New to Forum - Cini Mini and Cathy

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cini Mini's Mom

Very Active Member
Hi,

My cat's name is Cini Mini, he's 13 yrs old and has been diabetic for about 3 years now.

I used to be a Vet Tech loooong ago and that's how I got him. Cini has had a myriad of issues ever since he was born. He was born with Feline Herpes and is blind, we had to remove his eyes. He's been a great cat and acts just like a cat with eyes.

Then when he was 5 years old he had a severe vaccine reaction and had to be hospitalized. I almost lost him but he pulled through and recovered fully.

Then I moved to Arizona and he developed liver disease. The Vet did his blood-work twice because his liver values were so high she thought the lab machines were malfunctioning. She said with values that high he should have been in liver failure.

Once we got the liver problem under control Cini started wheezing. The Vet thought it was feline asthma and started him on steroid injections every 6 months or so for that for 5 years. It helped, but you guessed it, he developed diabetes from the steroids.

The past 3 years have been a real education for me. We went the whole gambit of just taking home a bottle of insulin and shooting blind 2 units of Lantus twice a day. Then we were told to shoot blind 1.5 units twice a day because the Vet did a Fructosamine curve and his readings were too low. He ate dry Hill's MD food only and no canned food.

It's only been in the last 6 months since I switched Vets that I have been doing glucose readings at home. My new Vet is very supportive and is willing to work with me on trying to get him off the insulin but she says that once they have been on for that long the chances are they will stay on it forever. :cry:

So as if that wasn't bad enough Cini started wheezing really bad and the new Vet wanted to take blood for a Toxoplasmosis test because she thought what I was describing sounded more like Toxo than Feline Asthma. The Toxo test came back positive and all I could think of is "You mean to tell me this cat had toxoplasmosis all this time and the other Vet misdiagnosed it ?!?!" ohmygod_smile We did years of steroids for nothing.

We put him through the Toxo treatment which is no easy thing and he developed a stricture (narrowing of the esophagus) from the nausea that was caused by the meds for the Toxo. He lost weight and muscle mass, his diabetes went all over the place and then I had to bring him to the emergency clinic because he started choking on his own saliva.

Now, two weeks and $4000 (no that is not a typo, it was really that many 0s) later he's resting back at home but I can't get his glucose regulated. He's all over the place with the lowest reading in the low 100's but his highest has been 487. :-| And to top it all off while he was at the emergency vet for a week, they were giving his insulin at 10am and 10pm, they moved his times because of the surgery he was having for his throat. I would rather go back to 7am and 7pm but I don't know if I can just set it back by 3 hours all of a sudden or if I have to make some gradual adjustment? (Any help here would be great)

While Cini was having all this adventure at the Emergency Vet they did another Toxo test on him and it was negative (yay!) and he hasn't so much as coughed funny since he's been treated for the Toxo. All I can say is if you move to a dry climate and your cat starts wheezing, ask the Vet to do a Toxo test before they stick your cat with steroids.

So now, looking forward, his two main issues are diabetes and this stricture that we have to keep an eye on that it doesn't close up again. The best thing we can do to help with that is to feed him canned food. Well ok, no more dry food which will help with his diabetes anyway. I (and Cini) can live with that.

Thanks for letting me tell Cini's story. I have been looking around the site and I have already found loads of useful information.
 
Hello & welcome!
You are way ahead of the game, being a (former) vet tech! I would say that taking the dry food will definately help the BG #. When I took Cedric's away, his numbers went down about 100 points.
I understand your need to change the schedule back to your schedule. I would do it a bit slowly. I work 7 days a week and used to always work at 5 or 6am on the weekends. that meant getting up at 3 or 4 am instead of 6am, so I would do some gradual adjustments during the week. Fortunately, Cedric was only on insulin for a month and also, those pesky new full timers at my shop who wanted the shift I have had since September 2009 were getting it instead of my, the lowly part timer, so I didn't have those early mornings more than a couple of times.

good luck!
 
Wow Cathy - you're a great kitty mom and Cini Mini is lucky to have found you, and congrats to both of you for finding the new vet!

I'm not experienced enough with diabetes to give any good advice but there are tons of people who post here who can sure answer your question about how to change shot time. I *think* I've read that it should, ideally, be done incrementally but I'm not sure how long the increments can be. Maybe you could use the same method that some use to adjust for the end to daylight savings time - 15 minutes a day.

Best of luck to you and Cini!!
 
Welcome Cathy and Cini Mini,

You are going to want to move his shot schedule back a little at a time. you can do this one of two ways, either 15 minutes back each shot in the day, or 30 minutes once a day. For example, move him from 10 am today to 9:45am and then 9:30pm. or move him from 10am to 9:30 am & 9:30 pm today and then 9am & 9pm tomorrow, until you roll him all the way back to where you want his shot times to be.

Bless you for being such a good kitty mom to this very special guy.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Thanks for all the great encouragement and replies. I'll make sure Cini gets extra scritches behind the ears today so he feels all the love. :-D

MommaOfMuse, thanks for the suggestion I think I will try the 30 minute roll back technique.

Now I need to also figure out how to get Cini regulated again. When he was at the Vet's they gave him higher doses of insulin while he was there because he was so stressed and upset. Since he's been back home I have him on 1 unit of Lantus twice a day but that doesn't seem to be getting him in the right direction. His lowest nadir so far has been 266 (that used to be his high point before his emergency visit). The emergency Vet wanted me to just give him 2 units twice a day but he's never been on that much for years so the thought of that scares me.

Any suggestions or should I take this question to the Lantus forum?
 
Have you read the Starred topics on the Lantus forum? (That is the first thing they will ask if you post there. :mrgreen: ) They are a ways down this page under the grey bar: viewforum.php?f=9

They would also love a spreadsheet so they can see your numbers: viewtopic.php?f=6&t=18207 Goggle has not been playing well with FDMB so if you need help, just ask.
 
Thanks Sue, I will go ahead and start filling out that spreadsheet and reading all of those topics in the Lantus forum (I've read two so far).
 
Cathy,
Bless you from day one for taking Cini home in the first place. I also had a blind from birth but otherwise perfectly "normal" kitty named Winky. One eye was removed, the other didn't work and was covered over by scar tissue. He was with me for 14 years.

Pretty much every one of the cats I've shared my home with for the past 30 years or so has been somebody else's "castoff" or "throwaway". I even had one that we called "Fling", who we got when someone "flung" her tiny kitten body out of a moving car window near the vet clinic that my wife used to work at.

Winky was probably the most special special kitty I ever was owned by. He didn't know he was blind, so it was no big deal for him, but he was the most amazing thing to watch as he made his way, sometimes very quickly, through the household. I believe (don't know if you've experienced this) that his other senses like hearing were enhanced to make up for the lack of sight. He used to see on the floor "watching" as a fly flew through the room, and most times I couldn't hear it and didn't see it until I watched his little radar ears home in on it.

I don't have any working knowledge of Lantus, so can't help you with that other than to say, yes by all means, post in Lantus. Great and very dedicated group of people over there. Best of luck, fingers and paws crossed, that you and Cini Mini (love that name!) only have to dance for a short while to at least get him back to where he was before the emergency stay.

Welcome to the board, and glad you found us!
Carl in SC
 
Hi Carl,

Thanks for the kind words and I know exactly what you mean about the "blind kitty" maneuvering. There are times when Cini chases a ball and I don't know how he does it.

I also have a cat with one eye. Her name is Honey and she's 15 yrs old.

Funny story - When my son was little (5 or 6 yrs old) he was drawing cats in class and he drew them with X's for eyes. His teacher called me concerned that he may be hurting animals or not have a good relationship with animals. When I asked her why, she told me about the X's for the eyes, she thought that meant he wanted to take out their eyes. I told her there is always a different explanation for everything other than a bad one. She was embarrassed after I explained what kind of pets we had.

cat(2)_steam
 
Hello and Welcome Aboard :)

Your poor baby certainly has run the gamut. Vets....Grrr.

But I tell you what...you want good, reliable advice about FD, this is THE place to come to.

It saved my Cat's life and my sanity.

Never, ever be afraid to ask anything about your cat and their diabetic problem(s).

Kindest regards.
Cheryl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top