KPassa
Member Since 2012
Hi Everyone,
My 6 month old kitten, Mikey, was just "officially" diagnosed with diabetes last week. For the last few weeks prior, I've been giving him 1 unit of Lantus twice a day as the vet and I continued monitoring him in the hope that his elevated BG level might be a side-effect of something else going on (he initially presented with a UTI) and would clear up on its own.
Last week, my vet recommended I increase him from 1 u to 2 u, but since last week, I've switched him over from dry cat food to Fancy Feast Classics (they're the easiest to find, but I just discovered my local pet store carries Nature's Variety, so I'll probably be switching him to that), so I held off on increasing his dose to see how the food change played out on his BG levels. Yesterday, I was finally able to start monitoring his BG levels with a glucometer (when I first bought it last week, I didn't realize you had to purchase test strips and lancets, too). I'm still not very good at it and poor Mikey has been a real champ through all the numerous pricks, but I've been able to get a few readings so far.
On Saturday night, he began throwing up his food. I thought it might be related to the switch in diet, so I watched him carefully. He continued throwing up his food yesterday morning as well, so I skipped his morning insulin shot just in case low BG was the cause (this is before I figured out how to use the glucometer on him). The reason for this is that I've noticed over the last few weeks that his morning insulin dose seems to put his BG too low (lethargy, listless, lip-licking, etc...).
(I also think I've pinpointed the vomiting to the particular type of cat food (Fancy Feast's Classic Tender Beef) because when I switched him to a different one for his breakfast yesterday (FF's Chicken Feast), he had no problem holding it down; when I gave him the leftover beef for lunch, he threw it up again. I haven't given it to him since and he hasn't thrown up since.)
I finally was able to test him the first time yesterday around 5:30 pm and his BG tested at 222. Note that this is after not having received his morning insulin shot. I gave him his evening insulin around 6:15 pm and fed him and then was able to test him again around 8 pm, where it was around 185. This morning, I was running late for work so I didn't test his BG before I gave him his breakfast and insulin shot at around 7:30 am. When I tested it today at noon, it was at 57! I gave him some more food and tested him again around 1 pm and it's now at 180.
First question: since he's still a kitten, should I be feeding him two cans a day instead of 1? Or should I be finding other food that's kitten-specific for him? Should I be adjusting him to scheduled twice-daily feedings or just ration it out over the day as I see him looking for food (as I've been doing)?
Second question: how does the time-release on Lantus work? Would it be his evening shot or his morning shot that seems to overcompensate for his insulin causing him to seem mildly hypoglycemic? If what I suspect is true, is it possible to give a larger dose at night and a smaller one in the morning or do the doses have to be the same size?
Third question: I have two massive litter boxes, one smaller box, and he's given free reign of our backyard to do his business in. For the past month since all these troubles started, he seems to have "gone off" his litter box, meaning, if he pees in it once, he will not use it again until it's completely cleaned out, not just scooped. This is problematic because he's been consuming a lot more water (one of the reasons I took him into the vet in the first place) which makes him pee a lot more often. I work all day and can't be here to scoop after him each time he goes. He'll also hold it in till either the litter box meets his standards or he has an accident because he didn't make it outside in time. Has anyone else experienced this? Could it be the type of litter? Has the smell of his urine perhaps changed to the point where he can't even tolerate it? Another weird, possibly related bathroom thing is that I've caught him a few times licking his fresh poop.
Last question (for now :lol
: Due to my work schedule and regular life events, I try to give his insulin shots between 6 and 9, separated by at least 12 hours, i.e. if I gave him his evening shot at 7, I won't give his morning shot till at least 6:30, preferably later. Even though my vet said an hour or so of overlap is fine, I've only felt comfortable with about a half-hour or so. Do I need to be even more rigid with this? Is this causing some of the problems I'm seeing?
He's got another vet appointment scheduled toward the end of this week (I want to do a curve on him first before I bring him in again) and I want to be able to explain to the vet what I think is going on so we can adjust his dosage appropriately, if need be, so any information is greatly appreciated. :smile:
My 6 month old kitten, Mikey, was just "officially" diagnosed with diabetes last week. For the last few weeks prior, I've been giving him 1 unit of Lantus twice a day as the vet and I continued monitoring him in the hope that his elevated BG level might be a side-effect of something else going on (he initially presented with a UTI) and would clear up on its own.
Last week, my vet recommended I increase him from 1 u to 2 u, but since last week, I've switched him over from dry cat food to Fancy Feast Classics (they're the easiest to find, but I just discovered my local pet store carries Nature's Variety, so I'll probably be switching him to that), so I held off on increasing his dose to see how the food change played out on his BG levels. Yesterday, I was finally able to start monitoring his BG levels with a glucometer (when I first bought it last week, I didn't realize you had to purchase test strips and lancets, too). I'm still not very good at it and poor Mikey has been a real champ through all the numerous pricks, but I've been able to get a few readings so far.
On Saturday night, he began throwing up his food. I thought it might be related to the switch in diet, so I watched him carefully. He continued throwing up his food yesterday morning as well, so I skipped his morning insulin shot just in case low BG was the cause (this is before I figured out how to use the glucometer on him). The reason for this is that I've noticed over the last few weeks that his morning insulin dose seems to put his BG too low (lethargy, listless, lip-licking, etc...).
(I also think I've pinpointed the vomiting to the particular type of cat food (Fancy Feast's Classic Tender Beef) because when I switched him to a different one for his breakfast yesterday (FF's Chicken Feast), he had no problem holding it down; when I gave him the leftover beef for lunch, he threw it up again. I haven't given it to him since and he hasn't thrown up since.)
I finally was able to test him the first time yesterday around 5:30 pm and his BG tested at 222. Note that this is after not having received his morning insulin shot. I gave him his evening insulin around 6:15 pm and fed him and then was able to test him again around 8 pm, where it was around 185. This morning, I was running late for work so I didn't test his BG before I gave him his breakfast and insulin shot at around 7:30 am. When I tested it today at noon, it was at 57! I gave him some more food and tested him again around 1 pm and it's now at 180.
First question: since he's still a kitten, should I be feeding him two cans a day instead of 1? Or should I be finding other food that's kitten-specific for him? Should I be adjusting him to scheduled twice-daily feedings or just ration it out over the day as I see him looking for food (as I've been doing)?
Second question: how does the time-release on Lantus work? Would it be his evening shot or his morning shot that seems to overcompensate for his insulin causing him to seem mildly hypoglycemic? If what I suspect is true, is it possible to give a larger dose at night and a smaller one in the morning or do the doses have to be the same size?
Third question: I have two massive litter boxes, one smaller box, and he's given free reign of our backyard to do his business in. For the past month since all these troubles started, he seems to have "gone off" his litter box, meaning, if he pees in it once, he will not use it again until it's completely cleaned out, not just scooped. This is problematic because he's been consuming a lot more water (one of the reasons I took him into the vet in the first place) which makes him pee a lot more often. I work all day and can't be here to scoop after him each time he goes. He'll also hold it in till either the litter box meets his standards or he has an accident because he didn't make it outside in time. Has anyone else experienced this? Could it be the type of litter? Has the smell of his urine perhaps changed to the point where he can't even tolerate it? Another weird, possibly related bathroom thing is that I've caught him a few times licking his fresh poop.
Last question (for now :lol
He's got another vet appointment scheduled toward the end of this week (I want to do a curve on him first before I bring him in again) and I want to be able to explain to the vet what I think is going on so we can adjust his dosage appropriately, if need be, so any information is greatly appreciated. :smile: