New to PZ

@Suzanne & Darcy

We dropped 100 points in 2hrs. Not sure if I need to steer with MC or see how he does on his own. His 1/2can of LC is fixing to open for his +3 meal. Ideas?

Edit: I didn’t intervene last night mostly because I need to know what his glucose would do (and he was at a safe number) without me intervening, just in case I’m asleep when this happens. If you are online later and can look at the data I collect throughout today please let me know what you think. As far as I’ve read, the 90 didn’t earn a reduction because it wasn’t “below 90.” Correct me if I’m wrong though. Today also makes day 7 of the 0.75dose but for 2 of those mornings I only gave the 0.5 so I’m not sure what happens here. Would I increase to 1.0 since it’s basically been 7 days and he hasn’t dropped below 90 or since we are hitting some lower numbers and he didn’t get exactly 7 days of this dose do we stay at 0.75 and see how he continues to do? His cycles are confusing to me… like yesterday AM we seemed to still be dropping at PMPS- should I have done something different- such as stalled or shot a token dose or did I do the right thing so we could see how the 0.75dose did? I’m missing mid cycle data as I was gone from home longer than I planned. And the nadir for AM cycle seems later but PM seems earlier… not sure if I have enough data to determine that precisely though.
 
Last edited:
Well, all of that changes because I just got an 89 o_O Is there a certain BG that you want to give MC/HC? I’m thinking if we get into the 70s I will steer with MC. He’s happy, playful and eating like normal.
 
@Suzanne & Darcy

Let me know if you have time to look at my SS. I took the reduction because of the 89 but I really don’t feel like he needed the reduction, we were finally getting into better numbers. I did not intervene with the 90 on the PM cycle or the 89 on AM cycle.. he just ate his LC from the feeder. He started climbing back up with the 0.5 dose so I tried 0.5F last night and then I ended up going back to 0.75 this morning. I know I shouldn’t be changing the dose like this but I hate to hold 0.5 for a week while he stays high when he barely earned the reduction. I’m also back to work tomorrow so I know depending on the AMPS, I may have to give a reduced dose since I can’t monitor him. I’m open to suggestions!
Thanks!
 
Ok, thank you!! Some of it just doesn’t make sense to me… like 6/11 & 6/12 at +4, one day it’s almost no change from AMPS and the next it’s a lot of change with a preshot that’s only 15 points difference. I’m not really sure where his nadir even is. He eats pretty much the same everyday and nothing really changes day to day that I can see would make differences in BG.
 
It certainly does look like he did better on the .75 dose. You have gathered some good information on the spreadsheet. I feel better about having that data.

I noticed those days on the spreadsheet where he doesn’t budge much. On 6/11, for example, It looks like perhaps a mini bounce (just into yellow) from the blue numbers the previous night, and then later in the cycle and into the evening cycle he starts to drift back down into blue and even green.
 
I had wondered about any bounces but since they weren’t big bounces they weren’t really noticeable to me, but I can see what you mean on that day.

I also read a lot on calipers last night and inaccuracy of syringes and that made me wonder if although I’m doing my best on 0.75U - maybe they aren’t exactly the same every time.

He’s 195 now so I feel pretty good shooting 0.75 today while I’m gone. I know it wasn’t following protocol- but is it okay that I’m back at 0.75? And I guess stay here unless I hit something under 90 or have a low PS that I don’t feel safe shooting?
 
I had wondered about any bounces but since they weren’t big bounces they weren’t really noticeable to me, but I can see what you mean on that day.

I also read a lot on calipers last night and inaccuracy of syringes and that made me wonder if although I’m doing my best on 0.75U - maybe they aren’t exactly the same every time.

He’s 195 now so I feel pretty good shooting 0.75 today while I’m gone. I know it wasn’t following protocol- but is it okay that I’m back at 0.75? And I guess stay here unless I hit something under 90 or have a low PS that I don’t feel safe shooting?
Yes. I think it’s okay. Yes, not quite following protocol, but your situation is a little different than other people’s. And you could select a lower (custom) reduction point of maybe 80 or somewhere around there. It depends on what you’re comfortable with.
 
Yes. I think it’s okay. Yes, not quite following protocol, but your situation is a little different than other people’s. And you could select a lower (custom) reduction point of maybe 80 or somewhere around there. It depends on what you’re comfortable with.

I may end up doing that. I don’t want a hypo but I’d rather him be 89 than 300. Thanks for looking over his numbers. I really appreciate it!
 
Do you have an opinion on calipers? I’m not sure if that’s something I should pursue or just keep doing the best I can with syringes.
 
One thing I would do is to check each syringe to see if the stopper aligns with the zero mark. Some syringes are just not marked well. People switch brands because of this, but I also think that occasionally you will get a few in a batch that aren’t marked well.
 
Back
Top