RockStar033
Member Since 2012
bit of background info:
My Annie just started her Lantus yesterday(since april 1st has been on 2u Caninsulin BID). Vet put her on 2u SID. We shoot her at 11am with food(she is on Wellness grain free chicken, beef chicken, and turkey), she also gets injectable B12, and Potassium with her food(vet said the potassium she is lacking right now will help absorb the b12 or something), we feed her in the am/afternoon/and evening, and if still hungry we feed her in between too. If you look at spreadsheet her AMPS was 342, gave her 2u, and figured the 135 was about her nadir before she started rising again. Now, i'm aware of the 2u being a high dose to start her on, my vet says he wants me to give her the 2u this morning, and he wants to see her preshot number, and then after today he will tweak it. He is very open to my suggestions and really does work with me on what i am confortable with. I think he is trying to see how long the 2u lasts her in 24 hours.
if i lower her dose this morning, what should i give her? The vet said to test her bg, and still give her the 2u, and he is going to tweak it from there. i'm going to test her soon and i'll post her preshot number and see what people say before i give her insulin. Although yesterday her preshot was 19, and the 2 units put her at 135 nadir, is it still wrong to give her the 2u considering it surfed in the target range?
please advise thank you
My Annie just started her Lantus yesterday(since april 1st has been on 2u Caninsulin BID). Vet put her on 2u SID. We shoot her at 11am with food(she is on Wellness grain free chicken, beef chicken, and turkey), she also gets injectable B12, and Potassium with her food(vet said the potassium she is lacking right now will help absorb the b12 or something), we feed her in the am/afternoon/and evening, and if still hungry we feed her in between too. If you look at spreadsheet her AMPS was 342, gave her 2u, and figured the 135 was about her nadir before she started rising again. Now, i'm aware of the 2u being a high dose to start her on, my vet says he wants me to give her the 2u this morning, and he wants to see her preshot number, and then after today he will tweak it. He is very open to my suggestions and really does work with me on what i am confortable with. I think he is trying to see how long the 2u lasts her in 24 hours.
if i lower her dose this morning, what should i give her? The vet said to test her bg, and still give her the 2u, and he is going to tweak it from there. i'm going to test her soon and i'll post her preshot number and see what people say before i give her insulin. Although yesterday her preshot was 19, and the 2 units put her at 135 nadir, is it still wrong to give her the 2u considering it surfed in the target range?
please advise thank you