New to Lantus board

Julie and Honey

Member Since 2018
Have not posted on this board yet.

Monday 3/18 starting 2nd week on Lantus, increasing to .5 BID 3/18 and will start posting numbers. Started low dose due to initial range without insulin was in mid-yellow range for a couple of months and cat needs dental, so vet thought may be artificially high, also hoped lower starting would ease her into it without too much bouncing. Anyway, just wanted to post a little background.

Thanks.
 
I just think Honey is a gorgeous cat :cat:
I would try to start getting some PM tests as cats will often go lower at night, and the dose adjustments with Lantus are based upon how low the insulin takes them.
 
What a beauty!
Although the "typical" Lantus nadir is +6, many cats don't like to be typical. :cat: You might want to try the odd curve, getting tests every couple of hours to see if you can spot Honey's patterns. Or mix up those mid cycle tests between +4 and +7. Though I can name cats that liked to nadir at +2 on Lantus, and my girl occasionally nadired at +12. All to keep us on our toes!

Bouncing is also perfectly normal, no need to try to avoid it. Once a kitty is more used to spending time in normal numbers, the bouncing will dimish.

Was she on another insulin before this? Or did you wait to start insulin? Best to get her into better numbers before the dental, to try to prevent glucose toxicity.
 
Welcome, Julie and beautiful Honey!
It looks like you are on the right track, but I agree with Dyana and Wendy that it would be good to see some numbers in the evening cycle. We typically try to get at least a bedtime test in addition to the test at PM pre-shot. Lantus is a "depot" insulin and needs time to calibrate itself and adjust each time a dose is changed, so don't expect overnight miracles. Patience is the key word. After collecting data for a few weeks you can make the decision about which method you will follow: the Tight Regulation protocol, or the Start Low Go Slow method. You can always switch from one to the other later if it fits your schedule better.

Ask as many questions as you need. We have all been where you are.
 
What a beauty!
Although the "typical" Lantus nadir is +6, many cats don't like to be typical. :cat: You might want to try the odd curve, getting tests every couple of hours to see if you can spot Honey's patterns. Or mix up those mid cycle tests between +4 and +7. Though I can name cats that liked to nadir at +2 on Lantus, and my girl occasionally nadired at +12. All to keep us on our toes!

Bouncing is also perfectly normal, no need to try to avoid it. Once a kitty is more used to spending time in normal numbers, the bouncing will dimish.

Was she on another insulin before this? Or did you wait to start insulin? Best to get her into better numbers before the dental, to try to prevent glucose toxicity.
No other insulin, took her off carbs initially which dropped her some. Vet would have done dental when she was averaging mid 200s with no insulin, but wanted her to gain weight first, I tried for over a month to get weight on and she only gained a quarter pound feeding her every 2-3 hours around the clock. Figured only way to get weight on was to start insulin and I then recently just before I started her BG may have been creeping up also, so had no choice but to start. I will try to get some other mid cycle numbers. Have not slept much since late December when I took her off dry, I got an auto feeder, need to set up and try it. I set my alarm for +6 and + 9 to feed her and make sure she is okay, I feed her at +3 before I go to sleep.
 
Back
Top