New to the group and at home testing!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sydney & Rosie

Member Since 2018
Hi everyone, I was referred to this group from a friend. My sugar baby Rosie (9 years old) was diagnosed with FD the beginning of March. I had very little direction from my vet about managing this condition. Last month she was diagnosed with a gum infection and received an antibiotic injection. Due to the infection she wasn't eating much but I was never told to adjust her dose. She ended up going into a hypoglycaemic coma and had a seizure, fortunately I was able to rush her to the vet in time. The gum infection did not heal so I took her back for a check up and the vet decided we would have to remove 4 rotten teeth that were causing the nasty gum infection. I have since learnt about at home testing and did my first test last night. I am going to try now to transition her to a wet food diet, slowly of course. I am going to try Fancy Feast Chicken pate. She and her non sugar baby sister are both kibble addicts so any tips on transitioning are appreciated! Also I would love more info on how often I should be testing her BG, I am thinking checking after every meal before I inject is best.
 

Attachments

  • 34268777_10155293875200458_7662138866274402304_n.jpg
    34268777_10155293875200458_7662138866274402304_n.jpg
    43.5 KB · Views: 103
The basic testing routine we recommend is as follows:
  1. test every day AM and PM before feeding and injecting (no food at least 2 hours before) to see if the planned dose is safe
  2. test at least once near mid cycle or at bedtime daily to see how low the BG goes
  3. do extra tests on days off to fill in the response picture
  4. if indicated by consistently high numbers, increase the dose by no more than 0.25 u at a time so you don't accidentally go right past a good dose
  5. post here for advice whenever you're confused or unsure of what to do.
 
Welcome, Rosie is lovely! I'm so sorry you've had a rough start with the sugar dance. Lots of information here and experienced, knowledgeable people who can answer questions and concerns. I learned that it's advisable to test between shots, to see how low the BG goes, that gives you continued data and helps prevent hypos. Good for you that you are home testing! You might check the information in the Health Links/FAQs forum to get started. You didn't mention what insulin you are using.
 
Hello welcome to the forum. What a beautiful kitty! I have only been here a few weeks but have learned so much thanks to the wonderful members here.
Changing to low carb wet food should make a big difference to her BG (blood glucose) levels.
keep asking questions here.

Lila
 
The basic testing routine we recommend is as follows:
  1. test every day AM and PM before feeding and injecting (no food at least 2 hours before) to see if the planned dose is safe
  2. test at least once near mid cycle or at bedtime daily to see how low the BG goes
  3. do extra tests on days off to fill in the response picture
  4. if indicated by consistently high numbers, increase the dose by no more than 0.25 u at a time so you don't accidentally go right past a good dose
  5. post here for advice whenever you're confused or unsure of what to do.

Thank you so much for this outline!! My vet did say if she doesn't eat then she doesn't get an injection. She typically eats but with recovering from the dental work and infection, her appetite hasn't been consistent. Her BG was 15 mmol tonight which is high I know but then she wouldn't eat her dinner so I didn't inject her. What are your thoughts on this?
 
Welcome, Rosie is lovely! I'm so sorry you've had a rough start with the sugar dance. Lots of information here and experienced, knowledgeable people who can answer questions and concerns. I learned that it's advisable to test between shots, to see how low the BG goes, that gives you continued data and helps prevent hypos. Good for you that you are home testing! You might check the information in the Health Links/FAQs forum to get started. You didn't mention what insulin you are using.

Thank you so much for the reply! I am using Caninsulin. Although I have come to learn today that is insulin is not specific to cats and that perhaps I should be using Lantaus instead?
 
China says "Hi and Welcome! Nice to have another white kitty around here!"

Rosie is beautiful!!

I was very lucky....after China was diagnosed, I threw away all the kibble and put down canned and all my cats loved it so I didn't have to deal with any hard core kibble addicts.

There's a lot of ideas in this "Tips to Transitioning Feline Dry Food Addicts to Canned Food" page

Thank you! China is beautiful as well and what a cute name :) thanks for the link, she turned her nose up at the pate tonight I tried mixing in with her kibble and then she didn't even want to eat the kibble on its own. Her appetite has been all over the map with this infection
 
I just saw your post on the Facebook group....I see you're in Canada!

One thing you should know....you can get Lantus OTC in Canada.....it doesn't require a script! You can go to any human pharmacy and ask for it (and you'll pay a lot less than we do in the US too!)
 
found you.... Glad you are here. We can give you lots of tips and guidance here. There are more inexperienced folks on facebook who don't always give the best advice.
This place is peer reviewed so if someone says something inaccurate, someone is likely to catch it and speak up without it getting ugly like it can on facebook.

the first thing we recommend to anyone joining is to start a spreadsheet.
Here are the instructions....http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/

if you need help setting it up, there are some here who can do it for you. Just ask.


I'm glad you can get lantus so easily in Canada. That will help you in switching.

Do be advised that if Rosie decides she likes all wet food, her bg could drop so be aware of that when giving insulin. Once the infection is gone, and IF the vet truly got all the bad teeth, that could also lower her insulin needs.
 
found you.... Glad you are here. We can give you lots of tips and guidance here. There are more inexperienced folks on facebook who don't always give the best advice.
This place is peer reviewed so if someone says something inaccurate, someone is likely to catch it and speak up without it getting ugly like it can on facebook.

the first thing we recommend to anyone joining is to start a spreadsheet.
Here are the instructions....http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/

if you need help setting it up, there are some here who can do it for you. Just ask.


I'm glad you can get lantus so easily in Canada. That will help you in switching.

Do be advised that if Rosie decides she likes all wet food, her bg could drop so be aware of that when giving insulin. Once the infection is gone, and IF the vet truly got all the bad teeth, that could also lower her insulin needs.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top