New to the forum! (newly diabetic kitty)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Emily & Shylo

Member Since 2014
Hello everyone! The awesome people over at thecatsite recommended I come by here since my cat Shylo was recently diagnosed with diabetes following a serious surgery on his biliary tract. Allow me to give the quick rundown of what happened;

A couple weeks ago now Shylo fell ill out of the blue and was vomiting several times in a row. When I took him to the emergency vet we discovered that his gallbladder was filled with gallstones (through xray), and the following morning after an ultrasound we confirmed that they had actually obstructed the gallbladder. I opted for surgery that day to remove the stones which went thankfully without complication. The tissue culture they took came back negative for infection, so the assumption is that it's possible the stones could have come from a diet related issue. Shylo had been a free-feeding kibble cat for his entire life (he just turned eight this summer) and for the past two years or so had been on Blue's indoor formula. Thus began the need for a diet change. After some discussion with some users on the other site I agreed that a raw diet would be best for him (especially since the vet had recommended a lower cholesterol diet as it could contribute to stones).

When Shylo went for his recheck they were concerned that his glucose level was elevated beyond what was considered normal for a cat under stress. At this point I had had a little success trying to get him onto wet food (kibble junkie) but no great victory with my stubborn little guy. The vet eventually was able to do a urinanalysis when I couldn't get a sample to test at home and they confirmed that he had indeed developed diabetes.

He's been on a 1 unit dose of Lantus for about ten days now (combined with a diet change) and is beginning to gain back some of the weight he lost. Right now I've finally gotten him on two meals daily (he's been getting half wet, half raw and a tiny bit of grain-free kibble, of which he definitely is not as interested in as he used to be which is good?) and his energy level has definitely improved from what it's been the past few weeks.

He went for his first curve today, so I figured it was a good time to come in and get some extra support! Let me just paste what the vet wrote on his discharge sheet today:

"The blood sugar curve was as follows:
308
295
215
156
129
We would recommend continuing the insulin at the current dose and recheck a curve in 2-3 weeks. We may need to titrate the dose downwards by a 1/2 unit depending on the next curve."

They tested every two hours (he ate about a half hour before the first number). I have my own meter coming in the mail soon (mom is mailing it from home), so I'll be able to check more frequently here. I still want to get him onto a completely raw diet, although another user cautioned removing too many carbs without altering his insulin dosage, which makes total sense. Long term my goal is to hopefully have him go into remission through diet control.

Aaaand I think that's about it! I guess my questions are mostly; How does his curve look so far, and if I want to continue to change his diet how often should I check his glucose level once I get my meter? What is the ideal range that his glucose levels should stay in?
 
Was here a preshot or was the 308 the preshot?. i.e. how long after each shot was the BG taken?
I would be leary giving 1 unit this evening since the last BG was 129.
The high initial BG may be due to vet stress since stress can rain BG 100 points or more.

Welcome.

Most of us here test before each shot and periodically do a curve. How often depends upon the history of BG of of periodically BG taken between shots
 
Khayr said:
aaand I think that's about it! I guess my questions are mostly; How does his curve look so far, and if I want to continue to change his diet how often should I check his glucose level once I get my meter? What is the ideal range that his glucose levels should stay in?

The curve doesn't look that bad, considering it was at the vet. Most cats run higher there because they are stressed, some cats run up to 100 points higher. Generally, we say a regulated cat is in the lower to mid 200s at preshot and double digits at nadir, but not below 40 (which is approaching hypo territory) A cat in remission, off insulin, ranges from 40 -120, with the majority of the time in double digits.

When you get your Mom's meter, you might go to Ebay to look for strips. (they are the expensive part) If it is a brand name meter, you often can get strips for less than half the price in stores.

With Lantus, you want to check before each shot (to be sure the dose you are planning on makes sense for the preshot number) and at nadir (the lowest point of the cycle which is usually 5-7 hours after the shot) to start. The dose is based on the nadir so that number is important.
 
@Larry and the Kitties ; The vet had just told me to feed him and give him his insulin before I brought him in that morning, and since I haven't received my own meter yet I don't have a pre-shot number (this is one of those things I wish the vet had told me about before sending me home with the insulin and everything). So the day went like this; insulin+meal @ 7:30am, first BG was at 8am, second at 10am, third at 12pm, fourth at 2pm and fifth at 4pm... dinner and etc was at 8pm today since I had to push it back a little so I'll be around with work tomorrow. I definitely haven't ruled out that the first number was stress-related as Shylo is definitely well... shy.

I definitely am going to be testing much more frequently as soon as my own meter arrives... snail mail is killing me here.

@Sue and Oliver ; Thanks for the heads up on the strips, I'll definitely look into that. Anything to save a bit of money (as obviously you guys are well aware how quickly this adds up).

The more I read and learn here and on the other site the more I wish the vet had informed me on all of this! The one that diagnosed him never mentioned frequent testing like this, I'm definitely glad that I went out of my way to learn more. I'm about to go digging into the Lantus subforum to learn more after I post.
 
Good news is my meter will be here tomorrow! So for his evening dose I'll finally be able to start testing properly, at least. I won't be able to do a more accurate curve at home until my next day off, but then at least I'll have a better idea of how he's doing.
 
Take a look at my signature link Secondary Monitoring Tools for other assessments you may wish to do.

Urine testing for ketones is highly recommended. Ketones form as a by-product of fat breakdown. Too many ketones may indicate diabetic ketoacidosis (DKA), a potentially fatal, expensive to treat, complication of diabetes.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top