Tina and Gracie (GA)
Active Member
Thank you for taking the time to help with the spreadsheet. Over time it'll be like second nature to me--until then I'm navigating my way through.
I will test prior to injection. IF she is under 200 then don't inject. I'm guessing I hold off on food until after test? What about the days that I can't give the second shot and test? Should I inject to be safe?
I can test mid cycle a couple days a week. It'll vary each week though, but it is something I will work in on the days I am home longer. I'll plan on testing at +4, +5, +6 ,+7 for the first few weeks just to help you and myself and others see when she reaches nadir.
I free hand poked yesterday. I guess it'll vary. I'll go ahead and order those too though. MUCH cheaper!!!
PS: SS is up. Still learning input stuff.
Great job! Yes, insulin should bring her to a normal range, but it takes time. We say around here that this is a marathon, not a sprint. She will come down, but it won't be with one shot...but it does happen! I promise!
How many hours past this morning's dose are you right now? When did she get the Glycobalance - right after that lime green number?YES!!!! I tested twice because I couldn't believe what I saw. I'm using the AT.
I gave her some Glycobalance. I can go to the store and buy something with higher carbs if needed.
She's eating OK. Doesn't appear wobbly. Just irritated cuz I tested twice.
I'm really glad you were there to help. Stephanie. If she's having difficulty testing the vet clinic is the safest place. She also has a really complicated school/work schedule.We've been in touch with Teenuh on Facebook, and she called me just a moment ago, wanted to give you an update as she's busy taking care of her kitty.
She hasn't managed to get another test after the 51 (which she double-checked) over an hour ago. Her kitty is acting normal. She fed her HC and also some karo/honey (didn't ask which). She made an appointment an hour from now with her vet. I suggested it was really important she test again as soon as possible, but given she was not managing, I suggested giving her more karo/honey (better safe than sorry if you're "blind") and going to the vet earlier if she was worried. Even though this is probably the kind of situation that is manageable at home, between the fact she is not managing to test and that she is "starting out" with the sugar dance, I felt the vet course was the safer option and told her as much.
Whoa! Is that 51 right? Are you using the pet meter or the human meter? That’s too low on a pet meter. Can you test again to make sure that’s accurate? If it is, please give her some higher carb food to eat as soon as you can.
We've been in touch with Teenuh on Facebook, and she called me just a moment ago, wanted to give you an update as she's busy taking care of her kitty.
She hasn't managed to get another test after the 51 (which she double-checked) over an hour ago. Her kitty is acting normal. She fed her HC and also some karo/honey (didn't ask which). She made an appointment an hour from now with her vet. I suggested it was really important she test again as soon as possible, but given she was not managing, I suggested giving her more karo/honey (better safe than sorry if you're "blind") and going to the vet earlier if she was worried. Even though this is probably the kind of situation that is manageable at home, between the fact she is not managing to test and that she is "starting out" with the sugar dance, I felt the vet course was the safer option and told her as much.
Hi Teenuh! I hope everything went well at the vet today! Please no rush on responding to anything - you guys had a rough day today - but I wanted to mention that Gracie is likely to be quite high tonight after that low number. Assuming she is, please lower her dose to half a unit, or one unit (let's see what other folks think is best). Two units is clearly too much for her. If she isn't high tonight, you may need to skip tonight completely.
I believe your dosing time is around 9pm Pacific Time Zone, and there aren't a lot of people around here at that time. If you need help and no one responds here, post out in the Main Health forum http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/feline-health-the-main-forum.28/ And there is almost always someone keeping an eye out there - even in the middle of the night.![]()
She is no longer on 2u's. 1u is the new dose. I will adjust my signature to reflect the change.I agree that a dose reduction is needed and she'll be insulin sensitive after the lows today. For that reason I think 0.5 u is safest for tonight if the pre shot BG is high enough.
This.The thing is--we wouldn't have made this adjustment without the home test.
I think vets should concentrate more on effective management of their patients' diabetes instead of trying to manage their clients' feelings. (The gods gave us therapists for that!It's nice of your vet to worry about your feelings ...
I agree with Djamila’s recommendation of 0.5 u. At this point I would say no insulin unless the pre shot BG is over 200 if you’re using a human meter. If you’re using a pet meter, I’d raise that no shot number to 250. As you accumulate more data, you’ll be able to lower your no shot number.What should BG be to give 0.5 vs 1 or none for tonight?
Jinx!I agree with Djamila’s recommendation of 0.5 u. At this point I would say no insulin unless the pre shot BG is under 200 if you’re using a human meter. If you’re using a pet meter, I’d raise that no shot number to 250. As you accumulate more data, you’ll be able to lower your no shot number.
That drop was possibly worse than what Vetsulin/Caninsulin can do!Well, she went from 439 to 51 in two hours today, so I wouldn't shoot 1 unit no matter what number tomorrow. That was a really fast drop.
That drop was possibly worse than what Vetsulin/Caninsulin can do!
.
I'll definitely look into this. I just ordered an automatic/timed feeder--that should be there tomorrow.That drop was possibly worse than what Vetsulin/Caninsulin can do!
@Teenuh - while things are in flux dose-wise, it's probably a good precaution to regularly test for ketones. (You can use Ketostix or similar for this.) More info:
Testing cat for ketones
Urine collection tips
Mogs
.
Oh sweet Gracie! That's a rough day in blood glucose land! Extra chin scratches for your little one!Vet just called me. She forgot to mention they tested her at 3pm. Just before pickup. Her number was over 400.
Yes, there is a tab with reference ranges in the speadsheet. Do you know which lab they use? My vet uses IDEXX which has slightly different references than the ones that are already in there - so if you notice a difference, that might be why.This stuff happens from being on too high of a dose I'm guessing?
PS: I forgot to get her recent lab work from Dx. They tested all kinds of stuff. I think I saw a place to input on the spreadsheet.
I thought Caninsulin/Vetsulin drops in the 300mg/dL range were bad.Yes, I think this one might be a record. I don't think I've ever seen a Prozinc dose drop that hard and fast!