Elizabeth&Julia&Margaret(GA)
Member Since 2009
My original post http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=97975
Julia (14 yrs old) saw the vet and is definitely diabetic. Her highest BG was 351 (that I've tested at home) and we've since put her on low carb food. Her last 2 readings were 251 and just now 245 (after her morning meal). We have a prescription for Lantus that we can fill today but I don't know where to start regarding dose since her numbers are higher than normal but not terribly high. I remember having a no shoot number of 200 when we started Margaret on insulin. So, I have no idea where to go from here. I'm figuring on starting insulin with tomorrow mornings dose since I'll be awake for sure to watch her then. If I started tonight I can't guarantee I'd be up to test as I'm recovering from surgery.
I should mention the vet did a full blood workup and everything is fine. A few values were slightly off they said, but can be explained by her being diabetic. They wanted to start her on 2 units twice daily but I think that might be too much. I did read, "If your cat’s blood glucose was less than 400 mg/dl (22.1 mmol/L) at diagnosis, or if your cat is on a low-carbohydrate diet, the starting dose should be only 0.5-1.0 units twice per day" on the start low and go slow approach. I'm not sure if tight regulation or go slow is more appropriate for us.
Any help is appreciated.
Julia (14 yrs old) saw the vet and is definitely diabetic. Her highest BG was 351 (that I've tested at home) and we've since put her on low carb food. Her last 2 readings were 251 and just now 245 (after her morning meal). We have a prescription for Lantus that we can fill today but I don't know where to start regarding dose since her numbers are higher than normal but not terribly high. I remember having a no shoot number of 200 when we started Margaret on insulin. So, I have no idea where to go from here. I'm figuring on starting insulin with tomorrow mornings dose since I'll be awake for sure to watch her then. If I started tonight I can't guarantee I'd be up to test as I'm recovering from surgery.
I should mention the vet did a full blood workup and everything is fine. A few values were slightly off they said, but can be explained by her being diabetic. They wanted to start her on 2 units twice daily but I think that might be too much. I did read, "If your cat’s blood glucose was less than 400 mg/dl (22.1 mmol/L) at diagnosis, or if your cat is on a low-carbohydrate diet, the starting dose should be only 0.5-1.0 units twice per day" on the start low and go slow approach. I'm not sure if tight regulation or go slow is more appropriate for us.
Any help is appreciated.