New to Levemir - Need Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

arniesdad

Member Since 2009
Hi Everyone I am Arnie's Dad...Just got my Arnie switched from Lantus to Levemir this morning. Got the five pack of flex pens but I am a bit confused. I just read that an in-use pen should not be stored in the refridgerator?? But I am not using the pen with the special needles and using it to measure the doses. I am using it the same way I used the Lantus cartridge with a U-100 syringe..so do I keep it in the fridge or not? Need advice FAST! Cause I put it in the fridge for now!!
 
Keep it in the fridge. Lantus has the same recommendation actually. That is for people who use the pen mechanism, which we don't.
 
Hi Arnie's Dad!

Welcome here... great to see you.

I am a longtime fan of Arnie and of your incredible consistency and calm approach. I have used you and Arnie several times as an example of how to dose.

I have not looked at Arnie's ss recently -- will now, obviously -- though I do remember that there were some issues and you had some troubles lately with rising dose / numbers. Wondering whether you would want to say in more detail why you switched from Lantus (a perfectly good recombinant DNA/rDNA product) to Levemir (an even better recombinant DNA product ; ) ).

Welcome again -- and best wishes,

Ilkka and Tom


PS Levemir gets refrigerated but it does much better than Lantus outside of the refrigerator if you forget to put it back in.
 
Hi everyone, Thank You for the welcomes and information it is much appreciated!


Ilkka and Tom...I decided to switch from Lantus to Levemir because Arnie has not been doing well lately on Lantus. I have raised his dose several times and his numbers are still bad, averaging in the 300's and up in the 400's at times..even a 494 one night. Several people from Lantus Land suggested we give Levemir a try so here we are. The vet has recommended we start out on 2 units twice a day even though he was getting 4.5 on Lantus. She even suggested that I do not check his BG the first week and then do a curve. I will do the curve but there is no way I am going without checking him. She is a very good vet. One of the best feline vets in the State of Florida without question but she just don't know how we are about monitoring our kitties :lol:
 
Quite often, when switching from Lantus to Lev, it's safe to lower the dose, maybe 70% less or so.
I wanted to add that some cats seem to like Lev better; when I switched Shadoe from Lantus to Lev, she was less tense and reacted better to Lev quickly.
 
Hi Arnie's dad,
Welcome to Levemir.

As someone who's completely unfamiliar with Arnie's case and his spreadsheet, I hope you'll consider my observations with an open mind.

Has anyone given you an explanation as to why his PM preshot is almost always greater than 350? If so, can you please share that with us?

If you are comfortable with ketone testing, I would highly recommend dropping all the way back to 1U. Not only is it our recommended starting point when switching with Levemir (sometimes we even do .5U) but when I see signs of Glycogenolysis, otherwise nicknamed "panicky liver," I suspect rebound because the dose is too high. http://petdiabetes.wikia.com/wiki/Glycogenolysis The greens he's had on Lantus blare out like a siren because of all the pinks. Something is not right there.

Admittedly I have not used Lantus, but unless Arnie is started out on Levemir at a dose below what might be his optimum one, he will continue to have the same types of cycles he's had on Lantus. Having a dose which is too high does not necessarily throw them in to hypoglycemia, so since you rarely see 40s, there doesn't seem to be a reason to lower dose, if you don't look beyond the black and white of the Tilly protocol.

The swings he's having are typical of too much insulin. Too much insulin will also extend duration, which he is also having. His curve in March clearly went for 24 hours. Very good of you for doing that. I'm sure it was hard!

The Tilly protocol does not really address this action of the liver, it merely says if nadir is within such and such range, raise the dose XX amount. But if there is extreme liver action, as I suspect here, you are basing doses on "artificially" elevated BGs.

I gather the "protocol" is to continue raising dose to try to break the liver. Breaking something to "fix" it doesn't make a lot of sense to me unless you're talking about horses.

Some cats need an extended period of adjustment to really show what a particular dose can do. I'm not sure if Arnie is one of those cats or not. It's very difficult to tell what his response was to any 1 dose, because his response has pretty much been about the same since his dose began being raised a year ago, continually increasing numbers as the dose was increased.

I'm sorry, I know you didn't post here looking for dose advice really, but after reading his spreadsheets, I am worried. Glad you got the refrigeration question answered. Levemir is good till the last drop, as long as it is refrigerated. You will save a lot of money too!

We can help you figure this out. Good for you for sticking to your guns about testing! You won't regret switching. And I'm actually glad the vet said to start with a lower dose, though it quite possibly is not low enough. If after a couple weeks (if we don't see any problems before that) he continues to have the same results he did on Lantus, I highly recommend lowering the 2U, rather than raising it.
 
arniesdad said:
Hi everyone, Thank You for the welcomes and information it is much appreciated!


Ilkka and Tom...I decided to switch from Lantus to Levemir because Arnie has not been doing well lately on Lantus. I have raised his dose several times and his numbers are still bad, averaging in the 300's and up in the 400's at times..even a 494 one night. Several people from Lantus Land suggested we give Levemir a try so here we are. The vet has recommended we start out on 2 units twice a day even though he was getting 4.5 on Lantus. She even suggested that I do not check his BG the first week and then do a curve. I will do the curve but there is no way I am going without checking him. She is a very good vet. One of the best feline vets in the State of Florida without question but she just don't know how we are about monitoring our kitties :lol:

Yes, perfectly understandable and no doubt Levemir is the best choice if you feel you need to switch.

re testing, I agree with you.. running blind is not fun, in fact it is irresponsible, and vets recommend not checking the first week only because they are used to nervous beans and people who are not homecheck junkies like all of us here.

I do NOT agree with Vicky's thoughts on reducing the starting dose to 1u. While I am a big fan of Novo Nordisk and think Lev is a great product, I don't ascribe any magical properties to it and it is still, in the end, biochemically very similar to Lantus in terms of what actually gets delivered into the blood stream. Nor am I suggesting dose equivalence as a guideline for switching, but I am looking at the numbers. I am sure that if Arnie was on 4.5u of Lantus, and still scaring you with highs, your thoughts have turned to insulin resistance which, in most cases (not all) would mean resistance to insulin and not to Lantus specifically; so it is a judgment call, but starting with 1u of Levemir seems optimistic and dangerous in view of where his numbers and been lately. A starting dose of 1u sounds nice in theory, but it exposes Arnie to unjustified risk of ketones, when 2u is almost certain not to run too close the low BG hazard.
 
Ilkka and Tom said:
I do NOT agree with Vicky's thoughts on reducing the starting dose to 1u. While I am a big fan of Novo Nordisk and think Lev is a great product, I don't ascribe any magical properties to it and it is still, in the end, biochemically very similar to Lantus in terms of what actually gets delivered into the blood stream. Nor am I suggesting dose equivalence as a guideline for switching, but I am looking at the numbers. I am sure that if Arnie was on 4.5u of Lantus, and still scaring you with highs, your thoughts have turned to insulin resistance which, in most cases (not all) would mean resistance to insulin and not to Lantus specifically; so it is a judgment call, but starting with 1u of Levemir seems optimistic and dangerous in view of where his numbers and been lately. A starting dose of 1u sounds nice in theory, but it exposes Arnie to unjustified risk of ketones, when 2u is almost certain not to run too close the low BG hazard.

Well, while I would like to see every cat who switches to Levemir start at a mere 1U, I know that's probably not reasonable nor safe in some cases. In this case, I think if Arnie continues responding the same way to even 2U of Levemir that he has on 4.5U of Lantus, then Glycogenolysis should be suspected.

I probably should have reworded post to make it clearer that going to 1U should only be considered if the above is the case after a couple weeks on the 2U. I didn't say that till the very end.
 
Vicky & Gandalf said:
Ilkka and Tom said:
I probably should have reworded post to make it clearer that going to 1U should only be considered if the above is the case after a couple weeks on the 2U. I didn't say that till the very end.


Vicky, my bad.. I read carelessly. Apologies. (Arnie's dad, carry on . . .) ;)

Ilkka
 
Well I didn't mean to start a debate here and I'm sorry I have not posted again but my home is still in the Lantus forum where I have been for 3 years. I'm sorry I strongly disagree with the 1 unit dose infact I have raised Arnie to 3.0 his AM and PM BG's have been in the 400's since we switched on Wednesday. The 2.0 dose was too low and dropping to 1.0 would really be asking for trouble. I am no expert but I have been doing this for four years now and I know my cat. With the Lantus I thought he was dropping too low and rebounding too for a while but everytime I tried to drop his dose the numbers would be HIGH and stay HIGH. I think it was more of a problem with Lantus holding the numbers down for 12 hours. That is why I decided to switch to Levemir. Now I know some may say I am jumping the gun raising the dose after only a few days but I am tired of seeing RED and his numbers have not dropped low at all since the change. I will stick with the 3.0 dose now for at least 7 days no matter what. After that I will do a 24 hour curve again when I have a day off and see what I need to do from there. I do check Keytones and so far it has always been negative. While I have decided to keep my condos in Lantus Land I will check in here regularly for advice and information. Thank You all for your help!!
 
Well, I would have raised too since you mention in your SS that you have just started him on some steroid ear drops (what kind?). So according to your Profile he has had these ear infections before? Just curious, why does the vet think he gets these? Allergies?
 
No idea why he keeps getting the ear infections. Actually we just started him back on the steroid drops today (not sure of the name I'm not home right now) we were using an organic type but they were not working. He only has an infection in the left ear right now. He has not been on the steroid drops in many months so that has not been a factor up until now.
 
No controversy. We just have a little different take on using Levemir. On the old board it was called start low, go slow, often used for newly diagnosed diabetic treatment, but from other cats we have seen here, it should apply when switching to Levemir as well.

The ketone threat for Arnie is, IMO, higher because he could have an infection going on with the ear and because he has had BGs above renal threshold for quite some time. So you're being cautious because of those 400s, I understand that. Apparently no one has suggested that the switch alone has caused him to run higher. Their system has to learn how to use Levemir, it is different than Lantus in how it is processed by the body. The 400s could simply be because of that.

So no, 3 days was not enough time at 2U. He had nadirs in the 200s, so it was working.
 
PMPS was 358. Never been so happy to see a 358!! As I was testing all I was thinking was PLEASE PLEASE be under 400... :razz: We are making progress...Hopefully!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top