New to Lantus AMPS 156 Help please +4 209, +11 237, PMPS 261

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rob & Harley (GA)

Very Active Member
Hi,

I've heard that the no shot for Lantus is 150 and AMPS is 156. What do I do? I work full time and won't be home to test him until lunchtime. I need to leave in about 20 minutes.

This is so stressfull.

Robin


Yesterdays condo
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=16649
 
Re: New to Lantus AMPS 156 Help please

I'm no dose expert but I have shot in the blue #'s. It's hard when you don't know how your cat will react. You can shoot a smaller dose and leave food out.

I know it's scary and stressful, I hope someone with more experience will come to help you soon.
 
Re: New to Lantus AMPS 156 Help please

A couple of questions...

Since you're not new to FD, will Harley eat if there's food out? Do you have medium or high carb food?

If Harley will eat when you're not around you can shoot the full dose and leave plenty of food out. If you are concerned, you can leave some MC food (or mix LC and HC = MC).

Also, are you able to get another test in before you leave the house?
 
Re: New to Lantus AMPS 156 Help please

Yes Harley is free fed and has access to food all day long. I don't have any HC food on hand only honey and Karo for emergencies.

2nd test +.5 after eating is 157.
 
Re: New to Lantus AMPS 156 Help pleasem +.5 157

The +.5 number is fine. You might want to pick up some HC (FF grilled is HC) food to have on hand. It's always good to have a bunch of cans stocked up. I suspect that when you get back at lunch that things will be fine. You may want to have some foods of different carb content around. What is MC really depends on your cat and how sensitive Harley is to carbs. You'll notice that several of the people here will feed MC (or HC) if they have to leave and have lower numbers.

While I think it was OK to shoot this number, you just don't have all that much data yet. It's not surprising that you're uneasy but all will be good.
 
Re: New to Lantus AMPS 156 Help pleasem +.5 157

Thanks for the reply, I'll pick up some HC food on my way home at lunchtime.

I am uneasy about it because I don't have alot of data and havn't been able to do a curve on him yet, I won't be able to do that until the weekend. That is why I get as many spot checks as I can. I'm not sure when his nadir is although it looks like it is early.

It's tough being a newbie again.

Robin
 
Re: New to Lantus AMPS 156 Help pleasem +.5 157

When you get the HC cans, put them in a separate area, away from the regular LC foods.
What I do is to mark each can with a felt marker the carb% then circle the number.
You can keep the HC cans with the karo in a spot where everything you will need if Harley goes a bit too low. It really is reassuring when you know that you are all prepared and all you have to do is grab that bin with all the HC goodies in it.

I have seen mine come out to eat and if Shadoe seems to be eating like a little monster, I have tested her and found she's just kinda lower than normal for her. It's interesting how they just know to eat when needed; I think that's why Sienne asked about Harley eating when you're not around.
 
Re: New to Lantus AMPS 156 Help pleasem +.5 157, +4 209

Great idea about marking the carb content on the cans, I don't think well in panic mode.

You're right, cats are amazing creatures. Harley usually doesn't demand alot of attention and the only time he sits on my lap is when I pull him onto it to test him. But once, last time, I was watching TV and he walked over and got onto my lap like he was asking to be tested so I did and he was a little low so I fed him, but he knew.

Robin
 
Re: New to Lantus AMPS 156 Help pleasem +.5 157, +4 209

Cats are uncanny, so I know exactly what you mean.
Mine freak me out how they can be off who knows where doing cat stuff and they just come out of the woodwork, jump up to the test spot. I check my watch and sure enough, it's just about test or shot time.

They know how to feed their numbers so that's why I leave foods down for them, except for the 2hrs before their shots.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top