and so that we can keep track of their BGs ourselves. With a record like this, there is no need to pay for the expensive fructosamine tests that vets run. Directions and template are here :
link to SS
AMPS = Morning Pre Shot (where you type the number you get right before you give your cat his shot)
PMPS = Evening Pre Shot
U = units of insulin shot
Since we all are in different time zones and shoot at different times, we use the + number system. +1, for example, means one hour after you shot. +2 is two hours after, etc, all the way up to +11. The next value is the Pre-shot value which is collected 12 hours after the last shot.
For shooting insulin, the method we use is Test, Shoot, Feed. Make sure you get a blood test before you feed and shoot insulin.