New to Lantus Board TipperAMPS 579

Status
Not open for further replies.

tipper11

Member Since 2011
Hello everyone,

I have been posting on the Health Board and it was suggested I post here. Tipper is on 2.5 units Lantus since 1/31 pm. She is eating ok about 2/3 of a can of FF this AM. She is also on clavamox twice a day because her vet thought she might have an infection. She
has very loose poop and is sneezing now. Will try to test for ketones today, but can't seem to find a way to collect the urine.

Her AMPS was 579. I was hoping for a lower number. Any insights or suggestions would be appreciated.
Thanks,
Patty and Tipper
 
Good Morning and welcome to LL you are certainly at the right place this board turned Do Lou around a year ago when he started on lantus well I had to get him off dry as well, anyway as for checking for keytones the way I check Do Lou I am lucky I always happen to see him pee often enough and I keep the jar of test strips close to the lb so I just hold it where he urinates on it briefly and once again welcome I would put a smiley face her but they are not working at the moment:)
 
Thanks, I'll try to get some pee this evening. If I reduce the amont of clumping litter can I test what pools in the corner of the box??
Before it clumps og course. Also just tester her +2 and she was 386.
Patty
 
Hi Patty and welcome to you and Tipper!
I had success when I put saran wrap on to pf the litter and added a little bit of litter on top. It was easy to get a pool with the saran wrap. Good luck ...it takes some doing, but I hope you will get your sample okay.

Here is a link that explains how to set up your Profile: viewtopic.php?f=6&t=17766
The links to your posts on Health: viewtopic.php?f=28&t=35824
and viewtopic.php?f=28&t=35660

Good job on getting the SS up and running! I hope you will get some time to read the stickies at the top o the page. They give much information that is important for you to understand. Please come back and post any questions here in your condo (thread) and we will be glad to help in answering them, okay?
You can start with the "New to the Group" viewtopic.php?f=9&t=18139

Can you tell us what meter you are using? And also, do you have syringes with half unit markings?
We do increases at .25u increments. Many vets like to jump up the does by units, but we go slower with the increases. That way, the ideal dose won't be skipped over. So, take i one step at a time and soon the numbers will start coming down as they insulin begins to work. Good job with the testing too! :thumbup

We post a daily condo (thread) and attach the link to the previous days' condo to the first post of each day. Do you know how to link? You are welcome to visit other condos and see what is going on with everyone. As you do that, you will see how things are done to keep things orderly here.

So happy that you and Tipper are here! Welcome!! :mrgreen:
 
Welcome to Lantus Land!

The first suggestion is to read the sticky notes (the ones with the "lock" on them) at the top of the "Topics" section of the Board. There is a huge amount of information about Lantus, it's use, our dosing protocol, key concepts, etc. in those notes. They are essential.

I can't tell from your spreadsheet whether you are giving Tipper one or two shots per day. At least from the way we do notation (the dose is in the column next to AMPS and PMPS), it looks like you're giving insulin only once a day. If this is the case, you (and your vet) need to know that Lantus is a twice a day dose. In humans, it's given once a day. In cats, because their metabolism is faster, it's administered twice a day.

What kind of infection did the vet think was going on? If there is an infection it can cause numbers to be higher.
 
Hello,
Sorry it took awhile to figure out how to attach the spreadsheet!!!
I'll look at my ss and yes we are giving 2 shots a day.
Tipper is a semi feral cat rescued 9yrs ago from a horrible " barn situation" She and another cat came to us with every disease you can imagine, Herpes, ringworm and many more. We treated her and introduced to our household -2 existing cats. After all these years she still is very shy,so this is a big adjustment for her. Since alot of the viruses she had may reappear in stressful times I think her vet thought something might be going on. I'm going to call and tell her about the diarrhrea this afternoon.

I may need some help with linking etc. I'm not real computer savy!!
 
Ok...we will help you...what meter are you using and what kind of syringes?

Also, we recommend you have a supply of canned food that is high in carbs...HC food with gravy on had. If you check out the Janet & Binky food chart http://binkyspage.tripod.com/canfood.html for something that is >18% so that you will have it at home. We give only the gravy at times when our kitties numbers go low. We will help you through that if you just post the numbers for us. But do have a supply of HC canned gravy food and karo syrup from now on on hand.

When was Tipper diagnosed?
(and you can show the PM dose in the boxes too....just so that is clear that you are shooting 2 times. Good job!)
 
We use the Bayer Contour and the BD ultra fine 30g 1/2 in syringes.
Did +2 and +4 - now off to work.
Hubby will test PMPS
 
Welcome Patty & Tipper. I hope that Tipper's infection, or whatever it is, will clear soon so that you will have a better idea of how the insulin is working.
Here's the answer to your question of how to link today's condo (thread) to the one you will start tomorrow:
1. Tomorrow morning, call up the condo (today's condo) you want to link to your new condo.
2. Go up to the title of the old condo (at the very top, left-hand side of your post) and highlight it with Ctrl+Enter. A drop-down list will appear. Choose "copy link".
3. Open a new condo. In the text-writing space put the cursor wherever you want your link to appear (some people put it first; others put the link at the end of whatever they write). Go up to the "Edit" button on your browser and choose "paste".

Hope this helps. Again, welcome to LL.

Ella & Rusty
 
Thanks for making the change to your SS.

One other thought... Getting spot checks is very important. Lantus dosing is based on the lowest blood glucose (BG) level in the cycle (the nadir), not on the pre-shot numbers. The pre-shot test tells you if it's safe to give a shot. The mid-cycle tests allow you to make decisions about dose. In addition, many cats have lower numbers during the PM cycle. If you can start getting at least a before bed test every night, that will give you a sense of where Tipper's numbers are heading at night. Without those tests, you're missing half of your data. In addition, if Tipper is going low at night, you may be seeing a bounce in the AM. Without the information, you'll never know!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top