New to ProZinc, not new to FD

Status
Not open for further replies.

KJ & Alfred

Member Since 2013
Help! I'm so confused..... and looking at other PZI spreadsheets has only confused me further.

We just started on insulin again today after a 3 year remission. We used Lantus last time.
The BG at the vet was 560 (very stressed cat....this was after drive, blood draw and urine draw) and she gave him his first dose of 1U at 12:30pm. She said his numbers were high enough that I could give the second dose tonight at whatever time would be my new normal (so, for me 7pm).

He's eaten too small meals since then. At 6:30 I tested him and got 186. I shouldn't give a shot, right????

Vet also told me NOT TO HOME TEST for the first week - even though she is familiar with this website, the spreadsheets and knows I tested regularly the first go-round. I think it is crazy not to test.

Last thing - my test strips are old...didn't realize they had a "use by" date until just now and can't get to store to get new ones until tomorrow. Could that be a factor? They had a use by date of 2014.
 
Hi KJ and Alfred,

His numbers may have been a lot higher because of vet stress or it may be that the old strips aren't accurate. If he were mine, I would wait until tomorrow when you can get new strips. Then you'll know exactly what you are dealing with. Better too high for a day than low for a minute.

We generally suggest new diabetics not to shoot under 200 but stall - wait 20 minutes without feeding and retest, to be sure his numbers are going up, not down and above 200.

And yes, of course you should test. Test before each shot to be sure the dose you are planning on is safe (like tonight, possibly) and 5-7 hours after the shot to see how low he goes midcycle.

The directions for the spreadsheet are here:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/
 
Thank you so much Sue.... I definitely will continue testing and have just updated the spreadsheet with a new tab for 2016. I will test again tonight when it is closer to what a proper 12-hour cycle would be.
This happened last time....his BG was so sky high at the vet, they kept increasing the dose and as soon as I came here, started home testing, etc....we were able to drop the dose rapidly.
 
Yep. vets often seem to think that we don't need to home test. No idea why! My vet mentioned it but didn't insist...just said I could if I wanted to. I was lucky in some ways though...when I started home testing, she thought it was great and pretty much let me manage things the way I wanted!
 
This vet said "I think it does too much damage to the relationship with your cat". I was thinking in my head, "Not as much damage as overdosing him with insulin!"...but I just nodded and left, knowing I would do it at home anyway. She really said specifically, not to test in the FIRST WEEK and then I could do a curve. Seems like the first week could be some of the most important time to test especially when dosages are prescribed at the vet clinic where kitties are highly stressed and throwing numbers you might never see at home.

Anyway...appreciate the support here. I know people say it's like riding a bike and it will all come back....but I'm extremely wobbly on this bike right now!! Thanks FDMB for being my helmet and knee pads. ;)
 
Glad you went with your gut and experience. The vet won't be around to help with a hypo at midnight.....
Ain't that the truth ;)

Another question while I'm at it:
So Alfred has just started back on insulin yesterday and unfortunately, I had a trip planned for Wednesday - Monday. It's almost all non-refundable and was supposed to be a celebration for my 10th wedding anniversary. Anyway....I have a vet tech who has offered to housesit. She is very familiar with diabetic cats and willing to test pre-shot. She'll be working and busy with stuff on the weekend, so I want to leave her with the most simple protocol possible. Should I ask her to test pre-shot and instruct her just NOT TO SHOOT for any number lower than 200? His numbers are still pretty high, being so early in the game, so I doubt she'll even see any number that low....but I want to be prepared.

Advice?
(And yes, I already feel like an ass leaving him to go on vacation....but I think I'm leaving him with the best scenario, someone well versed with FD and if anything happens with him, she can easily just take him to work with her.)
 
No, you are NOT an ass. You've found the best possible scenario for him and, you get to have a life.An ass is the person who decides FD is too much work and has their cat PTS.

I like your idea of having a 200 cutoff. Better too high than too low.
 
Welcome, again.. I know you wouldn't want to be here again.. I hope you can regulate Alfred as soon as possible.
If you have any questions, don't hesitate to ask them! :)
 
Thanks for the reassurance.

I'll be in touch with her and updating the SS while I'm gone.

Side note: what is the easiest way to be notified of replies to my posts? Do I need to click watch the thread? I like the new look around here, but I haven't figured it all out.
 
Go to your name in the upper right hand corner of this page. You can make choices under Preferences and Alert Preferences. If you want to watch a specific thread, then choose "Watch this thread" at the top of the thread, right hand side.
 
Hey, we all have lives (okay, maybe not OFTEN...but we DO have lives ;) ). Taking a trip for your anniversary is important. I'm glad you can leave Alfred in good hands at home. Don't feel like an ass. You're doing the best you can for Alfred, and that's all any of us could do!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top