New to Group - Need help with regulation

cfranzin

Member Since 2026
Good morning,

I would love if someone could look at my Luna's spreadsheet. She is on Lantus. Right now I am at 3.75 units a day. She is still all over the place. I had her regulated a bit last summer. She eats Purina pate's (low carb) and Dr. Elsey's chicken Dry (2 percent carb, high protein). On a daily basis half her calories come from canned and half from Dr. Elsey's. I feel like every time I get into the Blues, she goes above 300 for days. A lot of her wonkiness is also due to the fact that ... being a cat ... she doesn't eat the same amount every day and very often goes on food strikes.
Thank you. I also posted somewhere else before in the forum.
 
Good morning,

I would love if someone could look at my Luna's spreadsheet. She is on Lantus. Right now I am at 3.75 units a day. She is still all over the place. I had her regulated a bit last summer. She eats Purina pate's (low carb) and Dr. Elsey's chicken Dry (2 percent carb, high protein). On a daily basis half her calories come from canned and half from Dr. Elsey's. I feel like every time I get into the Blues, she goes above 300 for days. A lot of her wonkiness is also due to the fact that ... being a cat ... she doesn't eat the same amount every day and very often goes on food strikes.
Thank you. I also posted somewhere else before in the forum.
@Wendy&Neko
 
@Wendy&Neko, I was looking at Corky's spreadsheet. So jealous. What beautiful BG values! Am I missing something here? Is it at all possible that I am WAY too high and what I'm seeing is just one rebound after another? Today is my 7th day at 3.75units. Tomorrow I'll go to 4.
 
Don't be jealous, is a 4 years work, and dedication and help from the amazing forum, you'll be there as well, it is not an overnight thing there were many ups and downs I will tag several members that can assist you with Lantus
@squeem3
@Wendy&Neko
 
Good plan on going to 4 units tomorrow. With SLGS you want nadirs (plural) in the 90-149 range. More insulin should also tamp down some of those higher numbers. I don't see this being too high a dose.

Which meter are you primarily using?. The spreadsheets says AT and Relion, but you are using the human meter spreadsheet. Meter type is something we also like in the signature. The AT will tend to read higher than the Relion in the higher numbers.
 
Right now I am using the ReliON. Human meter. It's stated on the previous page...but good point ... I'm going to put it as a header at the top of the 2026 page. In all of this, she is acting fine. She is starting to eat MORE canned vs Dr. Elsey's, but as you know ... Dr. Elsey's is low carb. Lower than any of the FF pates. I'll see how she does after dinner tonight ... as her Pre shot number was 240 on a human meter ... so that is good.
 
More canned is good :) Keep working on the transition off of dry food. Air dried raw and freeze dried raw are healthier lower carb options to dry food and you may be able to use once your cat only need a few crunchies.
 
Some members (not all) have found that their cat gets higher numbers with the Dr. Elsey's. Good job on continuing the transition. Lowest carb is not always better. Some cats do better with a little more carbs, in the 3-6% carb range.
 
Some members (not all) have found that their cat gets higher numbers with the Dr. Elsey's. Good job on continuing the transition. Lowest carb is not always better. Some cats do better with a little more carbs, in the 3-6% carb range.
Right. I get it. The Purina Pro Plan DM pate works well when she eats it. The DM dry seems worse than Dr. Elsey's. Today I start at 4 units. I was on 3.75 for 7 days. Last night .... she was pretty stable all day after morning injection around 200. NO jumps up to 300's. Let's see. She is slowly eating MORE canned than dry. What's great is her litter mate, my big male cat, is benefiting from this diet. He eats the same. Has lost weight...and I use his BG as a control. It's always 97-101. What I do for canned food that helps is I put little bits of Freeze dried chicken breast as a topper. My cats LOVE freeze dried chicken breast.
 
More canned is good :) Keep working on the transition off of dry food. Air dried raw and freeze dried raw are healthier lower carb options to dry food and you may be able to use once your cat only need a few crunchies.
I use freeze dried raw chicken breast as a topper on canned. They love it. Even as treats. I just have to make sure it's a brand where the chicken is sourced in USA or Canada. I bought this one brand that was really cheap and my cats got sick. It was made in China and I was able to get full refund thank goodness.
 
Some members (not all) have found that their cat gets higher numbers with the Dr. Elsey's. Good job on continuing the transition. Lowest carb is not always better. Some cats do better with a little more carbs, in the 3-6% carb range.
That’s an interesting concept! We’ve been struggling with ours and was reading about others on Dr Elsey’s. Never crossed my mind about cat’s doing better with a bit more carbs.
 
Right. I get it. The Purina Pro Plan DM pate works well when she eats it. The DM dry seems worse than Dr. Elsey's. Today I start at 4 units. I was on 3.75 for 7 days. Last night .... she was pretty stable all day after morning injection around 200. NO jumps up to 300's. Let's see. She is slowly eating MORE canned than dry. What's great is her litter mate, my big male cat, is benefiting from this diet. He eats the same. Has lost weight...and I use his BG as a control. It's always 97-101. What I do for canned food that helps is I put little bits of Freeze dried chicken breast as a topper. My cats LOVE freeze dried chicken breast.
You are right about the DM wet and dry food they contain Carbohydrates (dry matter): 18.0% which is high carbs, and some cats may do better with a bit more carbs, Henry&Ginni said, but the idea is to regulate, some cats are extremely sensitive to the smallest amount high carbs as well, the idea is to lower the BG so the pancreas begin to heal to perhaps reach remission
 
Back
Top