? new to ProZinc and unsure about shooting tonight/dosing (time sensitive but not 911)

Status
Not open for further replies.

shadycat

Member Since 2012
I hope it is ok to post this 2 places, after I posted in the prozinc forum I wasn't sure if it was very active and I really need to decide what to do with her PM shot soon.

My sugar kitty Ella had been on Vetsulin and switched just this Tuesday p.m. to ProZinc because the vetsulin was causing so many dramatic ups and downs. She had been on 2.5u vetsulin 2x/day, and the vet rx 1 unit prozinc 2x/day. She was staying pretty high on 1u so I increased her next shots to about 1.25-1.3 and she was still staying high, so this morning I went up to 2 units. Maybe I should have checked with the vet first, but I don't 100% trust them after they pushed vetsulin on us for so long. I looked back at my GA sugarcat Shady's old spreadsheet and saw he got 3u ProZinc at Ella's a.m. bg per our old vet's sliding scale, so I figured 2 was safe to go up to.

Ella is due for her shot now (overdue by an hour actually) and bg is currently 280. I know that isn't low, but I have never shot that low with her, she is literally always at 450-500+ by time for her shot in the past. I am thinking to go back to 1u for tonight's shot, does that sound reasonable? Shady's old sliding scale had him at 3u for 400+, 2u for 300-400, 1u for 200-300, and no insulin below 200. She does seem to be rising so that makes me feel better about shooting.
 
Your PMPS of 224 would have been fine to shoot. Given that you staled for an hour and the numbers have risen to 280, you should be fine to five your cat her shot. You can certainly drop the dose back but I suspect you'll see high numbers again. What about dosing 1.5u?

It looks to me like you're seeing some bouncing off of the lower numbers. It can take up to 3 days for a bounce to clear. A bounce occurs when your cat drops into lower numbers than what her system is used to. The liver and pancreas release a stored form of glucose along with counter regulatory hormones that cause BG numbers to spike upward.
 
Thank you! That is good to know! I wasn't sure if there was some adjustment period to the new insulin. Yes, she got pretty low a few times on vetsulin so she may still be out of whack. I will go with 1.5 and see how it does. She didn't get low for the nadir, so the 2.0u may end up being ok (?), I'm just not used to giving a shot when she's in the 200s. I know prozinc is supposed to be longer lasting than the vetsulin which is why I wanted to switch, she dropped like a rock and shot back up again on vetsulin, so it's doing what I was hoping and what it is supposed to do, I'm just not used to it yet! :nailbiting:
 
Good luck with the Prozinc, it would be helpful if you can put in your signature the date you switched to Prozinc, and maybe put a color in the cell on your SS hen you started Prozinc so it stands out :cat:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top