New to Lantus

Status
Not open for further replies.

dustyboy4

Member Since 2010
Hi I would like to introduce myself, my name is Elaine my baby is Dusty. We are new to this topic. Finally after almost 3 years of being on Prozinc, Dusty’s vets (he has 2) have agreed that he can be switched to Lantus. Not sure what to expect from Lantus but even though Dusty is an old hand at this disease, we are hoping for good results. I should be given the Rx tomorrow to have it filled. I’ve been encouraged by the vets to call around and try to find a pharmacy that will sell the Insulin at a lower cost that what the vets can offer. They want $169 per vial. We home test on an iPet meter and he is fed on Purina DM & Hill’s WD canned cat food. Although a big food eater, Dusty is under-weight. At present, he is at 9 lbs. On Prozinc Dusty has always been a big gulper. I haven’t taken a curve in quite some time but I do take his BG twice a day before each normal feeding and recently due to his BG tests registering extremely high, it’s taken several times during the day or night. I’m a worrier. At present he has 2 feedings per day receiving 1 can of Purina DM in the morning with his insulin and 1 can of Purina DM in the evening with his insulin and 1 can of Hill’s WD throughout the day (that’s right he eats 3 - 5.5 oz. cans per day) and would eat more if he had the opportunity. It’s a long story as to how he started eating the Hill’s WD but in short it was because he was having cow patty stools and it seemed to firm him up. I’m truly hoping with your support I can finally manage Dusty’s BG. I will come back soon and let you know how the switch to Lantus is going. Until then, please feel free to comment. I can use all the support I can get.
 
Hi there,I'm Linda and Lucky is my sugar baby,welcome as you see Lucky is on Lantus he has a chart you can take a look at. Most of us here have charts on Google Drive easy to put together and there are people here to help if needed.
I heard best place to get Lantus is a Costco if you can get the pens that's good to, cost is actually cheaper in the long run.Have you check out food list and other good stuff here yet. Well glad to see you here other will help,=^:^=
 
Welcome to Lantus Land! There is much to learn, but you will find tons of support, information, and very knowledgeable and generous people here. We think of ourselves as one big family.

Calling around for the best price is a great idea. It seems that everyone region is different with pricing, so the cheapest place here might not be the cheapest place there. In my area, Target had the best price on both the vial and the pens, plus my Target will sell the pens individually, if you decide to go that route.

We are a pretty data-driven group, and we love to help everyone, but it is difficult - if not impossible - to give safe dosing guidance without data. We all definitely test before we shoot (pre-shot, or "PS" - in the morning, this is "AMPS", and in the evening, this is "PMPS"), and we try to get in at least one more test during each cycle. There are a number of people here who do work full time (myself included) and therefore testing a whole lot is tricky, but we're all able to find ways to help each other out.

Linda mentioned the spreadsheet. This is another tool that helps us help you, so we all use the same spreadsheet template. I hate to say it, but it's been so long since I've set ours up that I don't know how to guide you on that :oops: ...but I know someone else here can help you with that. Sorry :oops: :oops: :oops: ....

It can also help give you an idea of how things are around here and with feline diabetes (FD) if you click on the condos (threads) about the other kitties. There are a lot of learning opportunities within those threads!

Again, welcome, and feel free to ask any and all questions you need to!
 
Welcome to Lantus Land!!

Like others have noted, we're numbers oriented. Here's the link for setting up a spreadsheet and putting it in your signature. One of the big differences between Prozinc and Lantus is that Lantus dosing is based on the nadir, not on the pre-shot numbers. So, it's important to get spot checks in order to know if you need to make a dose adjustment. Likewise, you do not slide the dose based on the pre-shot number. I'd encourage you to read the starred, sticky notes at the top of the Board. It's particularly important for you to familiarize yourself with the way Lantus works because it is VERY different than Prozinc.

It sounds like you are aware that a low carb diet is the way to go. The DM is ok as far as carbs go. The WD, however, is 25% carb. It's way high in carbs given that we consider low carb as under 10% (and most of us feed around 5% or lower). Some of the difficulty you've had with Dusty's numbers may be due to the WD. I don't know what you tried to help with the poop issue but we may have some suggestions if you want to get Dusty on to a low carb food.

Please let us know how we can help. The people here are very generous with their time and their information.
 
Thanks for the warm welcome Linda & Lucky, Amy & TrixieCat, and Sienne & Gabby. I have tried to go on and attach the spread sheet as directed. It's empty right now as I haven't began the Lantus until I get the Rx but I want to see if I acutally understood how to attach it. I do want to say I have no idea how to use this spread sheet and hope I can learn quickly. What I'm not understanding is how to read it. What are the +1, +2, +3 etc. ??? Is this for the time of day? This would be so much easier if I could talk to someone instead of try to write it. I'm not used to using a spread sheet for Dusty's BG. I just write down the number the meter tells me and the time of day I've taken it and if I've given insulin or not and food or not and if something strange is going on I might add it. I need to retrain myself on how to use this SS so you all can understand me. I would like to ask if someone will see if they can actually read the SS I've inserted to my profile. At least if I have this attached correctly I'll have some of the retraining done. :-D
 
Lol!!! We all tend to think in terms of +times. It will become second nature after a couple of days.

The clock starts with your shot. That time is your AMPS or PMPS (AM Pre-Shot or PM Pre-Shot). An hour after your shot is your +1. If you test 7 hours after you gave Dusty a shot, that's your +7. We refer to time that way because we are scattered all over the world and in different time zones. If you say you tested at 5:00 in your time zone, we have no way to know what that means with reference to where Dusty is in the cycle let alone what that means to a member in a different time zone. It becomes much easier to think in terms of +time. It's a common language.

So, the date column is obvious, The AMPS and PMPS are when you shoot (and are the equivalent to a +12 time). The "U" column refers to the number of units or your dose.
 
Thank you, that makes sense to me. I've read all the starred areas and will read them several more times so I can absorb all there is to know. I'm supposed to get the Rx tomorrow but will still have to have it filled. As I'm reading back over your replies, I forgot about Target and hope I will have time to get a price from them. We don't have a Costco near or I would try there. So far Sam's Club seems to have the lowest cost @ $162. I even phoned the manufacturer today. Looks like they offer a discount card to "People" but not "Animals". While speaking with the lady she told me that they had a meeting as to such recently and were told that they couldn't extend this discount to anyone but a human. I thought about signing myself up, but thought better of it until I find out how the Rx is written. I'm thinking the discount will not be extended to me for my kittie. It would have helped. Oh well. I've been paying $89 per vial of Prozinc but if Lantus works the way I'm thinking it will I hopefully will be using much less of it for a longer period of time. If I could get 2 months out of a vial then I would be paying the same as the Prozinc. Anyway, this is all for Dusty. We've never had children and like you all, we think of him as our child and want to do whatever we can to give him a quality life. I would give anything if he could have his fun personality back. It's strange even though he had been sick for some time when he was initially diagnosed he was so fun. The minute I brought him home from being checked out by the vet when he was deemed diabetic he quit playing and is not the least bit interested in picking that back up and that was 3 1/2 years ago. He's still loving and so easy going, but lacks the playfulness he had. Thanks to all for today. We'll try to check in tomorrow.
 
Ummmm.....

Most of us use the Lantus coupons and don't specify the insulin is for a cat. Sanofi has opted to not pursue an indication for veterinary use in the FDA and they won't allow use of the coupon for off-label prescribing. I don't know about Dusty, but I consider Gabby to be my family and non unlike a child. I have coupons!
 
Hi Elaine, welcome to LantusLand! Yep, you will soon be thinking in + time for yourself as well as Dusty. :lol: :lol: Our vet said to tell a little white lie and get the 3 pens of Lantus for $25 each for Zener. The pharmacy had no problem with it either. One thing is to not inject air into a pen but you do inject air into a vial. I hope Lantus helps Dusty feel better. It sure made a difference for Zener.
Liz
 
Not to worry nailbite_smile I had know idea either, I looked at that spreadsheet ad said OH NO!!!! Had done one inn 20 years but this was so easy I had someone help me do the signature I tried didn't work,so gave a member my info ad she set it up for me,and Marje here help with Lucky's profile. everyone started the same way so ask questions there all here to help. Lucky is o a roller coaster up and down almost had some good Greens "LOW NUMBERS"thought maybe off the juice soon but that didn't happen. Maybe soon. good Luck

Linda and Lucky
 
I picked up the Rx this afternoon after work and will have it filled tomorrow. His vets left the Rx at the front desk with a note (I didn't get to speak with either of them :sad: ). The note tells me to check Dusty's weight before beginning the insulin switch over and keep track of it and also to check Dusty's BG pre shot (I always do that anyway but I guess the reminder is good). Then it goes on to tell me to make sure to get the correct syringes, that I can't use the ones I used for the Prozinc (I used U-40 syringes). I know I need to get U-100's and to ask for 3/10cc with half units marked on the barrel for the fine dosing from one of the articles I've read on this message board. Can anyone tell me what gauge the needle should be and how long the needle should be? I've been using 29g 1/2-inch with the U-40's. Also, what if the pharmacist doesn't carry what I need? Does anyone know where I can purchase them quickly? Is there a favorite name brand? I've been using the brand Ulticare and I've been purchasing them from the ADW American Diabetes Wholesale website because I can also get my meter supplies there and because they are cheaper than what the vets sale them for. I see the U-100 3/10cc with half units marked on the syringes listed on there but they are 31g with a 5/16 inch needle. I can't remember how the gauges go, is 29g larger or smaller than 31g -or- is it the other way around where 31g is smaller than 29g? What do you all suggest? Also ***** the Rx tells me to start Dusty off at 1u every 12 hours ***** I truly want y'alls opinion on this. Is this too much or too little for a 9 lb under weight cat (he's bony) that is switching over from Prozinc to Lantus? I use an iPet meter. I don't have to convert the BG readings from a human meter to animal it does all the work. His readings right now for BG are 500+. This evening his BG registered Hi which means his BG is over 600. I keep thinking he should be in a coma or something but he acts as if nothing is different about him. He still drinks alot and urinates a lot just as always because he has never stayed regulated but nothing different on the outside but I know his insides can't be doing good, at all. This is the absolute highest I have ever seen his levels, hence the insulin change. I'm trying not to stress too much over this change and I may be making it a bigger deal than what it is, but I just can't help it. I want very much to do this right with the retraining of myself to use Lantus correctly. HELP :? and thank you all. You are all so kind.
 
Hi Elaine, Welcome to Lantus Land.

I sent you a message with a link to the syringes I prefer, but as I said in the message... its really about what you prefer. If you cant wait for them to be delivered, Walmart sells syringes as well. The ones I purchased from walmart were.. "Reli On Insulin Syringes 3/10mlcc 31 gauge 8mm short needle" I only prefer the monoject syringes because I feel like the markings are a little more clear, but a lot of people use the reli on syringes with no problems.

The more experienced members will be able to help guide you with the doses - and I really hope you can get Dusty's diabetes regulated with the Lantus!

edited to add:
I see the U-100 3/10cc with half units marked on the syringes listed on there but they are 31g with a 5/16 inch needle

The 5/16 is the same as 8mm and its a short needle - so it is the correct kind you would use for a cat

The 31 gauge is smaller then a 29 gauge.
 
I like these monoject better,if you have to twist drops off they work better.but I was using Relion 31gauge 8mm 3/10 also just hard to get drops out but workable.So again welcome to Lustus land.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top