New to forum new to Cat with diabeties Possible Remission??

Status
Not open for further replies.
158 AMPS almost same as yesterday AMPS so going to go with .25 and see where we go with #'s this afternoon... thankfully looks like his numbers are getting better dont know if being further and further away from steroid or.. correct dosage no more High carbs.. I think its a mix of a lot of things and just thankful for all the help from
 
The drop in carb load typically leads to a dramatic improvement in overall BG levels. I don't know enough about how quickly BG levels might improve the further away one gets from steroid treatment so can't give you specifics on that. Other members may be able to give you more info in this respect.

Any joy with the ketone testing, Lee?


Mogs
.
 
PS: It has been known for some steroid-induced feline diabetics to go into remission relatively quickly.


Mogs
.
 
The drop in carb load typically leads to a dramatic improvement in overall BG levels. I don't know enough about how quickly BG levels might improve the further away one gets from steroid treatment so can't give you specifics on that. Other members may be able to give you more info in this respect.

Any joy with the ketone testing, Lee?


Mogs
.

@JanetNJ
@Critter Mom I did test him the other day and the strips were negative I did get in the blood ketone system but havent tested him with that yet.. being his #'s are stayin under 200 from what I had read ketones are usually present when #'s are higher or am I wrong in that.. I just did his +3 hr which is usually when he has had his huge drops after a injection previously and hes at 109 from the 158 that was his AMPS .. will check him again in 2 hrs at the +5 and see if he drops or goes up then..
 
As long as he's acting normal and bg is low his ketones are probably fine right now

Yeah I stuck my hand in the pee stream with 3 test strips the other day to check and were negative lol.. he does seem to go back and forth with his drinking thou... as of 1am last night till now 1 Pee and hes not pooping much I guess his body is absorbing most of the protein ?.. his appetite is back and forth like I said always picky eater one day he will gobble down food the next might eat small about but hes pretty much always been this way with can food..I did get in the Wysong Epigen kibble today was trying to decide on giving some of that between amps and pmps and seeing if it changes #'s it is the low carb 5% one, demeanor wise and etc acting like HIM... My maincoon is a pee/poop machine.. I would worry about him and Diabeties but hes not lost any weight and has as much energy at 4 as a 4 month old cat... I might for the heck of it see if I can get a BG on him tonight out of curiosity being the 2 of them have been eating the same food all their lives..
 


Hmmm I just fed him being he was 100 at PMPS hes never had a # that low at PS... his low today at +3 which usually when it hits him was 109 I think I will no shot tonight and check him and see where his #'s go being its at 100 now his #'s have been stayin under 200 without a shot I dont want to shoot now at 100 and it drop rapidly in a few hrs rather see how it goes I think no shot, I will check ketones with new blood testing machine tomorrow... hes actually very energetic and etc today so he got into his habit of wanting to chew my hand when I pet him which he has not done in a while..

also I checked my maincoon out of curiosity and he was 79


@Critter Mom @JanetNJ
 
Assuming that you fed him after the 100 result, that drop following a meal would be indicative of Venge's pancreas producing insulin in response to the food.


Mogs
.
 
Assuming that you fed him after the 100 result, that drop following a meal would be indicative of Venge's pancreas producing insulin in response to the food.


Mogs
.
yeah he ate half a can of FF I gave him the tuna and shrimp flaked its hard to get him to eat the same food wet every meal so I have to change it up, dry kibble he will eat .. I got in the new wysong havent given any yet wanted to check more on his #'s and equalize.. he hasnt had any of the kibble since the last time he dropped and that was just like 20 pieces..
 
so his # went back up to 242 even thou last 3 PS have been very good and no shots .. and numbers were great yesterday.. could that be because I only shot 1 time in 2 days? my worriment with his number being so low the last few PS times was if I did shoot they would drop LOW at the +3 to +5 where he usually drops... I will give .5 and see where it goes.. ughh I had hoped he was maybe going into remission fast..

Also I checked his ketone with the meter I bought and it read 0.6 which no idea.. the info for the meter seems to be all over the place and the book with it gives no numbers to go by..
.5 is nutritional, 1.5-3.0 is optimal, 3.0-5.0 is theraputic, 5.0 - 8.0 fasting for cellular & DNA repair, & 8.0 Danger Zone only recommended under medical supervision posted on amazon....

but I was looking thru the threads and it says The latest published research/studies in cats indicate ketones will begin to show up at readings of 2.4 and 2.55 on a blood ketone meter: I got the KetoBM meter being it was the fastest to get here and had good reviews... so I am guessing the 0.6 is no ketones or normal?

so he has picked up a good habit for me he goes to bathroom right after he eats.. he just ate a whole can of FF ( he was hungryy lol) and used 3 test strips all neg for ketones so guess the .06 blood wise would be negative or not enough to count.... going to go for a .5 shoot and go from there...

@Critter Mom @JanetNJ
 
so his # went back up to 242 even thou last 3 PS have been very good and no shots .. and numbers were great yesterday.. could that be because I only shot 1 time in 2 days? my worriment with his number being so low the last few PS times was if I did shoot they would drop LOW at the +3 to +5 where he usually drops... I will give .5 and see where it goes.. ughh I had hoped he was maybe going into remission fast..

Also I checked his ketone with the meter I bought and it read 0.6 which no idea.. the info for the meter seems to be all over the place and the book with it gives no numbers to go by..
.5 is nutritional, 1.5-3.0 is optimal, 3.0-5.0 is theraputic, 5.0 - 8.0 fasting for cellular & DNA repair, & 8.0 Danger Zone only recommended under medical supervision posted on amazon....

but I was looking thru the threads and it says The latest published research/studies in cats indicate ketones will begin to show up at readings of 2.4 and 2.55 on a blood ketone meter: I got the KetoBM meter being it was the fastest to get here and had good reviews... so I am guessing the 0.6 is no ketones or normal?

so he has picked up a good habit for me he goes to bathroom right after he eats.. he just ate a whole can of FF ( he was hungryy lol) and used 3 test strips all neg for ketones so guess the .06 blood wise would be negative or not enough to count.... going to go for a .5 shoot and go from there...

@Critter Mom @JanetNJ
0.6 is not dangerous.... But it's so.ething to be aware of and not want higher. Add lots of extra water to his food. Don't skip
 
so his # went back up to 242 even thou last 3 PS have been very good and no shots .. and numbers were great yesterday.. could that be because I only shot 1 time in 2 days? my worriment with his number being so low the last few PS times was if I did shoot they would drop LOW at the +3 to +5 where he usually drops... I will give .5 and see where it goes.. ughh I had hoped he was maybe going into remission fast..

Also I checked his ketone with the meter I bought and it read 0.6 which no idea.. the info for the meter seems to be all over the place and the book with it gives no numbers to go by..
.5 is nutritional, 1.5-3.0 is optimal, 3.0-5.0 is theraputic, 5.0 - 8.0 fasting for cellular & DNA repair, & 8.0 Danger Zone only recommended under medical supervision posted on amazon....

but I was looking thru the threads and it says The latest published research/studies in cats indicate ketones will begin to show up at readings of 2.4 and 2.55 on a blood ketone meter: I got the KetoBM meter being it was the fastest to get here and had good reviews... so I am guessing the 0.6 is no ketones or normal?

so he has picked up a good habit for me he goes to bathroom right after he eats.. he just ate a whole can of FF ( he was hungryy lol) and used 3 test strips all neg for ketones so guess the .06 blood wise would be negative or not enough to count.... going to go for a .5 shoot and go from there...

@Critter Mom @JanetNJ
I think 0.5-1 is a good call.
 
0.6 is not dangerous.... But it's so.ething to be aware of and not want higher. Add lots of extra water to his food. Don't skip
the .6 was on the blood meter but the urine test strips showed negative so and the first test strip in the machine didnt do anything.. I will prob check him again with the blood one tonight and see where it is at PMPS it came with 10 strips will have to order more.. so not sure if the meter worked right or.. I will prob return it and order one of the precision xtras just to be safe.... I did give him .5 his +1 is at 168 I am having to pretty much do all paw testing which he doesnt mind , his ears want to give up nadda even after massaging and warming .. I think I did so much testing on them for the first week and half that they are prob bruised up..
@JanetNJ
 
I would not have given more than 0.25IU.

Considerations:

1. A previous dose of 0.5IU on PM cycle of 3 December dropped Venge below 90, earning a dose reduction per FDMB Vetsulin guidelines.
2. Venge can drop down into the 80s with no insulin at all so there is activity in the pancreas. It could sputter at any time and add to the effect of an active Vetsulin dose.
3. Today's AMPS might have been a bit higher in response to the 80s on yesterday's PM cycle. If so, then the elevation in BG is more likely to be short-lived.
4. Vetsulin has the ability to yank down 'bouncy' preshots. A higher PS BG is no guarantee that the nadir is likely to be correspondingly higher so it can't be assumed that there will be adequate safety wiggle room for a higher dose.

I believe that some members may use a sliding scale dosing method with Vetsulin, but my understanding is that they usually do so after they've gathered a significant body of data on how their cat responds to this insulin. (Full disclosure: I am not a fan of sliding scale dosing for this insulin because of point 4 above.)


Mogs
.
 
I would not have given more than 0.25IU.

Considerations:

1. A previous dose of 0.5IU on PM cycle of 3 December dropped Venge below 90, earning a dose reduction per FDMB Vetsulin guidelines.
2. Venge can drop down into the 80s with no insulin at all so there is activity in the pancreas. It could sputter at any time and add to the effect of an active Vetsulin dose.
3. Today's AMPS might have been a bit higher in response to the 80s on yesterday's PM cycle. If so, then the elevation in BG is more likely to be short-lived.
4. Vetsulin has the ability to yank down 'bouncy' preshots. A higher PS BG is no guarantee that the nadir is likely to be correspondingly higher so it can't be assumed that there will be adequate safety wiggle room for a higher dose.

I believe that some members may use a sliding scale dosing method with Vetsulin, but my understanding is that they usually do so after they've gathered a significant body of data on how their cat responds to this insulin. (Full disclosure: I am not a fan of sliding scale dosing for this insulin because of point 4 above.)


Mogs
.

Gotcha makes sense.. will see how he drops during the day going to check at +3 then +6 +9 see where #'s are and then will prob just do a .25 dose so is it better if you skip a dose to stay at a constant dosage once they do get into the range he has been the last few days.. so better to stick at .25 unless he JUMPS way up and skip if hes under 200 at PS or to constantly give a .25 dose so that he stays at a constant rate the question being if hes under a 100 at PS and I give him .25 will he drop LOW when it kicks in or does it more work as keeping it leveled out at those numbers.. if this makes sense
 
ok at +4 hes at 62 his lows when shot usually hits +3 to+5 I will retest in 30 to make sure not dropping anymore... I think the .5 was too much tonight will go with .25 then try and stay at that for a while see if numbers stay constant.. I also ordered a precision Xtra meter and strips to check the blood ketones wont be here till later this week but not so sure I trust the one I bought so will check with the urine sticks till it gets in..rather buy one that people on here have used than try with one just because it came quicker... and being that most people only use the urine strips...but I will go the extra mile just to make sure hes ok..

also I will assume that paw testing gives same results blood it blood??? I tried his ear again just now and yeah nadda I rather not stress him out and try and stab him 3 or 4 times in the ear when the paw gives it first try..I wipe with alcohol swab let dry then after I wipe it clean with swab also.. I had looked it up on here and saw a few people mention infection.. but the hole closes so quickly and small and its a very thick tough area that in the wild gets cut and etc constantly..

@Critter Mom @JanetNJ

at +30 from the 62 at+4 dropped to 58 will test again at +5 see if going up or down...

at +5:45 was up to 65 just gave supper 1/2 can of FF licked the bowl clean...
 
Last edited:
so in theory its better to give a constant dose than skip doses?
Only if it's safe to do so. With Vetsulin it's not safe to give at low preshot BG levels because it typically drops BG like a rock when it's working at its strongest.

For cats who are in a fairly good range but who aren't quite in remission and need more time on insulin it can be better to switch to one of the gentler-acting depot insulins (Lantus/Basaglar, Levemir) because, with sufficient testing, it's possible to administer those insulins safely at much lower preshot BGs.


Mogs
.
 
at +30 from the 62 at+4 dropped to 58 will test again at +5 see if going up or down...
Not surprised. (See post #119 above.)

Well caught with the testing. Did you feed? With numbers that low you need to give some food (low carb if above 50, medium or high carb if below 50 - small amounts at a time so that he doesn't fill up and will be able to eat again if required), test at 30 minute intervals, rinse and repeat till Venge is in a safer range and staying there without help from food.


Mogs
.
 
Only if it's safe to do so. With Vetsulin it's not safe to give at low preshot BG levels because it typically drops BG like a rock when it's working at its strongest.

For cats who are in a fairly good range but who aren't quite in remission and need more time on insulin it can be better to switch to one of the gentler-acting depot insulins (Lantus/Basaglar, Levemir) because, with sufficient testing, it's possible to administer those insulins safely at much lower preshot BGs.


Mogs
.

the issue with trying to change brands is that is my Vet and I will not see eye to eye being I am pretty sure when I go in and show her my spreadsheet and that I have been messing with the dose and testing when I was told to not worry about testing and just give 3 units a day and they would contact me in a month to schedule the Insulin cycle might not go well.... which if as I have said before and yall have seen by my SS if I had went by that.. Venge would prob not be here due to he would have went into Hypo multiple times in the beginning if I had not been testing another reason I am so thankful for all of your help .. I might have to find a new vet IF they give me any crap about actually wanting to not blindly just do as told when it made no sense...and no idea what I will do being the next nearest town with vets is 30+ miles away... Hopefully they will be professional about it and see that sometimes an owner has to step in and do whats best for their Fur Kids..
 
Not surprised. (See post #119 above.)

Well caught with the testing. Did you feed? With numbers that low you need to give some food (low carb if above 50, medium or high carb if below 50 - small amounts at a time so that he doesn't fill up and will be able to eat again if required), test at 30 minute intervals, rinse and repeat till Venge is in a safer range and staying there without help from food.


Mogs
.
@Critter Mom yeah he ate after it had moved up to 65 on its own I was testing every 30 when it it 58... at 6:35est I fed him half a can of FF Low carb Pate.. he acted like he was starving I had given him 1/4 of a can of FF and he wanted more so he ate 1/2 a can (just to get some food in belly see if would go up)
... just decided to test him was going to wait till later but at almost +7 hes at 76 so going up slowly..


hes still going to be under 200 I am sure at PMPS if hes still low whats #'s should I give him or no shot.. I figure if hes not over 150 no shot and over 150 .25?

@Critter Mom @JanetNJ
 
Last edited:
Hi Lee & Venge!!!❤️

I'm pretty new too so no real helpful info except im learning so much here & everyone is so amazingly nice & educated on FD, yr def in the right place to help u guys navigate thru this.

Welcome & give Venge & yr other kitty big hugs from me & my five
 
Hi Lee & Venge!!!❤️

I'm pretty new too so no real helpful info except im learning so much here & everyone is so amazingly nice & educated on FD, yr def in the right place to help u guys navigate thru this.

Welcome & give Venge & yr other kitty big hugs from me & my five

HI Elisavet & the furious five lol do all your cats have diabetes or? yeah they they have been extremely helpful on here if it wasnt for this board and the help I have received I dont think Venge would be here being the just give shots and see what happens that my vet told me would have put him into Hypo pretty soon he had a few run ins but thankfully I chose to ignore vet and test him and get the great advice on dosing from the members here being he was on too high a dose to begin with..

I have a total of 6 fur Kids Vengeance/Venge 7 year old male, Nightwing 4 year old make ( indoor ) and then the Feral Four which was the feral five but sadly I had to put one to sleep back in Feb he had only been around about 2 years he started getting sicker and sicker and took him to the vet and ended up he had Feline HIV and Leukemia and he was an Older cat (11) when he showed up so he was 13 or so this year.. so the vet said that he would be super hard to treat being he was an outdoor cat and that they didnt know how well he would do with the treatments.. so sadly had to make the choice to let him go.. the other cats still look around for him .. I also have Lenora ( been around about 6 years), Lizzy ( who I think is Lenoras daughter she has same mannerisms and etc) who would be about 3 got Lenora fixed after the last batch of kittens we never saw any of, Leo( an old stray tom that showed up here about 2 years ago that stayed his distance for a year.. actually trapped him to take him to cat sanctuary being he was 100% Feral non friendly.. he ESCAPED there and showed back here) and after about 6 months kept working his way to wanting to be part of the family and now hes super sweet and loving wants rubs and actually after never making a sound about month and half ago now meows and purrs) and then there is Lenny Female thats about year and half old who is a total asshole to the other cats very aggressive to them BUT super nice to people...

I will have to post up some pics of the other besides Venge.. Nightwing is a total wanna be cat fancy magazine model ( hes a maine coon who showed up to decide to die on my driveway, I could not let it happen and well I ended up with a 2nd cat when Venge was 3 they fight like brothers still lol 4 years later.. Lenora will let me get pics of her now and then.. Lizzy is camera shy most of the time... Leo doesnt seem to care and Lenny is fine long as none of the other cats are around she will sit or plop dog long enuff to get a pic lol
 
Hay!!

Only one of ours is diabetic: Miss Sugar Tabby - she's also the only tabby. The rest are tuxedocats (black & white anyway).

we have a possible part Maine coon too!!
(Triisha -Biggy- is a rescue so we aren't sure if she is, she looks like she's part at least)

Ours are my profile pic. All girls except for our special little guy Lil Butler on the left.
Would love to see a pic of yr group!!
 

Attachments

  • 31F00737-330D-4F8C-9CDD-28A37C31B3A7.jpeg
    31F00737-330D-4F8C-9CDD-28A37C31B3A7.jpeg
    71 KB · Views: 301
So Venge is back at low #s at +9 hes at 94 and at +5ish he was 97 so I dont see there being a large jump going to happen.. and being I didnt shoot last night because his AMPS was 92 should I hold off shooting again today after AMPS or go for a .25 or try less than .25 ( if possible) just a drop..

Also I did blood keytone test him with the meter I have as of now just now and was 0.0.. I tested myself and its 0.0 (but I have not eaten anything since yesterday at 2pm didnt feel great yesterday so skipped anything to eat last night) no idea how the ketones are effected by food etc like BG.. at least on humans.. Venge got 1/2 a can of FF at like 5am being I didnt know I would wake up at 9am (stupid insomnia)

so long question short if still low do I shoot or No (being he did jump back up after a PM no shot then I did give .5 maybe should have tried .25 being he dipped back to 50s but he had rose back to 200+ at AMPS)
if low but under 120 what dose? .25 or try for a smaller amount in syringe..

@Critter Mom @JanetNJ
 
I've looked at Venge's spreadsheet. I would set a 'no shoot' limit of 160 at the lowest (i.e. do not give insulin if preshot BG reading is less than 160). Venge has thus far only earned the reduction down to 0.25IU.

I'd suggest testing at +11.5 and then AMPS. It may give you a better idea of whether/how quickly Venge's BG levels are rising.

If the BG is high enough to give insulin, I recommend testing at +1 and the second test at +2 because it should help you catch drops sooner (onset for Vetsulin is very early in the cycle). If you wait till +3 the risk of Venge going too low would increase.


Mogs
.
 
I've looked at Venge's spreadsheet. I would set a 'no shoot' limit of 160 at the lowest (i.e. do not give insulin if preshot BG reading is less than 160). Venge has thus far only earned the reduction down to 0.25IU.

I'd suggest testing at +11.5 and then AMPS. It may give you a better idea of whether/how quickly Venge's BG levels are rising.

If the BG is high enough to give insulin, I recommend testing at +1 and the second test at +2 because it should help you catch drops sooner (onset for Vetsulin is very early in the cycle). If you wait till +3 the risk of Venge going too low would increase.


Mogs
.


OK thanks so much setting extra alarm now for 12pm which would be 30 mins before his AMPS at 12:30 pm ( guessing you mean +30mins at .5) and will check him at +1 and +2 and + 3 (if he gets shot) if no show will just check at +1 then +3( being if no shot I dont see a drop coming at least would not think so unless food will drop it?) then see how #'s go from there and report back.. @Critter Mom thanks so much..
 
I've looked at Venge's spreadsheet. I would set a 'no shoot' limit of 160 at the lowest (i.e. do not give insulin if preshot BG reading is less than 160). Venge has thus far only earned the reduction down to 0.25IU.

I'd suggest testing at +11.5 and then AMPS. It may give you a better idea of whether/how quickly Venge's BG levels are rising.

If the BG is high enough to give insulin, I recommend testing at +1 and the second test at +2 because it should help you catch drops sooner (onset for Vetsulin is very early in the cycle). If you wait till +3 the risk of Venge going too low would increase.


Mogs
.
at 11.5 hes a 95 so only came up 1 point in the past 2 hrs.. so pretty sure will be goin with another no shoot but then will test him at +1 and +2 and see how his #s go after eating.. then test later on during the cycle..
 
ok the 81 at AMPS might be lower then is should be being I got confused(only getting a few hrs sleep now and then gets to ya lol) doing the 11.5 test which was 95 and put down his food after so he got a few good mouthfuls of food before I realized it was not 12:30 AMPS time just 12:00 so hes had 30 mins for some food to be in his system... I have now put his food back down will recheck him at +1 then +3 see where #'s go and then if nothing goes weird will wait till like +6 right before I give him some supper to test again @Critter Mom @JanetNJ
 
ok the 81 at AMPS might be lower then is should be being I got confused(only getting a few hrs sleep now and then gets to ya lol) doing the 11.5 test which was 95 and put down his food after so he got a few good mouthfuls of food before I realized it was not 12:30 AMPS time just 12:00 so hes had 30 mins for some food to be in his system... I have now put his food back down will recheck him at +1 then +3 see where #'s go and then if nothing goes weird will wait till like +6 right before I give him some supper to test again @Critter Mom @JanetNJ
Looks great
 
SO just had my heart drop out of my chest.. went to take Venges PMPS and it was 22.... I was like WHATTTTTTT and he was just running around playing and stuff so freaked me out didnt make sense so .. I took 2 more readings one from each ear and left was 78 then right 81 sooo bad test strip.. scaryyyyyyy but Great news no shot he just ate pretty much a whole can of FF.... so will check him at +1 and +3 and see how things are going...

@Critter Mom @JanetNJ
 
Wakes you up quick, doesn't it?
YUP I have been freaking out when he was in the high 50's so when I saw that I was like something is WRONG.... and thankfully it was a bad strip.. But he was running around with plenty of energy and etc so the 22 didnt make sense at all but still scared the crap outta me to see it...
 
So again today all Greens all 70's 80's 90's with no shot for 36 hours ... 79 right now AMPS so no shot.. Im trying to figure this out.. is it safe to not give him a shot for 4 times in a row? is his body now back to producing Insulin on his own mostly? I will check him at +1 and +3 keep an eye on #'s see of they shoot up but for now guess he gets lunch... being way too low to shoot..

@Critter Mom @JanetNJ
 
Venge is running in normal numbers. It looks like the change to the low carb diet may be enough to see him go into remission (anti-jinx). I'd suggest contacting your vet to discuss whether Venge should now be considered to be officially on a remission trial:

* No insulin given.
* BG tested AM and PM (12-hour interval between readings).
* Spot check BG at +1 and +2 after feeding to make sure pancreas is handling BG levels OK after eating.
* If Venge stays in green numbers with perhaps an occasional blue (120 or less) for a continuous 14-day period then he would be considered a diet-controlled diabetic in remission.

(NB: If there were only one or two spikes above 120, that would not necessarily be grounds for failing the remission trial, but if numbers do start trending upwards then it may be necessary to reinstate insulin treatment for a little while and, all going well, repeat the trial at a later stage.)

Because of Venge's very recent history of ketone generation (and suspected DKA, based on his hospitalisation) I'd suggest for the time being as a safety precaution to also test him for ketones once a day to make sure he's clear (especially as it appears you need to suspend insulin treatment).


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
Venge is running in normal numbers. It looks like the change to the low carb diet may be enough to see him go into remission (anti-jinx). I'd suggest contacting your vet to discuss whether Venge should now be considered to be officially on a remission trial:

* No insulin given.
* BG tested AM and PM (12-hour interval between readings).
* Spot check BG at +1 and +2 after feeding to make sure pancreas is handling BG levels OK after eating.
* If Venge stays in green numbers with perhaps an occasional blue (120 or less) for a continuous 14-day period then he would be considered a diet-controlled diabetic in remission.

(NB: If there were only one or two spikes above 120, that would not necessarily be grounds for failing the remission trial, but if numbers do start trending upwards then it may be necessary to reinstate insulin treatment for a little while and, all going well, repeat the trial at a later stage.)

Because of Venge's history of ketones I'd suggest as a safety precaution to also test him once a day to make sure he's clear.


Mogs
.


I think for now I will just keep checking his BG at +1 and +2 after meals and at +6 then stick to AMPS tests and checking ketones daily when I can catch him in the bathroom till meter get here.. the new ketone blood meter should be here by weekend... the issue is as I have stated if I go to my vet and tell her I have been testing and changed his dosage etc after I was told not too.. I might end up having to try and find a new vet.. I think I will wait till hes been in greens for a full week to discuss it with her just so I can show her the spreadsheet data and have enough proof and Friday will be 3 weeks since his diagnosis and hospitalization and tomorrow 3 weeks since the steroid injection. So I am guessing they will prob want to see him next week or the following being it will be almost a month since they discharged him and told me they would want to do a insulin curve in a month... I will run a 12 hr BG curve on him Fri or Sat so I will have that data to give to the vet .. which I am sure they will fuss I am using a human meter.. I do appreciate all your help and advice more than I can express..but talking to my vet scares me being I have a very short fuse and especially when it comes to my Fur Kids..

the vet that saw our outside cats (my sister in law co claims the outside cats and wanted to take them to her vet) ended up getting cussed out and my sister in law changing to my vet and me cussing the vet she had been using for 14 years( long story one of the outside cats Lizzie had eating a bird and a bone had went thru her lower jaw caused an infection so after noticing she was not acting right we took her to my sis in laws vet... well during the exam ( take in mind that she is an outside cat that was once a feral that has only attached herself to Me,My Sis in law and my Brother well the vet tech they had handing her was being too aggressive and she bit him.. they immediately wanted to euthanize her and have testing done for Rabies(thou she had been spayed there and had gotten her yearly rabies shots showed no signs of rabies)..My sister in law and myself raised holy hell so they ended up putting her in quarantine for 10 days and chose to remind us that they could choose to euthanize her and test for rabies that way when we kept sayin she is showing no signs of rabies shes stressed out here please let us quarantine her at home... she refuses to eat (I would go twice a day and get er to eat food off my fingers only way she would eat) so If I loose the vet I use the nearest Vet it 30+ miles away being we are no longer welcome at that vets office and would not take a stuffed animal there if were..

I have been using my vets office thou none of the vets that saw my animals in the 90s are still there(retired) Venge and Nightwing have been going there for all their lives.. I lived in Fla for 11(97-08) years and I had no animals there just a few strays I fed and a wild rabbit that decided he wanted to be my buddy lol so I didnt have any till Vengeance came along. I did try and foster a kitten I found in my bushes but she passed away after 2 weeks back in 09 after being in Vet care so I didnt even try and get another fur kid till Venge happened into my life thus why Im over protective of him..

Sorry long post but its the issue that me and vets or any DR even my own rarely see eye to eye on things being I am a researcher ( thus how I ended up here) and trust no one who is getting paid to treat a person or animal when the usual outside motive is money(only buy our prescription food as its the only thing good for your animal when thats not the fact) not the actual correct care of the patient be it human or animal(yeah tin foil hat stuff but I have too many horror stories with medicals stuff human and animal)

Again I GREATLY appreciate all of your advice but rather hold off on talking to my vet a little longer and see how things go being I am already untrusting being she started him on a giant dose and said not to test and would not need to see again for a month..which yes is prob reason to look for another vet but there are 6 small animal vets in that hospital and he was seen by 3 during the week of his onset and hospitalization so no idea who made the decisions on his initial care procedure at his discharge...
 
So again today all Greens all 70's 80's 90's with no shot for 36 hours ... 79 right now AMPS so no shot.. Im trying to figure this out.. is it safe to not give him a shot for 4 times in a row? is his body now back to producing Insulin on his own mostly? I will check him at +1 and +3 keep an eye on #'s see of they shoot up but for now guess he gets lunch... being way too low to shoot..

@Critter Mom @JanetNJ
So exciting!!!
 
Well... I'm totalt jealous of your spreadsheet!

I have the same thing as you, not 100% trusting anyone who gets paid to threat my animals. I know most vets and so on really wants to help, but really...no one can know everything.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top