Jake's Mom
Member Since 2015
Hello everyone,
I've read some really informative posts here - I'm so glad I found you all. Jake was diagnosed with diabetes a couple of months ago, after a near-death DKA episode. I recently started to use the glucometer at home (I wasn't using the lancing device when I tried to do a curve a month or so ago and it was hell!) - since I started using the lancing device, testing has been so easy - I use an Alphatrak 2 meter sold to me by the vet.
With the consultation of my vet, his dose was slowly increased from 1 unit twice a day to 4 units twice a day. However, it seems to be too much. His last curve on Fri May 22nd showed numbers in the 3-4 mmol/l so we decided to bring his dosage down to 3 units twice a day. However, his numbers have been fluctuating quite a bit and I was advised to not give a shot if his BG is below 10 mmol/l. So now it seems to be down to 1 shot a day based on his BG readings. Now I am checking his BG everytime I give a shot. Under 10 mmol/l, I don't give a shot.
But I am still giving a shot if it is over 10. This morning it was at 18.2 prior to shot and breakfast so I gave him 3 units. I will check again in 4 hours or so. I need some guidance on how I continue with this...do I just check his pre-shot BG and give a dose based on that reading? I've been taking mid-day readings throughout the weekend. It has been as low as 5.4 and as high as 11.4.
Is he going into remission? His levels were as high as 28 when he was first diagnosed a couple of months back.
I won't be able to test his BG or give a shot for the next few nights. Is it ok if I skip a couple of nights based on his readings this afternoon?? I work from home most of the time but have an event I have to work at for the next two days.
Lots of questions I know...my vet has been super helpful but I don't want to bother her too much with all of my questions - and you all seem to be such a knowledgeable bunch.
Thank you!
I've read some really informative posts here - I'm so glad I found you all. Jake was diagnosed with diabetes a couple of months ago, after a near-death DKA episode. I recently started to use the glucometer at home (I wasn't using the lancing device when I tried to do a curve a month or so ago and it was hell!) - since I started using the lancing device, testing has been so easy - I use an Alphatrak 2 meter sold to me by the vet.
With the consultation of my vet, his dose was slowly increased from 1 unit twice a day to 4 units twice a day. However, it seems to be too much. His last curve on Fri May 22nd showed numbers in the 3-4 mmol/l so we decided to bring his dosage down to 3 units twice a day. However, his numbers have been fluctuating quite a bit and I was advised to not give a shot if his BG is below 10 mmol/l. So now it seems to be down to 1 shot a day based on his BG readings. Now I am checking his BG everytime I give a shot. Under 10 mmol/l, I don't give a shot.
But I am still giving a shot if it is over 10. This morning it was at 18.2 prior to shot and breakfast so I gave him 3 units. I will check again in 4 hours or so. I need some guidance on how I continue with this...do I just check his pre-shot BG and give a dose based on that reading? I've been taking mid-day readings throughout the weekend. It has been as low as 5.4 and as high as 11.4.
Is he going into remission? His levels were as high as 28 when he was first diagnosed a couple of months back.
I won't be able to test his BG or give a shot for the next few nights. Is it ok if I skip a couple of nights based on his readings this afternoon?? I work from home most of the time but have an event I have to work at for the next two days.
Lots of questions I know...my vet has been super helpful but I don't want to bother her too much with all of my questions - and you all seem to be such a knowledgeable bunch.
Thank you!