New to the site

Status
Not open for further replies.
You need to get the right strips as soon as possible, like now. And test him, this is critical. And look at that meter, or take it with you to get a new battery and the right strips. Have someone at the pharmacy help you.
 
ok, now you're cooking. Testing is definitely a learning process, but you are on your way! congratulations and thank yo so much for posting.
Now, create your signature so we can see Sneaky's information when you post. That way the more experienced advisors have a "snapshot" view and won't have to ask over and over.
Setting up your signature (light grey text under a post). Here's how:
click on your name in the upper right corner of this page
click on "signature" in the menu that drops down
type the following in the box that opens: kitty's name/age/date of diabetes diagnosis/insulin you're using and dosage amount /glucose meter you're using/what (s)he eats/any other meds or health issues (s)he has. You can add your name, and a geographic location (sometimes the time zone matters) Be sure to SAVE when you are finished.
What kind of device are you using to access the board? A laptop, tablet or phone? I want to understand what kind of screen you are looking at so I don't overload you with links to information that you might have to read on a smaller screen.
You will need to do some reading about the insulin you are using, because, as Bron said, it hits hard, fast and doesn't last long.
There are other much more suitable insulins for cats that aren't as risky.
 
ok, now you're cooking. Testing is definitely a learning process, but you are on your way! congratulations and thank yo so much for posting.
Now, create your signature so we can see Sneaky's information when you post. That way the more experienced advisors have a "snapshot" view and won't have to ask over and over.
Setting up your signature (light grey text under a post). Here's how:
click on your name in the upper right corner of this page
click on "signature" in the menu that drops down
type the following in the box that opens: kitty's name/age/date of diabetes diagnosis/insulin you're using and dosage amount /glucose meter you're using/what (s)he eats/any other meds or health issues (s)he has. You can add your name, and a geographic location (sometimes the time zone matters) Be sure to SAVE when you are finished.
What kind of device are you using to access the board? A laptop, tablet or phone? I want to understand what kind of screen you are looking at so I don't overload you with links to information that you might have to read on a smaller screen.
You will need to do some reading about the insulin you are using, because, as Bron said, it hits hard, fast and doesn't last long.
There are other much more suitable insulins for cats that aren't as risky.
So should not feed and give him his insulin now?
 
We need to know how long it's been since the last injection, how many hours, and what the dosage is? This is Novalin or NPH, correct? Is he eating and drinking now? I would have to get a more experienced member to advise you on giving the insulin. My thinking is it's too big a dose and he is then going into hypo afterward. What is the dose of the insulin. Have you done the signature, because I don't see it.
This is from a post by another member: my suspicion is that the dental extractions have had a significant lowering effect on BG and Sneaky's BG is repeatedly going too low and his defence system against low BG is being seriously taxed.
If you continue to give the same dose, Sneaky is not going to be able to rally and survive. Hold off for now please, give us the information and I will try to find someone to advise you.
 
His last unit was at 5 am this morning. He got 1 unit. He hasn’t been feed anything since 3:30 and it’s syringe feeding water and food. What kind of food should I feed him? Thank you
 
His last unit was at 5 am this morning. He got 1 unit. He hasn’t been feed anything since 3:30 and it’s syringe feeding water and food. What kind of food should I feed him? Thank you
It’s every 12 hours he was to get 1 unit. .
 
I see the signature, thank you for the rest of the information. i will tell you it's better for him to be high than too low, his poor little body has been fighting hard to survive. If he is willing to eat, you can give him some low carb food, mixed with water. Are you still syringing food? Or will he eat by himself?
 
I see the signature, thank you for the rest of the information. i will tell you it's better for him to be high than too low, his poor little body has been fighting hard to survive. If he is willing to eat, you can give him some low carb food, mixed with water. Are you still syringing food? Or will he eat by himself?
Yes still syringe feeding him. He will eat it up for me. But I will hold off giving him insulin. Should I hold off on the insulin tomorrow morning as well?
Have you tested for ketones?
Have you tested for ketones?
no when went in the blanket earlier I was at work.
 
Per giving him insulin in the morning, let's see what the more experienced members tell you and where his BG numbers are. What happens when the blood sugar is low, the liver releases stored glycogen (a form of sugar) to help the body recover or just plain survive. That raises the blood sugar, and you were giving him sugar syrup, which also raised the blood sugar. So that will have produced that test of 403. We need to let that extra blast of sugar clear out and see what the tests tell us. It's important to test him, not only before a shot, but during the cycle between shots to see how the blood sugar is either increasing or decreasing.
His blood sugar is also going to reflect what kind of food you are giving him. What is the brand and type of the canned food you are feeding? I can look that up and tell you what the carb % is.
 
Per giving him insulin in the morning, let's see what the more experienced members tell you and where his BG numbers are. What happens when the blood sugar is low, the liver releases stored glycogen (a form of sugar) to help the body recover or just plain survive. That raises the blood sugar, and you were giving him sugar syrup, which also raised the blood sugar. So that will have produced that test of 403. We need to let that extra blast of sugar clear out and see what the tests tell us. It's important to test him, not only before a shot, but during the cycle between shots to see how the blood sugar is either increasing or decreasing.
His blood sugar is also going to reflect what kind of food you are giving him. What is the brand and type of the canned food you are feeding? I can look that up and tell you what the carb % is.
I feed him fancy feast pate beef and chicken kind. Then I have some hard food out a new fancy feast smaller size. So test hi bf b4 his shot n food then after the shot and food?
 
The Fancy Feast canned food is good if it's pate, no sauces or gravy. Dry food is too high in carbohydrates for a diabetic cat, and it's best to slowly transition him off to an all canned food diet.
Here's the basic testing routine we recommend: (do what you can on work days - before bed is useful along with the essential pre shots)
test every day AM and PM before feeding and injecting (no food at least 2 hours before) to see if the planned dose is safe
test at least once near mid cycle or at bedtime daily to see how low the BG goes
do extra tests on days off to fill in the response picture
if indicated by consistently high numbers on your spreadsheet, increase the dose by no more than 0.25 u at a time so you don't accidentally go right past a good dose
post here for advice whenever you're confused or unsure of what to do.
It's time for you to visit the forum that has information about the insulin you have been using:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/caninsulin-vetsulin-and-n-nph.19/ and read the information here:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/beginners-guide-to-novolin-humulin-nph.186097/
I have not used this insulin and cannot advise you on how to use it, or dosing.

I think Sneaky's blood sugar went way too low and has been going too low since his dental extractions. It may be that he needs much less insulin now, and the only way you are going to know that is by testing him, often and regularly. Shooting blind (not testing) is very dangerous. You thought he was dying yesterday and possibly this morning too. I don't think you want to repeat that, and to be honest I don't know how many times Sneaky can come back from that.
You will need to make a spreadsheet and record your testing data so you can see the big picture. If you aren't able to do that on your device (what are you using, a laptop, tablet or phone?) someone can set that up for you.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/understanding-the-spreadsheet-grid.156606/
 
Some questions:
Your signature indicates Sneaky was 16 lbs and is now down to 5/12. Do you mean 5lbs, 12 ounces or am I misinterpreting the information?
If your cat has lost that much weight, it is imperative to get calories into him to help him regain some strength and weight.
Personally, if my interpretation is correct, I would not hesitate to feed him high carb food.
Is insulin due now? If so, please retest his BG and let us know what that reading is. Do not give him insulin just yet.
How long ago since you gave Sneaky food and what food did you give him?
Please provide this information and then we can guide you as to whether to give insulin or not.
 
Some questions:
Your signature indicates Sneaky was 16 lbs and is now down to 5/12. Do you mean 5lbs, 12 ounces or am I misinterpreting the information?
If your cat has lost that much weight, it is imperative to get calories into him to help him regain some strength and weight.
Personally, if my interpretation is correct, I would not hesitate to feed him high carb food.
Is insulin due now? If so, please retest his BG and let us know what that reading is. Do not give him insulin just yet.
How long ago since you gave Sneaky food and what food did you give him?
Please provide this information and then we can guide you as to whether to give insulin or not.

Thank you!
 
I hope the weight change is a typo. If he lost over 10 pounds he needs to be on a food like Hills A/D or Purina CN. Both of these are prescription food that you will get from the vet. Get the canned food and syringe feed him if he will not eat on his own. Both of these have the extra nutrients that a sick cat needs. If he lost that much weight he needs all of the nutrition you can get into him.
 
Thank you!
He got a can of fancy feast pate chicken. Yes he’s lost 12 pounds in the last 22 months. I have feed him the royal canine recovery n that vet lady said between that n the baby food he was getting since his teeth pulling is why he was week.
 
Some questions:
Your signature indicates Sneaky was 16 lbs and is now down to 5/12. Do you mean 5lbs, 12 ounces or am I misinterpreting the information?
If your cat has lost that much weight, it is imperative to get calories into him to help him regain some strength and weight.
Personally, if my interpretation is correct, I would not hesitate to feed him high carb food.
Is insulin due now? If so, please retest his BG and let us know what that reading is. Do not give him insulin just yet.
How long ago since you gave Sneaky food and what food did you give him?
Please provide this information and then we can guide you as to whether to give insulin or not.
Before I feed sneaky his bf was 517
After his feeding he was 499. Should I give insulin or when he’s got those numbers? Problem is after I leave for work I’m gone for 9 hours. Thank you
 
Might give him just .5 to get some insulin into him without having him go too low. Since we don't have any idea what's been going on with his blood glucose, at this point it's all just a guess.

As soon as possible, I'd try getting him onto a better insulin like Lantus, Levemir or ProZinc

Leave food down for him so he can eat if he needs to (or feels like it)
 
Might give him just .5 to get some insulin into him without having him go too low. Since we don't have any idea what's been going on with his blood glucose, at this point it's all just a guess.

As soon as possible, I'd try getting him onto a better insulin like Lantus, Levemir or ProZinc

Leave food down for him so he can eat if he needs to (or feels like it)
If I switched over, how much insulin would I give him with the new kind? Thank you
 
It would depend on which insulin and if you had any test results with the NPH at the time

Generally speaking, we usually start between .5 and 1U twice a day

With him weighing so little, probably start at .5
 
The Royal Canin Recovery is a prescription food that is similar to the A/D and CN foods. I think you should go back to feeding it until you start seeing a significant improvement in his weight. He is not getting enough calories and nutrition with the Fancy Feast. FF is a good food for diabetic cats, but you also have other health issues and his body needs more energy to deal with those also.
 
The Royal Canin Recovery is a prescription food that is similar to the A/D and CN foods. I think you should go back to feeding it until you start seeing a significant improvement in his weight. He is not getting enough calories and nutrition with the Fancy Feast. FF is a good food for diabetic cats, but you also have other health issues and his body needs more energy to deal with those also.
i talked to this vet that comes in where I work....he was large animal tho, said since his surgery n the stress of being out under he probably needs his insulin tweaked. He said the 400 was still kind low n to add a little syrup to his mouth? This morning I have none cause the 5 times I tried taking a reading it said error every time.
 
He said the 400 was still kind low n to add a little syrup to his mouth?
Do you mean Sneaky's BG was 400? If so he does NOT need any syrup as that BG is too high. If that reading was taken after you gave insulin last night, how many hours after the shot was that reading? Did you give Sneaky syrup after speaking with the vet?
It looks to me like you probably gave the last insulin shot around midnight your time or roughly 7 hours ago. If that is correct, then another shot should not be given for roughly another 4.5 to 5 hours.
Make sure Sneaky is getting lots of fluids as that will make it easier to get a blood sample and it's really important to know what his BG is at minimum before you give him another shot.
 
400 is not a low number. Normal glucose readings for a non-diabetic cat are 80-120 mg/dl (4.4-6.6 mmol/L). It may rise to 250-300 mg/dl (13.6-16.5 mmol/L) following a large or high-calorie meal. If a cat that has received insulin drops below 80 then you need to monitor the glucose levels to make sure they do not continue dropping. If they drop below 50 you would start using the syrup to get the levels to start rising again.
 
I don't like saying this, but your vet is giving you bad information. I am afraid that you and Sneaky may end up with the worst outcome with this advice. PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE find another vet that is knowledgeable in feline diabetes. If you create a separate post asking for vet recommendations with your city and state, we may have members in your area that can recommend someone.

I know it is difficult trusting advice you are receiving from an online forum, especially if the advice says something different from your vet. However on this site there are over 20,000 members and a large number of us have many years of experience with the daily care needed for caring for one or more diabetic cats. Unfortunately some vets have very little experience and training for treating diabetic cats.
 
400 is not a low number. Normal glucose readings for a non-diabetic cat are 80-120 mg/dl (4.4-6.6 mmol/L). It may rise to 250-300 mg/dl (13.6-16.5 mmol/L) following a large or high-calorie meal. If a cat that has received insulin drops below 80 then you need to monitor the glucose levels to make sure they do not continue dropping. If they drop below 50 you would start using the syrup to get the levels to start rising again.[/QUOTE
I don't like saying this, but your vet is giving you bad information. I am afraid that you and Sneaky may end up with the worst outcome with this advice. PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE find another vet that is knowledgeable in feline diabetes. If you create a separate post asking for vet recommendations with your city and state, we may have members in your area that can recommend someone.

I know it is difficult trusting advice you are receiving from an online forum, especially if the advice says something different from your vet. However on this site there are over 20,000 members and a large number of us have many years of experience with the daily care needed for caring for one or more diabetic cats. Unfortunately some vets have very little experience and training for treating diabetic cats.
the first vet I had him that diagnosed him told me watch this video how to administer the insulin wouldn’t show me or what 1 unit was n just keep feeding him what you have been feeding him. I went elsewhere from her.
 
How is Sneaky today?
Is he eating/drinking on his own?
Has he peed yet? Have you been able to check for ketones?
Have you checked his BG? Did you give him any insulin?
 
lots of us hoping/praying/sending healing thoughts/ for both Sneaky and you :bighug::bighug::bighug::nailbiting:
Thank you. My son came home yesterday from college to look after him till we can get him to the vet. He feeds him and waters him every few hours. No paniting from any sugar lows in 24 hours now.
 
How is Sneaky today?
Is he eating/drinking on his own?
Has he peed yet? Have you been able to check for ketones?
Have you checked his BG? Did you give him any insulin?
I didn’t give him any insulin. We still syringe feed and water him but he’s not so sleepy as he was Friday night early Saturday morning. My son came home yesterday got here at 9:30 am and has been watching him and feeds n waters him till we can get him inntomorrow
 
Sounds like Sneaky is doing a bit better and getting some pretty dedicated attention.:)
I'd still test his BG at least once in a while to see where he goes without insulin and if at all possible, try to test for ketones.
 
Sounds like Sneaky is doing a bit better and getting some pretty dedicated attention.:)
I'd still test his BG at least once in a while to see where he goes without insulin and if at all possible, try to test for ketones.
I tried to this morning before work but couldn’t get a reading, so I decided not to give the insulin. But have my son feed him every few hours to keep it up. He will lift his head up. I haven’t been around when he pees to get a sample. But he hasn’t gotten up either.
 
Has he peed at all since yesterday? I completely understand if you didn't catch him peeing or if he perhaps had a an accident instead of visiting the litter box, but if he hasn't peed since yesterday that is an emergency and could be from dehydration or a blockage.

Sneaky no doubt needs calories and if by any chance there are ketones involved, he needs even more food than usual but make sure that he is also getting lot of fluids. Maybe a bowl of water nearby where Sneaky is resting will encourage him to drink a bit more if he doesn't have to go far. Add water to his food and syringe some extra fluids into him carefully, very small amounts at a time into the pouch at the side of his mouth to ensure he doesn't choke or inhale the fluid.
 
Has he peed at all since yesterday? I completely understand if you didn't catch him peeing or if he perhaps had a an accident instead of visiting the litter box, but if he hasn't peed since yesterday that is an emergency and could be from dehydration or a blockage.

Sneaky no doubt needs calories and if by any chance there are ketones involved, he needs even more food than usual but make sure that he is also getting lot of fluids. Maybe a bowl of water nearby where Sneaky is resting will encourage him to drink a bit more if he doesn't have to go far. Add water to his food and syringe some extra fluids into him carefully, very small amounts at a time into the pouch at the side of his mouth to ensure he doesn't choke or inhale the fluid.
Yes. I read that either. He had peed twice since I left for work and yes I have food and water by his bed if he needs it in between us feeding him.
 
Here are a couple suggestions that may make it easier to get blood from the ear. One is to massage the ear from the base towards the tip before you poke. After you poke the ear continue massaging the ear towards the tip. Sometimes the ears need to learn to bleed.

Another suggestion is to warm the ear before testing. You can use either a rice sock or damp paper towel that has been warmed in the microwave and hold it next to the ear to warm it. You only want the towel or sock to be slightly warm and not hot enough to burn.

In both cases, you want to have your meter ready. You can place the strip almost in it and then when you are ready to get the blood finish inserting the strip.
 
Here are a couple suggestions that may make it easier to get blood from the ear. One is to massage the ear from the base towards the tip before you poke. After you poke the ear continue massaging the ear towards the tip. Sometimes the ears need to learn to bleed.

Another suggestion is to warm the ear before testing. You can use either a rice sock or damp paper towel that has been warmed in the microwave and hold it next to the ear to warm it. You only want the towel or sock to be slightly warm and not hot enough to burn.

In both cases, you want to have your meter ready. You can place the strip almost in it and then when you are ready to get the blood finish inserting the strip.
Thank you
 
Here are a couple suggestions that may make it easier to get blood from the ear. One is to massage the ear from the base towards the tip before you poke. After you poke the ear continue massaging the ear towards the tip. Sometimes the ears need to learn to bleed.

Another suggestion is to warm the ear before testing. You can use either a rice sock or damp paper towel that has been warmed in the microwave and hold it next to the ear to warm it. You only want the towel or sock to be slightly warm and not hot enough to burn.

In both cases, you want to have your meter ready. You can place the strip almost in it and then when you are ready to get the blood finish inserting the strip.
Another low fed him syrup anymore suggestions. I’m feeding him some cat food with gravy as well. Anymore advice??
 
Are there any updates today?
Sneaky died last night at 5:10. Why wouldn’t the vet lady say the teeth pulling n the stress from being out under could mess with his insulin too. That’s what my vet friend who came into work said this morning. The vet lady who did sneakys teeth said she’s had a diabetic cat at the office for 9 years on a more expensive insulin n uses him as a tax right off. Why wouldn’t she say something about changing his insulin when he got his teeth out.
 
I am sorry to read this, but Sneaky is no longer suffering and that is a blessing. If you have other kitties, or get another cat, you know now it's important to provide a diet that will hopefully prevent diabetes: low carbohydrate food.

There are many sites online that you can access and you can learn how to take care of a cat with different health conditions and what to do after dental procedures, surgery or any disease like diabetes, as soon as you know there is a problem. Knowledge is power, and as you have sadly learned, health care professionals are not all knowing, and some of them might not be able to adequately care for the person or animal in need.

We share your grief even though we knew Sneaky for such a short time. cat_wings>o
 
I am so very sorry to hear Sneaky has gone ahead. You did your best and Sneaky knows that and that he was loved. RIP sweet Sneaky! cat_wings>o
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top