New to Testing- background and some questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

muestafa1

Member Since 2011
My apologies for the length of this post, but being my first post there's a lot to say

Snowball’s background
Snowball, our 13 yr old kitty was diagnosed with diabetes about two years ago. He went from weighing 23lbs to 13lbs. Following his diagnosis we switched him and our other kitties to Evo dry food and lower carb wet food twice a day. Snowball was put on insulin (PZI) twice daily and did fairly well regaining 5lbs and ending up at a much healthier weight. At the advice of the vet we didn’t do any home testing and instead relied on fructosamines every six months or so. When the PZI brand was discontinued we switched him over to ProZinc. His dosage had slowly shrunk down to 2 units, twice daily.

Snowball’s crappy week
Recently Snowball has lost some weight, had nausea (throwing up clear or slightly brown mucus), and also had a decreased appetite (usually he eats his food and all of our other cat’s leftovers). Last week Saturday we went to the store and he was fine, when we came back was like a little zombie cat. He kept pushing his head into things and was limping. (Poor little guy was Hypo and we didn’t know it). We took him to our emergency vet clinic and they hospitalized him. He was released the next day and seemed back to normal, but then the following day he threw up blood. After more tests, another hospitalization and a visit to a specialist with ultrasound equipment we found out that he had pancreatitis and the enlarged pancreas was pushing on his stomach, gall bladder and his bile duct. Snowball is now on antibiotics, steroids, and anti-vomit meds for a few weeks. His insulin dosage was shrunk down to 1 unit, twice daily amid concerns about the Hypo event and the results of his latest fructosamine

Testing
After his Hypo event we decided that we were going to start home testing even if our vet thought it was unnecessary. Now that he’s on steroids we definitely want to keep an eye on things. We also want to make sure that we’re really controlling his diabetes.
We purchased a ReliOn tester yesterday and took our first reading last night. I was so nervous – kept reading the instructions and then more posts on this board and then back to the instructions. Everything went real well and we realized that home testing wasn't anything to be afraid of. We took another reading this morning and are 2 for 2 on drawing blood, but it definitely helps that snowball is all white - very easy to see veins and “sweet spot” on his ears). We plan to do a curve this weekend.

Questions
1) I’m a little confused about when we should test Snowball‘s glucose levels. It looks like people often check for a glucose reading prior to giving insulin. But is that before feeding, a set time after feeding, or doesn’t it matter as long as you compare it to a similar time in the last curve that was done?
2) Normally we feed snowball and then give him his insulin 10-15 minutes later. Are we better off giving insulin sooner or later instead? Also, how long does it take for food to be absorbed and raise the glucose?
3) The two blood draws we’ve done have left marks on his ears. We decreased the lancet depth each time and I’ll try to go down another setting the next time, but I was wondering if bruising is normal? We were trying to figure out if we didn’t apply enough pressure, or if the marks are just exasperated by snowball having white ears.
4) Is there anything else we should be doing? Should we be checking for ketones? Does anyone have any experience with a diabetic with pancreatitis? Or with a diabetic on steroids, anything to watch for?

Finally, I want to thank everyone that posts in these forums. Two years ago we looked on this forum and found great information on low carb food alternatives which helped Snowball out immensely. Now returning back to this forum we've gained the confidence and knowledge to do home testing. I can't thank everyone enough!
 
Welcome!

We recommend that you test before every shot to make sure it is safe to use insulin in the amount you are choosing and with PZI, about 6 hours after the shot to see how low the insulin takes him. Here is some info on PZI: viewtopic.php?f=24&t=32799 We test before feeding because food can raise bg levels and you don't want to shoot a number that has risen because of the food, you want to feed a "true" number. So we withhold food for about 2 hours before the shot. Then most of us freefeed the rest of the day as food has help support the pancreas healing. We divide the amount of food we are going to feed in several small meals a day.

Yes, you do want to test for ketones. Get ketostix at the drugstore and stick it into his urine stream.

What numbers are you seeing?

We have an Insulin support group for PZI: viewforum.php?f=24 You might take a look at other's posting and look at their spreadsheets to see how they are working with PZI.
 
Thanks for the quick reply! Our readings were taken at goofy times, so i tried to put an explanation after each one. On a go forward I'll try to pull up crunchies two hours prior to his testing. Todays evening number sounds high to me (not that i have any frame of reference), but I don't know if it's him adjusting to the halved dose or if it's going to be to low of a dose for him in the long run. Also, we've been feeding him extra treats as we've been able to hide pills in the treats.

Yesterday evening his bg was 281 at 11:40PM. He was fed wet food and received his insulin aprox 2 hours prior to this result
This morning his bg was 353 at 8:20am. He was fed wet food about 20 minutes earlier and we gave him his insulin after the test
This evening his bg was 421 at 8:11PM. This was prior to his wet food feeding or insulin. (Although crunchies were available for grazing prior to test)
 
These are pretty good numbers for a new diabetic. The crunchies - are they like Tempations or other dry treats? Those can really raise blood glucose levels. Here is a list of wet lo carb treats: Lo carb treats

You are giving two units a day, correct? When did you change the diet to wet?

When we changed Oliver over from wet to dry, his numbers dived 100 points overnight. So, if you recently made a food change, you might consider lowering the dose. Our theory is that it is better to be in high numbers for a day than in low numbers for a minute. You can always increase the insulin as you get numbers that show he needs it, but if you put too much in, there is no way to decrease it!

A tool that will be very helpful for you to see trends and patterns and for us when you would like advice, is the spreadsheet. You may have seen them attached to other's posts: Setting up a spreadsheet
 
Sue and Oliver said:
These are pretty good numbers for a new diabetic. The crunchies - are they like Tempations or other dry treats? Those can really raise blood glucose levels. Here is a list of wet lo carb treats: Lo carb treats

You are giving two units a day, correct? When did you change the diet to wet?

When we changed Oliver over from wet to dry, his numbers dived 100 points overnight. So, if you recently made a food change, you might consider lowering the dose. Our theory is that it is better to be in high numbers for a day than in low numbers for a minute. You can always increase the insulin as you get numbers that show he needs it, but if you put too much in, there is no way to decrease it!

A tool that will be very helpful for you to see trends and patterns and for us when you would like advice, is the spreadsheet. You may have seen them attached to other's posts: Setting up a spreadsheet

Yes, after the hypo incident and the recent discovery of the pancreatitis the vet moved his insulin down to 1 unit, twice daily. We've always fed wet food twice daily, with crunchies available to graze on. When Snowball was diagnosed a few years back we switched the crunchies over to Evo. I think we have some opportunity to reduce some of the carbs in the wet food we're feeding by switching to a different manufacturer and we're planning to make that switch. The treats were a quick purchase as we were looking to for a soft treat that we could hide the antibiotics and steroids in. We'll definitely take a look at the list of low carb treats! Thanks so much! We'll also start a spreadsheet, looks amazing! Thanks on behalf of my Wife and I, and of course Snowball!
 
Just wanted to say hello and welcome. I have found this board really helpful in helping me treat my kitty Max's diabetes and it sounds like you are too. I haven't had experience with pancreatitis or steriods, and I still feel like a newbie when it comes to home testing. I can attest though that it is so worth it. Max also had some bruising with the testing. I read somewhere in one of threads that, if you pinch the ear a little with gauze or tissue after your meter has had its sip of blood, it helps minimize the bruising and I've found this to be true. I'm sure with snow white ears, the bruising shows up more. Max has dark very furry ears, which can make getting the drop of blood hard sometimes. His fur will absorb it super quick if I don't use vaseline. LOL. So hard to watch your perfect drop disappear.

Just read you were going to try for a curve this weekend. Like Sue said, food can affect BG levels. When I did my curve, I tried to feed right after my test so that would give me 2 hours before the next test and then fed again (test then feed, test then feed). Good luck and let us know how things go.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top