Karoline & Emmitt
Member Since 2018
I am desperately seeking advice from more experienced Lantus users. Emmitt was diagnosed two years ago and initially started on Prozinc. After about a year he was switched to Vetsulin (4 units BID). In October we started Lantus. I realize it can take a while to get the right dose with Lantus, but we weren't making progress at all, and my vet's only suggestion was to keep increasing the dose. We were up to 5 units BID, and nowhere near regulated. Desperate for more advice, I joined this forum and quickly learned the Purina DM food was not good for him, and I started to wean him off of it. He has always eaten Fancy Feast pate, but used to also graze on his dry food. Within two days off the dry food he was 74 (December 1st). I thought we were on our way to Easy Street. I could not have been more wrong. At first I lowered his dose to 3 units BID (his original starting dose on Lantus), so he would not get too low, but his readings were still high. I had read about rebound with Lantus and Somogyi, so I wondered if that's what was going on, so I thought I would go down to 1.5 and then bring him back up if needed, but it seems like he is not even responding to the insulin, no matter what dose he is at. Last night his pre-shot BG was 371, +3 was 350, +6 was 311. I'm not sure if I should stop it completely for a few days to see if he doesn't need any insulin at all or if I should be working back up towards 4-5 units, even after pulling the dry food from his diet. I'm afraid I totally screwed up by lowering his dose right after his diet change, but I was terrified of giving him too much. Since the diet change, we tried 3 units BID for 8 days and now 1.5 units BID for 7 days. If anyone has some time to look at his spreadsheet (I think I linked it correctly in my signature) and give me some advice, I'd be very grateful. Please forgive me for the spotty readings. I realize that more numbers would be more helpful, but I'm hoping someone may be able to provide some insight based on what I have provided, as well as this long-winded post. It seems wasteful (and depressing) to keep testing when his numbers only move between 300 and 400
I would be so, so grateful for any insight as to what might be going on or advice on what to do now. I'm completely stuck and frustrated. Thank you in advance.
