New to group

Status
Not open for further replies.

SandyWelch

Member Since 2014
Hello, my kitty was diagnosed 5 weeks ago. She was put on Vetsulin. Heard Lantus was good so started that last night, 1 unit twice daily. Prior to giving her Lantus last night she tested HIGH. Prior to injection this am she was 582. Prior to injection tonight she was at 240. Fed her and gave her the shot. Now I'm wondering with this new insulin was giving her a shot when she was at 240 wrong? Still learning how to be a good sugar mama ❤️
 
We;come to FDMB

As a new user, 200 mg/dL on a human meter [about 230 mg/dL on an AlphaTrak]is your no shot number.
Lantus is a depot insulin. The effects build up over 5-7 days for the first dosing level.
Dose adjustments are based on the nadir, the lowest glucose post shot, usually +5 to +7 hours later.
A mid-cycle test below 50 mg/dL on a human meter [68 mg/dL on an AlphaTrak] gets a dose reduction of 0.25 units.

Its good you're home testing; that dose may be a bit too high.

What are you feeding?
 
Last edited:
Welcome to the FDMB Sandy!! Glad you made it over here from the Facebook group! The people here are great and will help you and Kali learn all the steps of the sugardance!

It will be important for you to get tests during each cycle....Lantus is dosed based on how low it takes them instead of the Pre-shot number. 240 is a safe enough point to shoot, but it would have been really good if you'd gotten a test somewhere mid-cycle during the morning cycle so we would know if she was dropping all day or had dropped and headed back up

I'd plan on getting a +2 tonight (that's 2 hours after the shot) and see how she's doing.

I know you have some high carb food and Karo, and as long as you're home testing, you'll be able to catch it IF she was to go too low. That's why we're so big on home testing!

You'll want to hold the 1 unit dose for at least 5-7 days unless she drops below 50 to let her depot build.

Now that you've mastered the message board, I know you've seen our spreadsheet program too. The sooner you can get that going (and put any tests results you have already into it) the better. We'll always want to see your spreadsheet before giving any other advice on changing the dose.

Don't get overwhelmed! There's lots to learn, but the people here will be there every step of the way!
 
AlphaTrak meters have different reference numbers
See my signature link Glucometer Notes for them.

Also, you'll find that the test strips for the AlphaTrak are pricey when you're testing 3-4 times a day. You may wish to consider a human meter with cat-specific reference numbers in Glucometer Notes.

See also Secondary Monitoring Tools for other assessments you may wish to make.
 
You vet may be more accustomed to folks who would euthanize a diabetic animal and may not have worked with a committed owner before.
 
It'll be important for you to make sure everyone here knows you're using the Alpha Trak...at least as long as you're using it. The vast majority of us use human meters due to the cost of the replacement strips ...about $1 each compared to about .21 cents for the Relion Confirm or Micro a lot of us love
 
It'll help us if you fill out your signature and profile.

Editing your Profile and Signature
In the upper right corner of the screen, within the dark blue bar, you will see ID, Inbox, and Alerts

Click on your ID.

On the left, under Settings, Personal Details:
If there is a small image you would like to use as an Avatar, click on the Avatar box.
The picture should be at least 200*200 pixels.

Indicate gender, if you wish it to be known.
Optionally fill in your birth date; you can check if you want it to show year or not.

Fill in as much location as you would like known.
Fill in Occupation if you would like it known.
If you have a home web page, you may enter that.
You may indicate when your joined FDMB.

In About You, fill in any details you would like to share.
Click the Save Changes button at the bottom.

On the left, under Settings, Click on Signature.
This is where you will put information that helps us give you feedback.
This is where you paste the link for your spreadsheet, once it is set up.
Add any other text, such as
your name,
cat's name,
date of Dx (diagnosis)
insulin
meter
any other pertinent issues like if there are any food issues, history of DKA, hepatic lipidosis, pancreatitis, allergies, IBD, etc.
Click the Save Changes button at the bottom.

On the left, under Settings, Click on Contact Details.
This section lets you customize what communications you receive.
Adjust those you wish to alter.
Click the Save Changes button at the bottom.

Continue through the section list of
Privacy
Preferences
Alert Preferences
People You Follow
People You Ignore
Password

Always click the Save Changes button at the bottom when you have changed anything.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top